2005 Renault Megane Renault Sport 2.0 turbo


Good work from Renault Sport



General Comments:

The vehicle is very comfortable.

Above 4000 rpm nice engine sound.

The turbo whistle is very motivating The turbo howling noise inside the cabin is not so good.

The sixth gear is very economic.

The engine torque is usable in every gear.

Sometimes buzzing & rattling noises are coming from the cabin when riding on uneven surfaces.

Handling and steering is very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2005

2004 Renault Megane Saloon 1.5 dCi


Comfortable, economic and safely drive


I didn't have any problem with my car till now. I can't still believe that all things run perfect.

General Comments:

Very easy to drive and I feel the safety. Very large car, but attractive, too. One of the best family cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

2004 Renault Megane Dynamique 1.6 Sport Saloon


Charming and commendable


After a low-speed accident, but a major repair, the steering feels not the way it used to be. Apart from that, it's OK in general.

General Comments:

Very well built and equipped, also very generous in space - both in the inside and luggage compartment.

Very quiet while driving in town and on motorways as well. No particular noise intrusion.

Brake performance is superb.

Engine is smooth, but may be reluctant to move at first - just because it has an auto gearbox?

However, the interior is boringly dark with the black fabric upholstery and plastics. A decent plush with a lighter shade of beige would have suited better.

Climate control works well and it's easy to operate, sound system is pleasuring.

Exterior design is nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th July, 2004

21st Feb 2005, 06:43

I purchased my Renault Megane in Feb 2004. I find it extremely comfortable an economic on fuel, but it is far from reliable.

After 7,000km I have had to have all the electric window motors replaced.

Also after 9,000km had to replace the ignition coils. (A common problem with Renaults down through the years I was informed)

19th Apr 2005, 05:36

I have been driving a Megane Sporthatch Dynamique 1.6 for nearly 2 years now and have not had any problems. I know many who have the 1.4 model and they have had various problems. Mine has been so reliable that we have bought a 1.6 Dynamique Saloon and we have had no problems with this either, both are good cars and seem very reliable.

2000 Renault Megane RTE 1.6 16v


Very high performance that I want


The ABS system of this car became unable to operate because of the plastic engine shields.

Plastic engine shields are not reliable and they can be removed quickly if the road conditions are not fine.

"Magnetics capture device" stop operating because of my mistake and car denied to start till the part changed.

General Comments:

This car has excellent performance.

It is really quick. You can feel the affect of the torque that the engine produces.

I love the engine noise of this car, but on long journeys it can be disturbing.

Handling is good and it likes wet or rainy conditions.

However the quality of some plastic parts is poor and can create noises after a couple of 10000 km in bad road conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2004

2000 Renault Megane Coupe 1.6 16v


Engine can not set the idle point. The revolution of the engine changes very rapidly between 500 and 800. This causes interesting vibrations on the car. You feel uncomfortable while waiting in the traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

11th Apr 2001, 10:29


I have a New Renualt Megane coupe 1.6 16v. I am experiancing the vibration problem with idling.

The car has been back to the dealers 8 times. They have changed various parts on the engine.

They now tell me it is within the tolerances. Is this a fault? It must be.

I am very unhappy about this.

20th Apr 2001, 17:31

I have a red coupe sport 1998, I am experiencing vibrations and mine has been to the garage a number of times.

Also a lambda sensor was blown making fuel consumption heavy, but they replaced it and now it's brilliant on fuel.

The central locking on the boot failed and the pip on the key had to be reprogrammed.

Left electric windows, front and rear, are giving problems.

But it's a fun car to drive and I have made cosmetic changes.

20th Jan 2010, 06:48

I've had a Megane for almost 10 years now from new. The offside front electric window steel cable wore the cog after 2 years of use, so I had to remove the whole thing cos it was too expensive to replace (about $300 - new mechanism with motor). Now the window doesn't open.

I've also had vibrations when idling since I bought it, so it must be a common thing with Meganes.

Very noisy at high speeds. Very bad handling with 4 passengers and luggage.

Recently, the temperature gauge seems to be working when it feels like it. The fog lights stopped working, and it's not the fuse. One of the main beam light's connection is bad and haven't been able to fix. There's a strange noise of running water coming from behind the dash when revved.

I've had a crash and the airbags didn't deploy, however the safety belts' pyro mechanisms need changing - $700?!

2000 Renault Megane RXE 1.6 16v


This car redefines the concept of Renault


It started to run slightly hotter (not overheating though) than usual, then the dealer re-programmed the ECU to cure a malfunction on the fan operation range. This happened at 5000 kms service, now the car runs perfectly even on the hottest day.

General Comments:

- Service prices are average.

- A/C is superb.

- Ride is excellent.

- Torquey engine, being a 1.6 is very powerful.

- Fuel consumption is around 37 mpg. Excellent.

- Better construction quality than the others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2000

1999 Renault Megane RTE 1.6e


Nice car, but won't buy twice from Renault


The interior air circulation motor broke down after 1.5 years although not used much. The standard rigging of the car has been changed by the manufacturer.

General Comments:

Could be best in its class if the quality was OK. But still has the best performance and comfort in its class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

24th Jun 2001, 12:16

I have the same problem with my Renault Megane Classic RTE (Bought in Morocco in July 1999).

This car was imported from Turkey.

The guarantee period has expired 1 year ago.

What should I do?