Nissan Presea Reviews from Singapore

1992 Nissan Presea CT II 1.6

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance227000 kilometres
Previous carNissan NIL

Summary:

Very reliable and low maintenance!

Faults:

Failure on the water pump.

General Comments:

This car still gives very good mileage

70% Highway/ 30%City - 12.5-14km/l

Highway - 14.5-16km/l

City - 11-13km/l.

When I first got the car the fuel consumption was very bad, below 9km/l, but after I did some maintenance by replacing the clutch plate and had the car tune up. it improved. Then I installed the grounding cables and did changed the standard spark plug cable to 8mm spark plug. And the mileage keep on going up! I also increased my type pressure by 10% to gain an extra km!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2005

1992 Nissan Presea CT II 1.6 Auto

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Auto Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

A good, stylish and reliable car

Faults:

Nothing much went wrong, except for my clutch pads, due to wear and tear.

Interior panels were melted due to the hot weather here. Too expensive to replace them as you got to get them from the dealer itself.

General Comments:

Great car to own as its already quite stylish without a body kit.

Very comfortable leather seats.

Lowered suspensions make it a very reliable car for cornering.

However, the wheel covers spoil the whole look of the car, so I changed it into sport rims with 205 tires. Performs great with rainy days.

Slightly tinted windows add to its sporty look.

Definitely a car worth buying. Its just a pity that Nissan discontinued with this model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2003

24th Feb 2003, 04:51

How much did you get it for?

22nd Oct 2006, 02:41

I have a 94 model Presea, but fuel consumption is pretty bad... It's auto and I get about 8 kmpl.. I've had two manual Preseas before and they were great.. But I hear that I can get more than 10 kmpl even from automatic transmission... What must I do to improve it's fuel efficiency?

1992 Nissan Presea R10 GA16DE 1.6L DOHC w/ VCT

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission GA16DE 1.6L DOHC w/ VCT Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired228000 kilometres
Most recent distance260000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

Good - Note: Using British English

Faults:

Power Steering system failed at 230,000km

Shocks, tyres and rims changed at 231,000km

Alternator failed at 235,000km

Clutch slipped/failed at 231,000 and 250,000km.

Radiator/Engine Pipe leaked causing 2nd alternator failure.

Clutch seems to be slipping again! Nissan makes lousy stock clutches.

General Comments:

Putting 205mm width tyres with Momo rims makes this car very enjoyable in corners and above 160kmh.

Pity the speed limiter kicks in at 190-192kmh.

Low profile (45) tyres + Monroe shocks give the car a sporty (harsh) ride, but is very good for handling

The car sits low (1320mm) and makes the driving experience more sporty

Engine is very lively above 3500rpm, and between 5000-6500rpm, there is a VTEC-like surge.

I love the look and performance of the car, and intend to keep it as long as possible.

Hoping to add a turbocharger and other modifications to increase the performance of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

14th Aug 2006, 01:00

Hi! I just bought a 92 Presea and would like to join the club. Please email to powerpill@dreamaction.us.

2nd Nov 2007, 03:25

Hi everyone, my name is Jason. I just bought a 91 Presea. Do contact me. We can share on maintenance tips and so on. jasonhks@yahoo.com 985 66 300.

10th Oct 2008, 08:50

Hi All,

I m using Nissan presea 92model sedan car. I have to change my engine which is not available in my country... can anyone let me know which type of engine will give best support for this car???

My email sumonhere@yahoo.com

Please let me know the details.

Thanks.

26th Apr 2010, 22:34

Hello everybody, my name is Sava from Indonesia. I have a Nissan Presea 1997. Now I'm struggling to find some spare parts, which are the back left tail light because my light was broken. And I'm looking for rubber list of front mirror and back mirror.. I urgently need help for an address that I can contact to provide those parts..

Thanks and regards for all.

1991 Nissan Presea R10 1.6 i

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Previous carMazda Astina

Faults:

The airconditioner panels would lose its shape after sometimes. I have got them changed and use protectant spray over it. It seems to work very well.

General Comments:

I bought this 11 years old car and got so delighted over it.

The engine is powerful enough to trill me. I have tried 170km/h and she is still able to do better.

After two months on the road and I have decided to doll her up.

She is now equipped with Sony Xplodd headset/Amps, Kickers speaker components and Dynaquest bass tube. Full body kits and GT Daytona Spoiler imported from Italy. I gave her a new solid red body paint and black roof. I rename her with new logo from Japan - NISMO R10!

She is now a sweet baby and one of its kind in Singapore!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2002

14th Feb 2004, 12:22

Hi there... I just want to know where can I get a nice bodykit for my presea???

1996 Nissan Presea CT II 1.6 petrol injection

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol injection Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Spacious, high performance, stylish and reliable

Faults:

No major problems encountered during the past six years of use, aside from common engine problems resulted from wear and tear.

Stained plastic interior on dash and side door trim, though minor.

General Comments:

Very sporty and high performance sports saloon indeed with sleek design and nice frameless doors.

Engine very reliable and good dealer service.

Engine lacks power due to size of car body, 1.8 would suit the size better.

Very comfortable interior and nice leather trim.

Plenty of functions and high quality interior materials.

However, the original rims came with plastic covers that spoilt the look of the car.

No fog lamps except the fake fog lamp covers at front bumper, cornering lamps available though.

Good sound system and air-con.

Too bad Nissan discontinued the model and it was never highly publicised as this is by far the most interesting model by Nissan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2002

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews