Toyota Corolla Reviews from Portugal - Page 2 of 2

1988 Toyota Corolla 1.3 XL (EE90) 1.3 petrol

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance353000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Tank mobile

Faults:

Rust after 10 years.

Starter engine death after 15 years of service.

Battery needs to be replaced every 5 years.

General Comments:

The car is very very reliable.

I use to travel a lot and this car never never never broke down. Fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2005

8th Jan 2007, 17:03

... a long time ago I was a Fiat 600D. Very nice machine, but... in 1973 I´m tried a 1300 Toyota corolla, and never change.

Starlet 1300S, Corolla EE90, Starlet 1500 Diesel, was my cars. Now I have a Corolla G6 and two diesel Yaris. (My wife and my daughter).

Problems?? Never, never, never, only a fuel and not so much.

Thanks a lot for the Japanese thecnics.

9th Oct 2007, 15:45

The Toyota EE90 is a superb machine if only I could get someone to supply the genuine parts to me. I'm on +254724255321..

27th Mar 2008, 04:38

Anyone who wishes to buy a Toyota ee90 XL contact 0736491473.

10th Jul 2008, 17:05

I am looking only for a block for my corolla and I am from greece. anyone can help??? thanks a lot.

1990 Toyota Corolla XL 1.8d StarVan 1.8 Atmosferic diesel

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Atmosferic diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

The indestrutible STAR-VAN 1.8d!

Faults:

I had to change it's clutch at 190.000kms.

General Comments:

When I bought this car, I had to drive a lot to get to work. Because of this, I needed a reliable, cheap, simple car.

When I got my Star-Van it had 180.000kms and 5 previous owners.

During 3 years the car never let me down, never failed on me, not one single time. And still, after some mistreatment (all road play time even), the car could get to 180kms/h in highway without spending one drop of oil and with economy around the 5,8l/100kms.

This is what I call a Combat Car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2003

2002 Toyota Corolla Verso D-4D 2.0 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Corolla Verso... another great work by Toyota

Faults:

Till now, I had no problem with the car what so ever.

General Comments:

The car I'll be talking about is the Toyota Corolla Verso (Spacio in Japan).

It's D-4D motor, may not be the most powerful Diesel motor with 2.000cc, mas it sure is the most reliable.

With 90hp, it's performance is well tuned with the kind of car it is... a mini-van (in Portugal we call it "Mono-Volume").

Even though it's a family car by excelence, it has a very interesting handling, and one can have some amount of fun with it... Speccially in a curved Mountain Road with the binary (215Nm) waking up at 2.400rpm and full Hp at 4.000rpms.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2003

1985 Toyota Corolla DX 12 valve 1.3

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Reliability on wheels

Faults:

Till now I had no problems in my Corolla, except for the alternator that "died on me" in a long trip.

General Comments:

It's not a sports car, but you sure can have fun with it. Its reactions and the feeling it can give the driver are very interesting.

It's a family car with a good interior and with 18 years on it' back there's not a single mark of the years passing by.

Here in Portugal there's still lots of Toyota Corolla 12 valves FWD on the streets, but none like mine. Just beautiful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2003

8th Dec 2007, 18:51

Greetings

I am also from Portugal, and because of this site, I decided to buy a toyota corolla for my second car. I will post my experience soon.

1971 Toyota Corolla Sedan 1.2

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres

Summary:

Japanese 70s quality

Faults:

The starter failed.

Brakes needed a huge repair.

Body in bad shape (due to race treatment).

General Comments:

What a astonishing little car.

So reliable.

Me and two friends bought it to race it.

In spite of serious beaten, U turns, and violent jumps, the car never complained.

I miss it, the car was sold to a junkyard, no one would accept the car for regular use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

1988 Toyota Corolla LX 12v

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 12v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 5

Summary:

Nice car

Faults:

Just the normal over the 10 years and 110,000km in my hands.

General Comments:

It is a good and cheap car.

Good reliability.

Comfort (rated 4 above) is a minor point indeed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews