Mazda MX6 Reviews from South Africa

1994 Mazda MX6 LS 2.5 V6

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Most recent distance275000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Palio

Summary:

Superb

Faults:

Shortly after buying the car:

1. Driver window started struggling to close and open.

2. Steering wheel's front plate kept falling off.

3. Doors struggled to lock.

4. Some minor issues with the climate control.

But to be honest... 15/16 years and about 1/4 of a million kilometers... it's perfectly understandable.

Recently:

1. The radiator started leaking on the highway, and I blew my heads - R4500 to replace.

------

Overall, the car is super reliable!

General Comments:

The outside looks are stunning. The headlights, though, have a bit of a "cute" look to them, and slightly spoils the look, but other parts make up for it.

On the inside I love the climate control, cruise control, black leather seats and all the other tiny bits. Unfortunately, though, the rear seats are useless, and in my opinion this car should have been a two seater. It's just built to be a sports car, not a family car.

The boot is large, and Mazda had a genius idea of galvanizing the bodywork, so that the car would never rust... most of it. Which makes it perfect for anyone living next to the coast, or very rainy places.

I own the 2.5 V6 Automatic, which does lack power compared to the Manual, but it still kicks one hell of a punch, and I wouldn't strongly recommend it for a teen's first car.

Overall, I think it's a great buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2010

31st Jul 2010, 13:54

Thanks for the review! I'm not sure what you mean with the headlights "spoiling" the look... I just put Xenon bulbs in mine... Much sportier at night!!

Ciao...

1993 Mazda MX6 2.5 V6 2.5 litre V6

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 litre V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired151000 kilometres
Most recent distance151900 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Very good performance for the price

Faults:

The clutch release bearing of the clutch broke on the second day I had the car. I replaced the clutch. the original clutch had done 151000km which was reasonably good.

There has been a leak somewhere which has flooded the mats in the car.

Everything else works perfectly, and I am happy with what I got for the money I paid.

General Comments:

This car is a pleasure to drive.

I enjoy using the cruise control.

It's a bit heavy on petrol, but that may be as my foot is a bit heavy on the pedal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2003

1997 Mazda MX6 2.5 V6

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 kilometres
Most recent distance72000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Great cars. Lamentiable dealers

Faults:

Not much,the most serious is a suspension strut that carries the anti sway bar. this is a typical Mazda 626 failing.

General Comments:

The Mazda dealers are very arrogant, spares are expensive. Example:

The "fog" light on the MX6 sells at SA R3000,00.This price is for a complete assembly in the UK it is possible to purchase the lens only.

The headlamp assembly on the current 626 sells at SA R1800,00 again in the UK only the lens is available.

The dealer principle will not discuss the matter or any other that is critical of the service rendered.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

1997 Mazda MX6 LX 2.5

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance95000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Hardbody Pickup

Summary:

I am very sorry that the model has been discontinued.

Faults:

CV joints had to be replaced

Back seat leather was burnt by the sun and had to be repalced.

General Comments:

Very sporty precise road holding. A pleasure to drive.

Climate control AC a boon in this country.

Well engineered and classic looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

1994 Mazda MX6 Manual 2.5 V6

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance123000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Monza

Summary:

Best looking coupe on the road

Faults:

Just general things like I serviced the alternator and replaced the timing belt.

General Comments:

Excellent car, people really underestimate these cars because they read fake performance fiqures in magazines. The only you do to a MX6 is Cols air intake and N filter and a good dynotune, and watch that baby pull.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2000

7th Sep 2001, 06:22

I would be interested to know what mods you carried out to the aircleaner etc. Please drop me a line.

Gordon (SA) logoland@yahoo.com.

4th Aug 2009, 00:27

I am an MX6 cowboy. I live in Benoni South Africa. I own a red 1994 MX6 with replaced j spec klze 200hp engine with performance chip, cold air K&N intake & performance branches, 50 wet shot NOS to be installed shortly, so there are many performance mods for the MX6 cars.

1994 Mazda MX6 Auto 2.5i V6 petrol

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 2.5i V6 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

The cluster of switches for the electric windows failed mechanically and cost ZAR 1300, - (=USD 200,-) to replace with no guarantee! The rubber seal around the drivers window leaks. Vibrations are present despite numerous attempts at wheel balancing.

General Comments:

A great car to drive on long trips. Fuel efficiency is not great but the looks make up for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 1999

6th Sep 2001, 06:47

The MX6 in general rules! It has everything you could ever want in a car and more.

7th Sep 2001, 21:23

I'm driving a 1993 Mazda MX6 V6 Mystere, 126000 kms. I've had the car for just over a year and a half, bought the car at 107000. Up to date, this is by far one of the most enjoyable cars to drive. No major repairs done, only standard maintenance. Timing belt cost $550cnd.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews