Fiat Uno Reviews from Portugal

1992 Fiat Uno 45 S 1.0 Fire

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Fire Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance119000 kilometres

Summary:

Superior piece of engineering

Faults:

I got the car with around 70000 Kms.

I changed the suspensions (complete set, arms and shocks), tyres, clutch, discs and the clutch.

Made around 50000 Kms with the car until someone trashed it and every parts I bought were practically new.

Got problems with vacuum pump, cheap piece (<5€), but made the car disconnect.

Got to change the "ignition cannon" (don't know if its the right term in English).

Thermostat went down to.

Parts are very cheap and any mechanic can repair it because it has a simple engine.

General Comments:

This car should not be the first car of anyone.

To be driven correctly, 1 has to know what driving is. The problem is that an experienced driver does not want a 1000 cc motor.

With good tyres and suspensions is 1 of the safest cars around.

Has an unique braking system (Only brakes with pedal too low), therefore most of the people say he does not brake well.

If well driven, its not an economic car (never could make <7 liters per 100 kms). In compensation no other 45 S was faster and more aggressive than mine.

Now I bought a Fiat Uno 1.4 TD. Runs perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2006

1991 Fiat Uno 45 S 1.0 petrol

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance89000 kilometres

Summary:

It's an excellent first car!

Faults:

I was the second owner of this car and when I bought it the clutch was very worn out with only 60000km, still it lasted another 10000km with me then I've changed it.

Stuck thermostat and hence overheating, but was quickly replaced and no harm done to the engine.

General Comments:

I love this car. It's not the fastest one around, but I just love driving it. Maybe it's because it was my first car. It's very cheap to run and the Fiat Fire engine works great and has that typical Italian noise that makes you press that gas pedal. But it's very quiet on the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2005

1992 Fiat Uno 60s 1.1

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

The best first car

Faults:

Exhaust went and the rear wind shield wiper doesn't work.

General Comments:

This is a great car to learn to drive and it's the best when it comes to running costs. Also very good for urban traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2001

1994 Fiat Uno 1.0

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance78000 kilometres

Summary:

Forget this car!!

Faults:

Everything! This car is a trouble box!! I guess the only thing that stayed reliable over the years was the interior.

Lousy engine!

General Comments:

This is a nasty car. I don't advise you to purchase the Fiat Uno. The engine parts are the worst you will find, and nearly nothing is reliable in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

1991 Fiat Uno 45S 1.0

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Cheap, friendly, good car to learn driving in

Faults:

Almost everything went wrong except the engine that keeps on running.

I changed the gearbox bearings, changed the clutch, put in a new carburettor, reviewed all the high voltage parts, spark plugs, etc.

Water infiltration, oil consumption, brake problems and corrosion are usual with every Fiat Uno I have seen.

The steering requires periodical checking for safety.

General Comments:

The mechanics of the car are surely well designed, otherwise the engine wouldn't have been on the market for 15 years. However, the car requires permanent care, and given the rather simple structure and devices involved, it is recommended for young people who wish to gain some insight in the area.

Petrol consumption is easy to be keet low if some care is taken with cleaning the carburettor once in a while.

The car's dynamics are awful, the chassis bends all over itself under the slightest demand, and reveals itself very soft in the case of a crash. Much care must be taken when driving!!

Humidity really affects the car, both in the electricals and upholstery.

The car is ideal for city driving, and doesn't mind an occasional stroll to the countryside, however, I wouldn't pass the 60 mph cruising speed. Call me a sissy if you wish!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

30th Jul 2001, 13:52

You are a sissy, my Uno gets to 90mph easy. I used it to Glasgow, London, Leeds, Manchester, Birmingham and Liverpool at different times and it still moves like a baby. Although the brakes are temperamental.

18th Nov 2002, 20:15

I've had my little Uno 45s for over 3 years, I learned to drive in it, I've been all over the country in it, and it just keeps on going, slowly, but it keeps going. It certainly doesn't like the cold weather, and I've spent more than its worth in getting it through MOT's. the gear box rattles and is sloppy as hell, and there's a loosing battle with rust going on. But I love it, its been there with me through the best years of my life, and I'll be sorry to see it go. But come the summer, I'll have my dream car A FORD CAPRI!!! Why do I get a slightly queasy feeling in my stomach when I say that? Ah well. "the only true dreams, are the dreams of a fool."

1992 Fiat Uno 45 S Fire 1.0 carburettor

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 carburettor Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

Good value for money

Faults:

Frequent electrical problems.

Clutch.

New gearbox.

Broke a transmission.

New brake discs.

The carburettor fell apart!

Water infiltration.

A very frequent problem is in the whole ignition sector, ie, cables and vacum advance valve.

General Comments:

Easy car to handle, very low costs, cheap repairs, not very comfortable.

Ideal for city driving. Ideal first car.

Bad brakes, not very safe at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2000

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews