Chevrolet Spark Reviews from South Africa

2009 Chevrolet Spark LS

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 kilometres
Most recent distance8000 kilometres
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Designed for city living

Faults:

The back windscreen started to rattle.

The seats are very comfortable. The foot space is not comfortable. My ankle starts to hurt after a short drive.

General Comments:

I live on the edge of the world, and bought this car because of its low fuel consumption.

I travel on dirt roads often, and I think that this is where the rattle started on the rear window.

Generally I really liked the car. The car however was not for me. The car does have low fuel consumption, yes, but the car does not have any "kick". So if you are buying the car to drive 90% of the time in a city - then yes, this car is for you. However - if you plan on traveling more than 7 hours at a time at times in this car, then it is not for you.

I have found that even though the Spark does 120km/h, it does not really have the power to overtake other vehicles quickly. It especially does not like wind. So overtaking a semi for example is really not a good idea, and don't even get me started on windy mountain passes!

I loved my Spark, really though it is designed for city living and definitely not anything else. I got 15km/l traveling at 120km/h, the fuel consumption is fantastic, but the compromise on space however, for me was not worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd January, 2010

2008 Chevrolet Spark LX

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Summary:

Good

Faults:

Black grease/rubber like substance oozing from the door.

General Comments:

My girlfriend has a Chevrolet Spark, and we have taken many road trips in it where I have driven, and personally driving her car as opposed to mine (Chrysler 2 ltr) is something to get used to, but all in all it is a pretty good little run around car.

The only problems I have with it is that it does feel a bit unstable in general, and even more so at speeds in excess of 80 km/h. The other problem I have is that when pulling off from stand still, most of the time it feels like the clutch slips.

I do have one question for every one reading this.

Yesterday while washing the car, my girlfriend noticed a black gel/rubber type stuff that seemed to be oozing out from under her door. Does any one know what it could be?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th October, 2009

14th Dec 2009, 00:39

Hi, this is Ahmed from New Delhi, India.

I bought a Chevrolet Spark a couple of weeks ago. Since yesterday, there is black grease coming out of the right rear door. I noticed this when my hands were dirtied. Fortunately, the seats were spared the horror, as I have not yet removed the plastic wrapping that came with the new car. But the cream beige is in a mess.

When, I called the local Chevrolet Spark service station today, the person was not surprised by this complaint and kind of seemed to be aware of this kind of problem. May be this is a general problem with Spark. I am taking the car to the service station and have my fingers crossed on what action they will take. I also have problems with the first gear being very tight and the car switching off/ knocking in the first and second gear from the day I got the car. The service station at the authorised dealer where I got the car failed to rectify this when I took the car there.

2006 Chevrolet Spark

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Chico Golf

Summary:

Absolutely awesome! I love my car to bits!

General Comments:

Absolutely awesome, funky little car. The only problem that I have is after getting a puncture, trying to find a 145/07/13" tyre is an absolute mission.

Surely the dealers should keep some tyres in stock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2006

19th Dec 2006, 01:30

Great, great, great, great - what more can one say. After driving a BMW 318i, 1998 I was greatly surprised by the Spark LT. I've been driving my Spark LT for two months now and have not missed by BMW. Fuel consumption is great. One must understand this is not a performance vehicle. If you want performance get yourself a BMW, etc. This is a lovely little car for driving from point A to B. It must be agreed that the Sparky is not a family vehicle, but can most definitely fit into any little space. My husband drives a BMW 528i, and what a mission to find a parking space. He prefer driving MY Sparky in town. I will have to end my comments with - GREAT, GREAT, GREAT, GREAT.

2004 Chevrolet Spark LS 0.8

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance9716 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Real value for money

General Comments:

A perfect car for city driving. The Spark LS has all the comfort that we have come to expect from Chevrolet, not much has changed from the original Daewoo, however the quality of the vehicle seems a lot better.

Driving is a pleasure, and the 800cc is a real runner.

On the downside, they could have kept the electric mirrors from the original Daewoo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2004

7th Sep 2005, 01:54

I bought a Spark LS 2005 model. It has a problem that the engine starts searching at a constant 60km/h in 4th gear, which results in the car jerking. It appears around 2300 - 2350 rpm's and makes for an unpleasant drive. (same happens at about 75km?h in 5th gear.

It seems that it may be a common problem on this particular model. I would like to hear whether other owners are experiencing the same problem?

2004 Chevrolet Spark Base 0.8

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance380 kilometres

Summary:

A perfect buy for economy

General Comments:

I have only had the car for a few days and I am finding that it handles peak traffic well. It keeps up with most cars.

The gearing more than compensates for the small 3 cylinder engine. It it very easy to park. The steering is light and responsive.

The rear seats fold flat which most new cars do not do.

Fuel economy is excellent. With a small 35 liter fuel tank you are not punished for carrying extra fuel.

The seats are large and comfortable.

As it is still a very new car to the South African market insurance is a problem. This is made up by the low cost of the car. Just under $10 000 fully imported makes it a wonderful buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2004

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews