Chevrolet Optra Reviews from Singapore - Page 2 of 2

2003 Chevrolet Optra 1.6 16v

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Concerto

Summary:

Value for money 1.6L sedan

Faults:

Faulty fuel gauge (inconsistent readings), took dealer 2 months to fix.

Steering alignment off upon delivery.

General Comments:

Has a comfortable & roomy cabin.

Spacious boot/trunk (3 golf bags no problem!)

Feels rock solid, I love the build quality.

Stable at 185km/h, maintains the speed well on highways.

Has nice little thoughtful extra touches, that the other cars in this category lack (like felt lining in the storage spaces, sound insulation under the bonnet/hood, carpet even on the top underside of the boot/trunk lid, remote activated boot/trunk lid built into the key fob, etc.)

Pity it only has 1 SRS airbag (driver's).

1.6l not as responsive as I had hoped. May be due to the weight (approx. 1200kg)

Needs bigger wheels, to enhance the profile looks. Currently running 15" 195/55 (stock).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2005

4th Feb 2005, 05:39

I run my one on 205/45/16. Looks very good!

7th Mar 2005, 22:40

Would the power decrease once the tyre profile has changed?

8th Mar 2005, 09:00

I have same problem with steering alignment. Had to switch tires to rectify fault - believed to be caused by tire radian pull.

Starts to feel the power in it when driving at 130 to 140 km/hr.

Install voltage stabilizer will help to improve power.

Like this car - really value for money.

19th May 2005, 19:58

I am thinking of getting Optra as my next car. Any advise?

13th Jun 2005, 23:49

Optra 1.6 purchased in 2004, is fantastic in look

Cab and luggage spaces are roomy and clear.

Good hold on road and safe to drive. Could clock 130 KMH easily on Indian new roads. This can go up further as the driving habit of drivers on road improves.

Fuel consumption with AC on almost always

City (with AC on over 95% of travel) :9.5 ~ 10.0 KM PL

Highway (with AC on in summer) :13.5 ~14.0 KM PL(this include 10% of city and 90% highway)

Good value for money.

AW Xavier

17th Jul 2005, 19:26

I'm collecting my OPTRA (old face lift) on Tuesday & my friend collecting on Friday.

The first thing when we are to going to enhance our car for power n fuel saving which our present car have (Air injet/flow, FuelMag - run extra 50-70km of fuel).

Armanico81@yahoo.com.sg.

18th Jul 2005, 23:24

I'm collecting my Optra 1.6 and can anyone tell me what is the full (when reaches 'E') tank reading 550km?

23rd Jul 2005, 09:27

Am considering Chevy Optra Wagon.

1 What is the fuel consumption in Singapore- mainly city not highway travel?

2 Is there website with clear pictures of its back space area? I can't find pictures of that in the internet brochure.

Thanks!

14th Sep 2005, 16:09

My 2003 Optra 1.6LS manual also have the fuel gauge false reading issue on occasion. Please help in resolving issue and why it took two months to diagnose?

15th Nov 2005, 09:36

If I change my tyre from 185/R14 to a larger size would if affect my car. driving proudly/Antigua West indies.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 3 reviews