2000 Renault Megane RTE 1.6 16v


Very high performance that I want


The ABS system of this car became unable to operate because of the plastic engine shields.

Plastic engine shields are not reliable and they can be removed quickly if the road conditions are not fine.

"Magnetics capture device" stop operating because of my mistake and car denied to start till the part changed.

General Comments:

This car has excellent performance.

It is really quick. You can feel the affect of the torque that the engine produces.

I love the engine noise of this car, but on long journeys it can be disturbing.

Handling is good and it likes wet or rainy conditions.

However the quality of some plastic parts is poor and can create noises after a couple of 10000 km in bad road conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2004

2000 Renault Megane Coupe 1.6 16v


Engine can not set the idle point. The revolution of the engine changes very rapidly between 500 and 800. This causes interesting vibrations on the car. You feel uncomfortable while waiting in the traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

11th Apr 2001, 10:29


I have a New Renualt Megane coupe 1.6 16v. I am experiancing the vibration problem with idling.

The car has been back to the dealers 8 times. They have changed various parts on the engine.

They now tell me it is within the tolerances. Is this a fault? It must be.

I am very unhappy about this.

20th Apr 2001, 17:31

I have a red coupe sport 1998, I am experiencing vibrations and mine has been to the garage a number of times.

Also a lambda sensor was blown making fuel consumption heavy, but they replaced it and now it's brilliant on fuel.

The central locking on the boot failed and the pip on the key had to be reprogrammed.

Left electric windows, front and rear, are giving problems.

But it's a fun car to drive and I have made cosmetic changes.

20th Jan 2010, 06:48

I've had a Megane for almost 10 years now from new. The offside front electric window steel cable wore the cog after 2 years of use, so I had to remove the whole thing cos it was too expensive to replace (about $300 - new mechanism with motor). Now the window doesn't open.

I've also had vibrations when idling since I bought it, so it must be a common thing with Meganes.

Very noisy at high speeds. Very bad handling with 4 passengers and luggage.

Recently, the temperature gauge seems to be working when it feels like it. The fog lights stopped working, and it's not the fuse. One of the main beam light's connection is bad and haven't been able to fix. There's a strange noise of running water coming from behind the dash when revved.

I've had a crash and the airbags didn't deploy, however the safety belts' pyro mechanisms need changing - $700?!

2000 Renault Megane RXE 1.6 16v


This car redefines the concept of Renault


It started to run slightly hotter (not overheating though) than usual, then the dealer re-programmed the ECU to cure a malfunction on the fan operation range. This happened at 5000 kms service, now the car runs perfectly even on the hottest day.

General Comments:

- Service prices are average.

- A/C is superb.

- Ride is excellent.

- Torquey engine, being a 1.6 is very powerful.

- Fuel consumption is around 37 mpg. Excellent.

- Better construction quality than the others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2000

1999 Renault Megane RTE 1.6e


Nice car, but won't buy twice from Renault


The interior air circulation motor broke down after 1.5 years although not used much. The standard rigging of the car has been changed by the manufacturer.

General Comments:

Could be best in its class if the quality was OK. But still has the best performance and comfort in its class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

24th Jun 2001, 12:16

I have the same problem with my Renault Megane Classic RTE (Bought in Morocco in July 1999).

This car was imported from Turkey.

The guarantee period has expired 1 year ago.

What should I do?