2002 Honda City Vtec 1.5 SOHC


I really enjoy owning this car!


Headlamp lenses became dirty on the inside surface within the first month, probably due to a seal leak. Somewhat noisy - road noise from wheel wells and wind noise from driver side window. Paint job isn't very scratch resistant. Swirl marks become obvious very quickly, within the first 2 months or so. Original tires were noisy (Thai-made Bridgestones), but the car handled pretty good nonetheless.

Other than that, no problems.

General Comments:

This car is such a joy to own. The seats are nice and supportive, and the fuel economy makes me laugh with glee. I get up to 15.5 kilometers a litre.

I upgraded to 15" wheels and relatively cheap Falken ST-115 performance tires. Now the car handles much better and is quieter too. Also added on a voltage stabilizer and some fuel magnets. I get a little better mileage now (2% or so).

What I'd really like to know is if the car comes stock with gas or oil shocks?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2005

12th Oct 2008, 10:19

How come yoy get such a mileage out of your V tech 1.3 is OK but v tech strange???

4th Dec 2010, 00:13

Good economical car for Sri Lanka, but the engine is noisy compared to other cars.

2000 Honda City Lxi 16v DHOC


It's an economical and a reliable car


Noisy tyres. Maybe I'm too used to handling my old Honda civic.

General Comments:

Mine is a 2000 model. It's comparatively cheap to maintain and fuel comsumption is comparatively low. A 40 tank of petrol can clocked 450km driving in Singapore city and 510km in Malaysia's expressway. My car has already travel more than 100,000 km and the engine is still at a healthy state.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st December, 2004

30th Sep 2005, 14:20

It is very funny to drive this car, but indeed it's very reliable.

11th Mar 2006, 05:01

Mine is also a 2000 year model. The only problem I encountered is the bushing and bearing in the air conditioner.

4th Mar 2007, 08:48

It's over 6 years now and the mileage has passed 180,000km. No problem so far. Still able to drive up to Genting Highlands with full loads and 4 passengers. Fuel consumption is still very good at 480km for a full tank of Octane 92 unleaded (blue label). maintenance lost is very low. Good car.

2000 Honda City VTEC 1.5L


Engine is a Peach


Driver's floor mat slowly slid under the clutch over time, causing a potential clutching problem initially until rectified simply by placing a non-slip mat underneath it to prevent slipping.

General Comments:

Great reliability.

Obeys when you wish to be a careful and frugal driver.

Also obeys when you want to have a little driving fun with your car.

Great engine performance, but don't ask too much out of a 1.5-litre Single Overhead Cam engine. This is NOT a Dual Cam VTEC.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2003

2001 Honda City 1.5 VTEC Petrol


A trademark Honda, but is too simple in interior design


Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Quiet cabin with good engine power for a 1.5 litre car. Simple interior design is its only flaw. Has good fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2002