2003 Citroen C5 LX 2.0 litre petrol




Had 2 new electronic valves put into the gearbox.

Replaced catalytic convertor (hole).

Otherwise absolutely nothing else! Amazing reliability.

General Comments:

This car is seriously under-rated. The service costs are extremely low! The comfort is incredible. Long distance travelling in South Africa and in the "bundu-bashing" in our game reserves is an absolute joy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2013

2004 Citroen C5 2.0 petrol


Best car I have owned since my Camry


Gear electronic sensors had to be replaced on gearbox.

General Comments:

Most comfortable car I have ever owned. Incredibly fuel efficient for a 2.0 litre Automatic.

New Michelins at 75,000.

Replaced timing belt at 70,000 kms, Agents charged R2,500 fitted! Less than most small cars.

Services every 30,000 kms! R3,000 average.

This car has cost me basically nothing to run.

Hydramatic suspension can take you almost anywhere off-road, and in mud, too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2010

21st Oct 2012, 10:12

Just returned from a 1,200 km trip to the Drakensberg Mountains in Kwa Zulu/Natal, and my Citroen performed wonderfully without any problems, and gave me 8 litres per 100 kms travelling at 120 kph on some of the worst roads I have ever encountered! Did a 5,000 km trip to Cape Town and back in December, as well.

Have covered over 100,000 kms and still perfect, no handles falling off or anything else, too. Greatest car I have ever owned in over 58 years in Africa and Canada!

Unfortunately Peugeot/Citroen's marketing departments are useless, and don't advertise or market their cars at all. Citroen have won the World Rally Championship nine (9) years in a row, and what do they say about that? Nothing!!! Ford and Mini have pulled out because they cannot beat Citroen!

2004 Citroen C5 Exclusive 3.0


Biggest piece of expensive junk I ever owned


Day one - Ignition coil failed.

Water bottle sensor stopped working.

Reverse sensor stopped working.

Fan control module failed.

Ignition coil 2 failed.

Tire sensors faulty; they keep on reporting "wheels deflating" while it's in perfect order.

General Comments:

I expected more from an Exclusive model; the electronic systems are of poor quality and design. Running cost is extremely high and parts are priced ridiculously high.

Internal build quality is also very poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2007

23rd Oct 2007, 09:00

It never seems to stop, today (23 Oct 07) the LCD back light has failed...

17th Feb 2008, 00:11

Au Contrair Mon-amie! I love my French car. It's been fantastic. You must of got a Lemon. Funny thing is "Citroen" means "Lemon" in translation.

2nd Oct 2009, 06:02

Pity you got a dud. I have the 2 litre 2004 Automatic and with its 5 Year Maintenance Plan it cost me zilch. The last service cost (paid by Citroen) was RI,800! I have done 80,000 kms. and it is now out of warranty.

Recently I had a problem with the gearbox and Citroen's Head Office assisted me in repairing it at nominal cost.

A Fuel Electronic Sensor for my wife's Opel Corsa 1400 cost me almost as much!

Get the 2 Litre and you will see the difference.

The reason for the expensive parts in South Africa is the crazy mark-up that Imperial (the Importers) charge on Citroen parts!