Bentley Continental R Reviews from UK and Ireland

1997 Bentley Continental R Mulliner 6.75 turbocharged

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 6.75 turbocharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carRolls Royce Silver Shadow II

Summary:

Best luxury car ever made. It has a heritage to match!

Faults:

My last few reports on this car have not been accepted so I will keep it nice.

Good God! Do you think I would spend this much money on a car with problems?

Nothing has happened.

General Comments:

Leather is so soft that I feel like I am damaging it sitting on it!

The wood veneer has glowing qualities that I never knew wood possessed.

I like this car because it is rare and sets itself away from the crowd. It has its own distinctive style that no other car can match, much better than my old Rolls!

The performance on this car is the best I have seen for a high performance coupe. I can cruise at 250km/h and there is still more left, and yes I have tested it on Germany's autobahns.

Then again it all comes at a price. A third world country could be supported on the fuel bill alone. Don't talk to me about the servicing costs, I feel guilty!

The fact that the numberplate on the car reads "SUPREME" says it all!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2001

14th Oct 2001, 05:45

How does a UK number plate read SUPREME? What characters are used? Just curious!

15th Oct 2001, 03:12

I am a collector of British cars and have numberplates made up accordingly. As the car is not used on the road any more the UK road registry allowed me to have numberplates reading "SUPREME" issued. The car is NOT to be driven on the road.

3rd Jul 2002, 11:41

That Number plate topic is very interesting: In 1987 on a school trip I took a picture of a stretched Mercedes 260E on Westminster Bridge with that plate. So back then, it must have been OK. Funny to see it re-appear.

More to the point, it would be interesting to hear how the suspension compares to that of the current S-class, as that seems to be a great compromise between "sporty" firmness on the Autobahn and comfortable ride over pot holes in town.

2nd Jan 2003, 00:09

I am also a lover of British cars. I have an older Jaguar that I love to drive and I do put the miles on my XJ40. My question is this-why would some one spend all the money on a Bentley and only drive it 2 or 3 thousand miles a year? Some day I would like to have a Bentley with a few miles and at least 12 years to make it more affordable. Thank you-Blake of Oklahoma.

15th Dec 2005, 22:37

Blake, you have to consider that most bentleys are purchased by people with more than one car. I read somewhere that the average RR/B buyer also has at least 3 other automobiles in their stable.

I only have 2, a 1996 Mercedes S420 that I use as a daily driver, my 1988 Corniche II, and a 1991 Ferrari Testarossa. My favorite is the corniche, but I only driver her on Wedesdays, Fridays and Saturdays when the weather is nice, and I average about 3500 miles a year.

1994 Bentley Continental R 6.75 turbo

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 6.75 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance50500 miles

Summary:

If I lost it, I would have to buy another

Faults:

Very minor leak from one of the twin pumps that power the brakes. Acording to the dealer, the engine must be lowered to fix this. Later, the engine mountings were replaced.

Very minor leak from the power steering rack. Rack replaced by the dealer (discounted part, free labour).

Slight noise from the front discs. All pads and front discs replaced.

Steering pulled to the left after hitting the curb at 60 mph. Misdiagnosed by the first dealer (adjusted tracking). Second dealer noticed and replaced near side broken rubber steering stabilizer. Fixed the problem.

General Comments:

Fantasic driving experience. 0-60mph in 6 secs in a car as big, as quiet and as smooth as this can only be highly enjoyable.

The brakes are truly excellent too - dual calipers on both front wheels and the best ABS going. You need them. The quietness is deceptive, you're often going a lot faster than you think and you have to hit the brakes very hard.

The hi fi system in the Continental R is fantastic. It seems better than the QUAD ELS63s at home. In fact I often drive the car just to listen to the music.

If you've ever wondered how much fuel these things use - don't worry about it, you're missing the point. The depreciation and service costs are far higher.

I rarely use mine - for every day driving (and parking) there are more suitable cars. However, whenever it's at the dealer (and services often take two or more days) I feel bereaved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2000

24th May 2006, 17:30

I still have this car after another 6 years! I rarely drive it. It really is not a practical car for day to day use. I have fixed all the problems with it and I would not like to part with it. Costs are high - it goes through rear tyres in well under 10,000 miles. Probably £700 a pair. Must the the 380 BHP. The Continental T (which I would like) must be worse!

The main dealers take me to the cleaners at every service. They know I know that £750 is stupid for an oil change - but they charge it nevertheless. It is simply a unique car - when you are behind the wheel there is just not another car the same. I've had BMWs and I have an S class Mercedes; it is far more practical, but the driver experience doesn't begin to compare.

26th May 2006, 17:38

I'm very interested in purchasing a 1994 Continental with 73,000 miles. It has a leak under the right front brake and some cracking paint on the right rear. Other than that, it's in very good overall condition. Anything else to look at? Thank you!!

27th May 2006, 11:23

You must get a real expert to examine and appraise a car like this. The Rolls Royce Enthusiasts club www.rrec.org.uk can provide the expert. It is well worth joining. They have a good newsletter and great facilities at the club house.

Good luck, but don't buy unless you have the money. These are not cheap cars.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 2 reviews