Citroen AX Reviews from Portugal

1994 Citroen AX 5d VSX 1.5D

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5D Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance257000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 104

Summary:

If you don't like running cost of a car go for it!

Faults:

Head gasket had to be replaced at 200000km because of a oil drop.

Right transmition show signs of failure when I turn.

Dashboard lamps had gone several times.

General Comments:

Very reliable car.

The running cost is almost zero! Parts are cheap and easy to find. On average 4 to 4,5 liters to run 100km. The engine is very noisy, but it had power to this type of car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2008

1991 Citroen AX TRE 1.1 Gasoline

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.1 Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance77000 kilometres

Summary:

Great for city streets or a not to steep downhill

Faults:

Radiator died at 76000 km.

General Comments:

This car handles pretty good.

It's fast as hell for a 1.1.

The cabin isn't that confortable, especially the back seats.

The gear ratio is really short, which fits a car that small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2003

1990 Citroen AX 10 TRE 1.0 Gasoline

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance102000 kilometres

Summary:

Comfort at a low price

Faults:

I have this car since 2001, and until now the only problem I have is this: if I try to drive it at night and it's cold, the car has some problems starting up, but after the first kilometer it runs smoothly.

General Comments:

The Citroen AX 10 TRE is a great car, for two simple facts, it's very, very economic and highly comfortable.

My advice to everyone: buy one (maybe it isn't fast, but it's great fun to drive it)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2002

13th Jul 2004, 19:45

I followed your advise and bought one just to ride on the weekends for fun... and... I ended up using it 7 days a week! it's really fun to drive! who wasn't very happy with that was my wife.. "why did you spent 30000 euros on an Audi A3 to end up drivin' a 500 Euro AX???"

7th Feb 2005, 14:13

Well 3 years have past since I've posted that comment, and nowadays I don't drive that car anymore... : (it was great fun, but 15 years after the year of purchase it was starting to be more of a problem than a party... I own a saxo 1.1sx now just to feel that I evolved within the brand... :D it's like a new ax, but more reliable and faster ;) nevertheless I recommend everyone to buy an AX just for fun! IT'S AWESOME!

1992 Citroen AX GT 1.4

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired41632 kilometres
Most recent distance1500 kilometres
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

A demon on wheels

Faults:

Just the water thermometer. It was always open.

General Comments:

The fastest and most fun car I drove so far.

I would never trade a car like this.

My biggest fun is to watch a Volkswagen Golf 1.6 liter in my rear view mirror.

I took it to test the power, it came out at 98 HP with no changes. Incredible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2001

26th May 2001, 19:17

98 bhp... is that at the wheels!! If it's standard I don't think so, it can't be... I have tuned up my GT and estimate it at about 85/90 bhp..

Enough of that... AX GT's rule.

27th Nov 2001, 10:47

Hey I just got a mark 2 J reg GT, it looks smart and handles great, but I feel it is not as fast as it should be. What could be the matter?

E-mail me at martynbooth@hotmail.com

1994 Citroen AX 1.1i petrol

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1i petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance113000 kilometres

Summary:

A very fragile car, but a low price and great performance!

Faults:

Brakes (all) and engine thermostat.

General Comments:

It is a very cheap car with a very, very nice performing engine! Bur, it has a lousy handling. If you are expecting to "drive safe" in this car, just forget it. This is a fragile car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

17th Dec 2000, 18:54

I disagree. This car has excellent handling properties, at least if you know how to drive a front-wheel drive car, and if of course all components are in good condition.

It handles like a kart, both on wet and dry roads.

23rd Dec 2000, 12:16

Unfortunately I must say that I agree with this 'bad handling' subject. Compared with other similar cars, the Citroen AX is by far the worst!

30th Jan 2001, 12:21

I also agree, the handling is diabolical. I have driven £50 Minis which handle better. Traction is bad also.

17th Apr 2001, 12:19

I think that the AX is very poor, but the AX GTi is simply the best of the smaller cars, it has nothing to do with the other AX`s. It brakes well, and accelerate even greater, it turns fast and it is beautiful. THANKS.

12th Jul 2001, 17:27

Well... The AX rides OK, however don't abuse of it, except the GT, GTI.

If something goes wrong... the paramedic will find you somewhere in the middle of the dash and the gear box.

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Super 5

Summary:

A kart with 5 seats!!!

Faults:

Ugh! My car has been stopped for 2 years! I had to replace a lot of things: Shocks, shocks, cardan, etc! I spent about 150000 Escudos, that is in pounds £500.

General Comments:

Very, very fast car! I only see TDi's in the mirror :) I love it! Looks like a kart!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

12th Jul 2001, 17:18

And probably the TDIs see a lot of parts flying from your car... one of these days you could destroy a windshield or so.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 6 reviews