Volkswagen Lupo Review from Portugal

1999 Volkswagen Lupo

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance14500 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Don't buy it

General Comments:

Volkswagen really surprised me with this car. Appalling quality! Interior materials are low in quality, the engine is oh so weak, all the car is very poor for a 'Volkswagen'. Not even the fuel economy is acceptable. Don't buy this car! It could be pretty at least... but no.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th December, 2000

29th Dec 2000, 16:30

Seem's my Lupo must have been built by someone other than VW then.

Fantastic build quality inside and out.

Mine's only a humble 1 litre E, but it's a great little car. 50 mpg too!!!

2nd Feb 2001, 06:04

I really don't know what car are you talking about? Everybody loves my Lupo, it's beautiful, well built, and very safe (I know).

Performance could really be a lot better, but what are you to expect from a 1.0L motor. And it takes the curves very well.

I am 2m tall and I feel quite comfortable driving one. Well, 100 people, 100 tastes I guess!

27th Apr 2001, 11:57

I have just bought my little lupo - I've covered a grand total of 550 mile so far - I guess there's still time for things to go wrong - but I LOVE IT!!

Great Car, Great Fun, Nippy for round town - wouldn't be without it now!

My last car was a 1.0L polo - now I've gone for the 1.0L lupo surely that's says it all - BUY ONE

11th Jun 2001, 08:08

I have owned a 1.4 Lupo for a year now, and I am totally satisfied, although there is a serious problem with the brakes.

I also own an Audi A3, but I can't stop driving my Lupo. Great acceleration! Only disadvantage... expensive!

17th Jun 2001, 16:06

I have a black Lupo 1.0E and I think it's fantastic. The 1 litre engine is quite adequate. I`ve added a centre exhaust and 16v badges and it looks just like a Lupo Sport, but £3,000 cheaper.

8th Apr 2003, 23:05

I have a 1.0 Lupo SE and have had it now for nearly 3 years. A great little car, It is great on Motorways and makes city driving fun (London). I am now looking forward to adding some modifications. The only disadvantage is that there is not enough room in the boot, nevertheless I have managed to fit a 3 suitcases and 3 people + hand luggage on the way to the airport the other day... the space can be deceiving.

An excellent car... thank you VW.

AA.

18th Jan 2006, 10:45

I have been driving a VW Lupo for 5 years and I can assure you it is reliable and a string little car. Of course I cannot expect the performance of a Porsche on a VW Lupo.

I recommend this little bug.

4th Jun 2012, 20:08

Great car! 260.0000 Km. without problems! All parts are original.

Average review marks: 5.3 / 10, based on 1 review