BMW X5 Reviews from UK and Ireland

2002 BMW X5 Sport 3.0 turbo diesel

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

This is a problem car

Faults:

My tail lights warning is constantly on the dash.

There is a clunking noise when I turn the steering.

There is a vibration through the steering when braking.

Recently my X5 will only rev to 3000rpm, and is causing a big problem as the car is automatic, so it relies on the revs to change gear. I changed the fuel filter and checked the tank for dirt, but the problem is still there, can anyone help please???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th November, 2009

20th Nov 2009, 07:36

Transmission fluid needs changing?

20th Nov 2009, 13:53

Second that notion, replace your transmission fluid. If I'm not mistaken being from North America, the 3.0L motor was placed in the X3. Regardless, if it's a 3.0, the transmission has been documented to fail. My suggestion before taking it to the dealer and get taken for a ride, take it to a specialist so they can determine what your real problem is.

21st Jan 2012, 15:49

Have you checked your gearbox oil?

2005 BMW X5 Sport 3.0 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Great motorway car. Slightly dodgy auto box means it's less good for around town

Faults:

So far nothing.

General Comments:

First thing, I have only had this car for a month or so therefore I haven't really given it much chance to break. I didn't really go looking for an X5 - I had two 5 series saloons previously that were great, but needing to transport a couple of dogs and some musical equipment regularly, I really wanted an estate. 5 series estates are like hens-teeth, whereas the X5 is reasonably common, so that's what I ended up with.

After the 5 Series the X5 feels big. It isn't that much bigger in real terms, but the seating position means you can't see any of the edges, which makes parking in Tescos interesting - hopefully I'll get used to it. Don't get one without parking sensors!

The interior is more-or-less stolen straight out of the E39 5-series. In some respects that makes it a bit dated, but on the other hand, it was one of their best interiors. The dash doesn't curve towards to driver like the saloon does, and that makes some of the more distant buttons a bit of a reach. It doesn't feel quite so driver centered either. Other than that, it's pure BMW comfort and quality. Practicality is good - good sized boot area and seats that fold flat.

Mines the 3.0d Sport - they nearly all are. It's more than fast enough, especially considering the weight. The suspension is a bit stiff and that does make the ride a bit bouncy. Despite what people say, you won't forget you are in a big 4x4, but the ride is impressive nevertheless. I've been driving around in the snow, and considering it isn't a "proper" off-road vehicle, it gets me places a 5-series saloon never would have.

If there is a disappointment it's the automatic gearbox. I've been doing some looking around on the Internet and I don't think I'm alone. It's a 6 speed self-learning job, and frankly, it's a bit stupid. The change is not as smooth as I would expect, and having 6 speeds just means that it changes a lot. Around town it results in a rather uneven ride. It can be very sluggish sometimes, particularly a junctions when you don't want it to be. When you hit the gas and nothing happens, it's very disconcerting. The reaction is to hit the gas harder and that just means that when it does change you get "slammed" out of the junction. Not good enough for an expensive BMW. I guess I'll learn to drive around it, but I shouldn't have to.

A very good car all in all, only marred by the sub-standard auto transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2009

2005 BMW X5 3.0 diesel

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4800 miles
Most recent distance9900 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Many love them and have few problems - sadly I'm not one of them

Faults:

Sunroof leaks. Water drips out of overhead console - not resolved.

Water leaking into rear RHS compartment. Trip to dealer, but not resolved.

Engine wouldn't start. Had to be flat-bedded from home on 3 occasions. First time dealer tried to say it was due to a flat battery and wanted to bill me for recharging - until the wretched thing wouldn't start when I went to collect it.

'SELFLEVEL SUSP. INACT' appears - not resolved.

'Low oil level' warning (it wasn't) 10 miles after recent £550 annual service. Still to be resolved.

Engine died with 'FUEL INJECT SYSTEM' error. Flat-bed again to dealer. Still there awaiting diagnosis after three days.

Battery went flat after about 30 minutes, with the TV on.

The recovery guy said this was common.

Dealer manages to break/lose bits out of underfloor compartment (towing eye, floor strut, jack restraint so far)

Plastic trim on passenger door broken - not resolved.

Plastic trim around shift lever cracked - not resolved.

Horrible turbo lag (maybe this is all diesels?)

General Comments:

Handles well and well appointed, but awful build quality and reliability for a £40,000+ vehicle. Just as well there's a 3-year warranty with it.

Dealer service and attitude abysmal. My first and last BMW.

Either get a good extended warranty, or sell before BMW's warranty expires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2007

21st May 2007, 13:17

Not all BMW's are unreliable and have poor build quality. I think the reason that X5s are like they are is partly because they aren't made in Germany.

28th Jul 2008, 17:25

Well, you could have done worse. You could have bought a Range Rover. Want something big and truly awful, get one!

From what I've read, get something Japanese.

18th Aug 2009, 15:52

The reason why they are bad is probably down to the fact that they are built in USA. Remember the original Mercedes ML? That was built there too and suffered no end of issues, however all factories should be trained to the same standard so its really no excuse and down to poor design. Remember the Z4 is also made in USA - infact I think its made in North Carolina!! My E39 523i SE is completely flawless and has now covered 183k miles! Not sure what to replace it with but was thinking X5 - maybe not now?

2006 BMW X5 3.0 Diesel Sport 3.0 diesel

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carBMW X5

Summary:

Still the King of Stylish 4x4s

Faults:

Digital TV keeps resetting, Bluetooth phone kit also problematic.

General Comments:

This is the second X5 that I have owned and it's a wonderful car to drive and own. I specified the car in Sterling Grey which is less common than my previous silver car- it makes the car look smaller.

The new 3.0 diesel is supposed to be more economical than the engine in the 2003 model that I owned, but there is no noticeable difference.

While the Sat Nav is a great option, you could probably do without the digital TV. It tends to flicker no matter where you are. I was going to get the signal unblocked for on the move TV, but I won't bother now.

Consider the uprated speaker system- you will notice a difference.

Overall the car is great. I'll keep it for another 2 years, but I doubt another X5 will be on the cards. Perhaps the forthcoming Z4 Coupe seeing the only passenger I ever have is the girl I'm dating at the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2006

31st Jan 2006, 15:17

Sorry to disappoint you, but there is no such thing as a stylish 4x4.

Driving an X5 says something about you, but it doesn't really relate to style. More like your attitude of sorts...

10th Feb 2006, 16:10

I purchased the X5 for many reasons- In my opinion it looks better than a Cayenne, has more space than a Range Rover Sport and as I'm only 25, a 5 series estate is not really the look I want. In terms of "attitude" it always seems to come from others- not me. It is a great car with all the options that I require. Seeing the X5 doesn't seem to match your standards, what can you suggest as an alternative?

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 4 reviews