Opel Corsa Reviews from Romania

1998 Opel Corsa 1.0 gasoline

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.0 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 kilometres
Most recent distance134500 kilometres

Summary:

A very honest car

Faults:

ECU failure - replaced with a second hand one.

Mass air flow failure - bought a new one.

Timing chain rattling bad.

General Comments:

Cheap to buy, cheap to run and maintain. I consider it reliable despite the problems I had with it (e.g. when the ECU went dead, I was able to bring my car home under its own power, even though it had 2 functional pistons and was drinking fuel like a 2 litre engine).

It made me feel very good driving it, I enjoyed every ride with this little car. I find it comfortable, even on long journeys (I'm 1.83m).

Very economical, almost no performance at all, but it manages to put a smile on your face when you rev the engine to 6000 rpm and drive it like a much bigger engine. Still slow (I've got a maximum of 140 km/h or 87 mph), but very fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2012

2009 Opel Corsa Enjoy 1.3 CDTi turbo diesel

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.3 CDTi turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Previous carOpel Corsa

Summary:

Performs like a turtle!

Faults:

I have had this car only few months, so is too early for problems to happen..

General Comments:

I previously had a Corsa C 1.3 CDTi; same engine, but with only 70hp. It was old, but had rocket acceleration and low fuel consumption.

This one has 90hp, a 6 level gearbox and it's a lemon! A turtle. No power, no spirit. Acceleration is pathetic, and I find this car even dangerous on roads, due its lack of power.

It has nothing to do with the Corsa C, it has about 200 kg more, it is oversized, heavy and has bad visibility in the rear.

I consider I made a big mistake buying this car, it's a real disappointment.

Performance is a bad joke.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2009

8th Oct 2010, 08:23

Maybe you are not used to driving this car yet.

If you look at the specifications, you can see that the Corsa D diesel is a lot faster than the Corsa C diesel.

4th Jan 2012, 05:58

I agree it is slow to drive off from a standing start, unless you rev it up to 2500rpm, but generally it's pretty good performer. If you need to pass out, drop 2 gears, and it will go like a snot!

2008 Opel Corsa Enjoy 1.3 diesel

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.3 diesel Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance300 kilometres

Summary:

If I were to buy a car again I would choose the same

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Great comfort.

Great handling.

Easytronic transmission works GREAT. It improves your whole driving experience especially in crowded cities.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2008

2nd Apr 2008, 04:32

I've had this car since Jan '07... After 12000km I can say that it is very reliable, have some indications that the right behind suspension is not 100% but the city roads in Kumanovo, Macedonia are so awful that I can say its great after apx. 200 hole hits daily... Steering is great, fuel consumption not quite as expected. For a 1.2l -> 8.5l/100km combined, which is way different than what is on paper (5.8l/100km). Maybe they turned round the numbers? ;-)

The engine is underpowered, but for a 1.1t car is satisfactory. Seats are great, built quality remarkable, like the details, tried almost all super-minis before buying so now have no regrets. Girls love it, so if you are a guy, don't worry about what other guys will say, you'll get the action anyway... ;-)

The AC is not so great but, again, for a 1.2l car is enough. Overall, great car for the value.

4th May 2009, 06:36

Well I have a 1.2 Cosmo with Easytronic... and the transmission is just so great, especially in the rush hour traffic, when you have a free hand.

The stereo is great, and contrary to the comment above, I'm satisfied with the air conditioning... the car is very reliable and most of all comfortable, if you consider the awful roads in Romania. And very robust... love it... though I was not so sure if the Easytronic will be a good idea, now I only want cars with semiautomatic transmissions... I wouldn't buy a manual :D I recommend this car over its competition (VW Polo/Peugeot 207/Renault Clio etc...)

23rd Jul 2009, 06:52

My Corsa Enjoy is wonderful car! With the 1.2L engine and easytronic gear box in sport mode, drive even a BMW or Mercedes looks like mute looker's by the road.

I hope my next car would be Astra GTC with easytronic gear box.

So long from "red wizard", from Belgrade. ;) Opel is THE BEST OF THE BEST!!!

11th Aug 2009, 12:47

I'm driving a 6 manual gearbox one with a 1.3 CDTi 90 hps. I've drove a Focus 2 1.6 100 hps with a 5 gears manual. Perhaps I'm not used to diesels because I liked the Focus more.

12th Aug 2009, 03:42

Been driving my new Opel Corsa Enjoy 2009 for a month now and I LOVE it! I drive long distances on a weekly basis and so far I have not experienced any problems with the car, either on the highway or on the roads over the mountains and hills in the Balkans. It's very reliable on slippery roads, which was my primary concern when opting for a car.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 3 reviews