Mercedes-Benz C-Class Reviews from South Africa

2004 Mercedes-Benz C-Class 270 CDI 2.7 turbo diesel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.7 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance213000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Corsa

Summary:

Very good buy and quality value for your money

Faults:

In 8 years, only replaced the battery.

General Comments:

Very impressive fuel economy - 5.1l/100km.

Quality finish, every knob/switch is still working.

Leather seats are still in very good condition after so many years of travelling.

Power of the engine is still high.

First time now, it seems the front suspension rubber mouldings could be shot... yet the driving comfort is still high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2012

1995 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C180 petrol

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance251000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Absolute joyride

Faults:

Since I've owned the vehicle, it's cost me an annual service and power steering pump seals at 200 000km.

General Comments:

It is lovely car to drive, pull-off is a bit slow, but from 3rd gear on it goes very well.

Performs best between 130 and 170 km/h.

Keep in mind that it is not a compressor aspirated engine, and it has heavy body to drag around; a bit of an advantage when you come into an accident.

Can't complain otherwise; if you look after it, it will look after you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2011

2011 Mercedes-Benz C-Class 180 CGI

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres

Faults:

Well I had the car for only 15000km, so nothing went wrong.

General Comments:

This car is the most comfortable car for long journeys from anything that I have travelled with.

Good power, and hardly had to look at the rear view mirror to allow anybody to overtake.

It is so smooth, and the turbo is very good; some minimal lag that I got used to, but excellent in overtaking, even at higher speeds.

Also love the centre storage panel that takes the place of the handbrake, and miss this entirely when I drive my second car, a Daihatsu Sirion. This car even puts the Merc B Class to shame with quality, comfort, performance.

It is actually a pleasure to drive this car, and I always look forward to going on a run, even though I can be tired as hell. Oh, and I love the looks.

Awaiting eagerly the 2012 face lifted C Class with all new gadgets and 7 speed auto gearbox.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2011

2003 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance81000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

Running costs are high

Faults:

Aircon broke down at 76,000 Km. Cost ZR 14,000.

Sensor in cam shaft housing leaks at 81,000 Km and causes engine warning light to come on. Cost ZR 11,000.

I am told this is a regular problem and that M B are aware of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2009

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C 180 Classic 1.8

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

The C180 is comfortable, but badly underpowered

Faults:

The air mas flow sensor was faulty. This was noticed during the first inspection by Cargo East, but not replaced.

During the second service (in Germany) the agent noticed the fault and replaced the sensor unit under warranty, even though this car had been bough in South Africa.

Otherwise, no problems.

General Comments:

The C180 is very underpowered and therefore not what one expects from a Mercedes.

On the reef the low engine power and torque results in poor gear changes, but at sea level this is not such a big problem.

The C180 is a good car for an older, retired person who wants a comfortable car that will give many years of service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2003

1999 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C180 Classic 1.8 16v

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Nothing to get excited about

Faults:

Lots of rattles in the dash and roof mounted interior light console.

Rear passenger door kick plate fell off.

General Comments:

The car is underpowered. The bodyweight is very close to my previous car that was powered by a 1600 engine, but the C180 has a much bigger engine and is a lot slower.

The car drives like a bus. The steering is lifeless with very little feedback.

The driver's seat is very uncomfortable with little room between the steering wheel and your knees.

Nobody can sit behind me when I'm driving. The gap between the driver's seat and the back seat is about 15 cm. Despite the big body, this is not a tall persons car.

The glove box light would stay on even when it was closed. Eventually the dealer fixed it with brute force, but now the catch is visible from the driver's side. When I look at it I wonder what the fuss is about Mercedes Benz.

Despite the battle to get rid of the rattles in the dash, there are still lots of creaks and vibrations in the dash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2001

16th Sep 2009, 12:43

I had the same issue with all the cracks and rattles. The interior is cheap plastic. It feels like a Ford on the inside. I got rid of some of the cracks and rattles was superglued the damn thing. Screw it I said. The car is junk and will be getting rid of it soon. I did just that and thank God I did. I had the C230K.

1996 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C280 Elegance 2.8 inline 6

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 kilometres
Most recent distance114000 kilometres
Previous carLand Rover Series 2

Summary:

Excellent long distance cruiser, very refined and powerful car let down by a terrible dealership

Faults:

Power cuts during acceleration at around 110000km were tracked to a faulty knock sensor which was replaced under motor plan, as well as a cracked spark plug cable. Same problems are creeping up again.

I'm dreading the trip back to the dealership as part of the car's interior trimmings went missing after the last service.

General Comments:

C280 has plenty power and is an absolute joy to drive. This car was made for long distances. It puts a smile on my face every day and was a great step upwards from the old, unreliable Landy.

The agents give bad service which is disappointing for a new Mercedes-Benz owner, but I'm told it's the same with other makes as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2001

2000 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C280 Elegance 2.8 V6

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance27000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A compact executive express

Faults:

One or two trim rattles have emerged. Nothing serious. Also, not impressed that the number-plate was attached to the car using double-sided scotch tape. Slight creaking in the passenger door.

General Comments:

Fantastic car. I have owned a number of different brands, the Merc beats the lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2000

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C180 Classic 1.8

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.8
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Rattle in front left door.

Air sensor fault.

Both repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

Very underpowered when loaded and AC is in use. Poor gearchange. Good lights & wipers. Noisey AC and heater fan. Good comfort but handling is a bit vague in fast corners. A well built car that should give years of service but more suited to an elderly driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 1999

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews