Opel Kadett Reviews from South Africa

1988 Opel Kadett LS 1.3

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 kilometres
Most recent distance400000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Awesome, never to be seen again, value!

Faults:

- Alternator dies once a year.

- Had some major services, but a while ago now.

We've had some errors on the car through the years, but judging from some of the stories I've heard about people buying a new car and it dies kilometers later, the money we spent on her is negligible.

She is surprisingly cheap to fix and maintain. A fact I recently reminded myself off when I ended up on the business end of a Camry. I would say the biggest failure for, at least my Kadett, is the driver...

General Comments:

- Styling, to my eye, still looks contemporary.

- Small, agile little runabout.

- Surprisingly economical.

- Surprisingly nippy.

- Relatively cheap to maintain.

- Drives like a go-kart: Really fast steering wheel response (slim, hard tyres).

- Perfect car to get going on your driving career!

I started commuting to and from University with this car in 2004. She has been in the family since 1991 when my dad bought her second-hand. So, I was under the impression that she will give us a lot of trouble.

She did not: This car is a little soldier! She allowed me to spend my diminutive wages on student stuff, not fixing a car all the time...

And from 2008, I've been using her to commute another 80Km's per day to and from work: She just keeps going!

I have had the thought before that the fallibility built into all modern products, was skipped on the Kadetts, and as a result, it is probably the nicest car you will ever own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2012

1992 Opel Kadett Cub 1.4 petrol

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance167000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

This car is excellent first car to drive, it has its mechanical problems with age, this is normal

Faults:

Head gasket failed at 159000km.

Exhaust gasket failed at 160000km.

Rubber tubing in engine perished at 157000km.

The battery light in always on when I have the headlights switched on, the battery is new and the alternator has been tested and is working correctly. The battery light is very dim while idling, and then becomes very bright when accelerating. 166000km.

The right shoulder of the drivers seat has worn excessively. (since vehicle purchase)

General Comments:

The car in general is a pleasure to drive, it has a good throttle response.

The steering wheel feedback is excellent, you know exactly what the front wheels are doing.

The gear box is tuned in a very sporty layout, which makes changing gears exciting.

There is much to be desired in the suspension as it leaves you with little confidence around corners at speed, however this might be due to poor shocks. Although I have heard similar complaints in other reviews.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2008

1st Apr 2011, 00:20

I agree with your comments about the 140 Cub, except for the bit about the suspension. If you fit gas shocks and slightly wider tyres (175/70), it handles like a go kart.

Lovely car - mine is 20 years old and I won't part with it.

Syd

PMB RSA.

1988 Opel Kadett

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

I only got this car last week. The car idle very low. I can't drive in 5th gear in town, than the engine wants to die on me. Can anybody tell me if that has to be like that?

Can't drive at night when the lights is switched on, then you have ref the car all the time.

The heater also doesn't want to work.I've replaced all the fuses.

General Comments:

Big inside can carry big load of luggage. Very good looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2006

1996 Opel Kadett 160is 1.6

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired111500 kilometres
Most recent distance116240 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Good, fuss free motoring

Faults:

I had to replace a rather tired coolant pipe connecting the radiator to the engine block.

Changed the thermostat as the engine never reached normal operating temperature.

General Comments:

Treated it to an engine oil change and have had many kilometers of trouble free driving.

Great interior ergonomics and comfy seats! I would really like aircon though as it gets hot in the S. A summer.

Lack of power steering only becomes a problem when at parking speeds.

The 1.6 engine is really good for its size-nice low torque peak gives a 0-100kph time of about 10.5 seconds. Very easy to wheel-spin!

Cruises nicely on the highway-140kph at 4000rpm gives good economy.

Handling feels a bit blunt after my GTI 16v-but still good fun to chuck around suburban roads. Just be careful!

Overall a nice car to drive and cheap to maintain-interior holds a lot of stuff and the boot can pack an entire PA system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2004

12th Sep 2008, 12:26

I don't like the car (1996 Kadett). Since I bought mine as a new model, it has spent more time getting worked on than driven. This vehicle has cost me a fortune; I am however still driving my old 1992 Kadett, and all I have to do to that car is put petrol in the tank. The older Kadett is more reliable.

15th Apr 2010, 13:09

1996 160is.

Mine started rusting recently. Bought it 2nd hand maybe 8 years ago.

If you buy this car, make sure it has the black line spoiler on the boot. I would assume that's the faster version.

Very good torque for a 160. Gears stretch, 1st: 60km, 2nd: 101km, 3rd: 142km, 4th: 180km, 5th about 205km (on speedometer). Makes me wanna buy a 200is.

Stayed with a 1997 rsi in a dice before approaching top speed.

Cheap to run, very light on petrol.

Indicator broke, cambelt problems. But the engine is great along with the gearbox.

217k done, and tend to have heavy foot at least once a week.

UNDERRATED. 2010.

1993 Opel Kadett IS 2.0

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Crap!

Faults:

Everything. From being delivered with a windscreen scratched, one could barely see through it, right through to the engine, gearbox etc. The lot.

General Comments:

It is not worthy to be called a car.

Friends of ours who bought an Opel Astra had the same problems. The agents were the worst I have ever dealt with.

Never again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th July, 2000

1985 Opel Kadett GTE 1.8 8v

Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission 1.8 8v
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Cylinder head, heater matrix burst, alternator replaced.

General Comments:

Great little car. Handles like a go-kart and has still gives excellent fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 6 reviews