1990 BMW 5 Series 520i A 2litre 12valve

Summary:

Solid, reliable, SLOW, but cool

Faults:

Brake wear sensor permanently on.

Door cards and head lining have decided to leave the car on their own and are gradually succeeding.

Heater/blower motor has given up.

Drivers door lock sticks.

Rear door central locking has given up.

Boot needs to be slammed hard to close.

Slight water leak on radiator.

Drivers seat well worn due to mileage.

General Comments:

Rock solid reliable. Sometimes takes some starting, but has never let me down to date.

Nearly 19 years old and not a single spot of rust anywhere to be seen.

Hubcap model looks cheap...

Slow. And I MEAN slooooooooooooow. Used as a daily work-horse. I also have a 740 Sport and 328SE. I know these are very quick, but the 520 is sometimes embarrassingly slow. How on earth does a 518 even get going??!!

A bit noisy.

Skinny standard wheels mean if you push it round a bend too hard, the back wants to go a different way to you.

Dated but still looks good. Would rather use this for work than a sad little diesel box. And it's a BMW, whatever else you say about it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2008

14th Nov 2008, 08:41

It's still going strong! The 328i I referred to in the review has since gone and been replaced by an M5, but the old 520i is still with me and gets me to work and back every day without fail, and now even on 5 cylinders - go baby!!

1st Sep 2009, 10:27

10 months on, and yup she is still going. Now back on 6 cylinders. It's funny how cars come and go - I mentioned in my last comment my 328i had gone. Now the 740i has been "replaced" (i.e. not sold, just gone down a peg) by an M5. And my 520i still starts, trundles off to work in the morning and back again at night. Like an old pair of shoes, fits perfect.

So whats gone wrong since my last visit - well a few things.

Heater/blower doesn't work any more.

Glove compartment catch snapped off, wedged shut with a warning triangle case, back door sometimes doesn't shut, boot needs slamming to shut.

A little tapping noise now audible from the bottom of the engine.

Door pull on inside feels as though it's coming away, and the power steering developed a small leak. But nothing you wouldn't expect in 20 year old car, used daily and driven like it should be.

Most worrying is rust started to appear just above the rubber at the door bottoms, so no doubt more behind the rubber.

Intention is to replace in January 2010 with a cheap E39 523 or 528i, as I could use the extra power when I'm late on a morning, but I have to say, it will have a lot to live up to!!

Watch this space, I'll give at least one "goodbye" update before she retires and you never know, I might just decide to keep her going!! (she's going in the driveway even when I have done, at least for a mourning period anyway!)

2000 BMW 5 Series 530 D Steptronic 3.0 diesel

Summary:

A beautifully made, brilliantly styled executive sports saloon

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Handling and ride absolutely superb.

No intrusive noises at any speed.

Automatic gearbox slightly lazy in urban traffic, but the weight justifies this.

Fuel consumption amazing, except again for urban traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2001

4th Jan 2001, 09:13

Rear wheel drive will doughnut you around to any degree you want.

Traction control: good job, but they are the worst car ever in snow.

15th Mar 2001, 08:17

Rear drive provides balanced weight distribution and thus balanced handling: the engine is up front, the gearbox and propshaft run the length of the car, and the final drive is at the rear.

If you have a dislike for rear wheel drive cars, or are of the opinion that they are somehow "dangerous", do not buy BMW. Every car in their range shares the front engine/rear drive layout.

Remember that the 5-series is noted throughout the world for being the finest executive car on sale today; being unable to drive it is merely a reflection on the person behind the wheel and not the badge upon it.

Knowing your car's limitations is all part of driving. Seek tuition if you are inexperienced.

29th Jul 2004, 06:10

Well, I drive 530d in Finland (Lapland) where is winter over 8 months in a year. No problems at all during my 150 000 km.