1998 Audi A4 Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 3 of 4

1998 Audi A4 1.8T

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Not a bad car, but the BMW 3 Series is more reliable

Faults:

Purchased car back in August 1998. It is beautifully made and put together, but has not been that reliable as expected from the Audi brand.

1. At 1500 miles, after leaving the car outside for 4 days, it nearly left me stranded and took 5-10 minutes to start the damn thing. NOT what I expected on a new car with 1500 miles (the cold starting problem did not resurface after this).

2. There was a suspension recall on the car after I had done 15,000 miles.

3. After 20,000 miles, after a long journey, the car would take two turns to start. NOT what I expected from this car.

4. 35,000 miles, the car would start first time most of the time, but on other occasions it would take 2-3 turns, not what I expected on a nearly new car.

General Comments:

Not a bad car. A couple of reliability surprises with the starting and the suspension.

The car does NOT handle very well around corners when compared with a BMW 3 Series.

Fit and finish of the car were first rate.

As a long term committment, I'm not sure how reliable it would be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

12th Dec 2006, 10:26

Would you at least be objective in your review!! Having to turn the engine over more than once is hardly a reliability issue when it starts!!

12th Dec 2006, 12:58

What are you talking about? This is 2006, not 1956. If a nearly-new Audi won't start with the first crank of the key something is WRONG. This is 100% a reliability issue and does not bode well for the long term durability of this vehicle. Even my 1984 318i with 220K miles started every time.

27th Feb 2007, 07:53

To the owner:

Have your ignition coil checked. I have a 1998 1.8T as well and have had problems starting on hot days. My mechanic told me that the 1st 2 cylinders of my engine were malfunctioning and this would affect my ignition coil, making it difficult to start the car.

Check out my review of a 1998 Audi A4 1.8T from the Philippines.

Kev.

1998 Audi A4 1.9TDI

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9TDI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

A great experience

Faults:

MAF Meter just given up at 130,000 miles, and a catalytic converter.

This is to be expected as they are very delicate pieces of equipment.

My experience of Audi's (I've had 3 with a combined mileage of almost 1/2 a million to date) is that they are pretty much bullet proof. However if regular and correct maintenance isn't carried out problems will arise.

General Comments:

Wonderful motorway and b-road car. The car has brilliant handling and stops on a dime. With the proper and undelayed maintenance the car will easily hit 250,000 miles before any engine work i. e injector replacement. they don't NEED to be replaced, but 250,000 miles of pumping diesel can take its toll! Saying that, the engine is very quiet for 135,000 miles. I'll certainly be getting another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2005

1998 Audi A4 1.6 petrol

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

Solid, comfortable car, but can be a little boring

Faults:

Tracking rod end @ 60,000.

Vacuum Hose cracked at 62,000.

General Comments:

Very Comfortable, Solid car. Engine pulls extremely well for a 1.6L. Interior very comfortable and very well put together, but lacks imagination. Petrol consumption is pretty low with a constant 35mpg, however some of the costs for parts etc. from dealers can be quite expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2003

1998 Audi A4 1.9 TDI

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Good looking car with great practicality

Faults:

The Heating Matrix corroded causing the heater to stop working. The Audi dealer charged over £600 to fix this.

The wheels have started to corrode recently costing £20 per wheel to repair.

The turbo doesn't always seem to work as the car accelerates, but Audi can't find a problem.

General Comments:

The car is quite slow in lower gears and the acceleration takes about 12 seconds to 60mph.

However the top end speeds are good and it drives well on motorways.

The interior is very comfortable and well laid out. I do sometimes regret not paying extra for a car with air conditioning!

The equipment is good, I've got 4 airbags, power steering, electric windows and mirrors etc.

My car is only a 90 hp, I would recommend a 110hp as it may have better acceleration although my car is reasonable.

The stereo fitted is the Audi Concert, it sounds very good and easy to use. I am about to have a CD auto changer fitted also for about £150.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2003

10th Mar 2004, 15:59

As it happens the turbo isn't "working" all the time. The period from idle to when significant boost comes on is called "turbo-lag". That's the disadvantage of a turbo over supercharging (where lag is almost nonexistent). That's why Audi can't find a problem. Because there probably isn't.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews