Chevrolet Matiz Reviews from UK and Ireland

2009 Chevrolet Matiz 1.0

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance7200 miles
Previous carCitroen C4 Picasso

Summary:

Under 5k with air con and electric windows; can't go wrong

Faults:

7000 miles of trouble free motoring. I wish I could say that about my previous cars,

General Comments:

For such a cheap priced car, it's an excellent A2B car.

I am 6ft tall, and find the front seats very sturdy, and even on the motorway, I don't get backache. OK, it's not fast, but it gets there and back, and I can trust it for its reliability 100 per cent. The gearbox, steering, in fact everything about the car is just what I need, a to and from no fuss car.

Our other car, a XTR Berlingo, whilst it's a bigger car, and only 2 months old, is no better than my little Matiz. I would have had another Matiz next year, but they have stopped making them, but I will keep to Chevrolet and just hope the reliability continues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2011

2000 Chevrolet Matiz

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carSkoda Octavia

Summary:

A good small car so far

Faults:

I had noticed that the coolant is going down after driving the car for some time. I had done quite a lot of checking to see where it was leaking from, and I could not determine exactly where the problem was, then I decide to do a check on the Web and found this site.

I had just got off the phone with the Garage where I had bought the car, and they said they would need to have the car in, and based on my description of the problem, it could cost me from €500 to €900, and the car is hardly worth that much to sell.

I now know that the problem may be able to be solved by a new water cap, as a cheap option, and then move on to the next possible step, and this is because of this site.

The car is driving very well, and if I am not able to cure the problem without a huge cost, I will drive the car until it sits down on me, and scrap it for good.

General Comments:

The car ticked all the boxes in a small car, and has given good service so far.

I don't know if I would buy the same type of car again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th May, 2010

2008 Chevrolet Matiz SX 1.0

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carVolvo S80

Summary:

Cheap and what you'd expect

Faults:

It was a rental.

General Comments:

Rented this horrible little car for two weeks in July 2008. You get what you pay for, in that the price is listed below 6,000 UK pounds.

Served the purpose in getting us around, but pity those who are stuck with this car for their everyday needs.

Adequate power, better than walking.

Uncomfortable and crowded seating.

The worst gear positioning ever seen (kept missing first and grinding reverse on the way to fourth).

Speedometer not where you would expect.

Cheaply built, would not expect it to be on the roads for more than five years.

Limited storage space, way too narrow.

Looks like a Reliant Robin of the 70s with an extra wheel on the front.

Car was fine as a cheap rental, but I would recommend buying a more substantial car used. I'm used to full size cars, so some of these comments may apply to all micro cars such as this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st August, 2008

2006 Chevrolet Matiz SE 1.0

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles
Previous carDaewoo Matiz

Summary:

A great first time car. Will buy the next model up, the Kalos, in 2 years time

Faults:

Since I have owned the Chevrolet Matiz, nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

A great car for a first time driver like me.

Outstanding MPG; it says around 58MPG, but I'm able to get 69 MPG.

Very good looking.

Easy to drive and park.

Outstanding reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2008

2007 Chevrolet Matiz SE 1.0

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

I think this car is total rubbish

Faults:

Nothing went wrong on the car, as I only hired it for a week when my Felicia was having a new clutch.

I didn't like the speedo placement.

No engine temperature gauge.

The soft suspension, plus the tallish body meant taking corners on the motorway was a white knuckle ride.

You only get 1 electric mirror.

Sure it's more modern than my Felicia, and has air-con plus other goodies.

But I really really did not like this car.

I cannot justify buying this to anyone even my worst enemy, as even my sister's M reg Micra outclasses this on the road.

General Comments:

I liked thew Blaupunkt stereo and under-seat storage drawers...

And that was it.

In town it handles OK, but there's nothing else to like.

Save your money and buy a a 14 year old Micra or 10 year old Skoda Felicia.

You'd not only save a fair packet on outright purchase costs but you'd feel a lot happier and even safer as:-

1 - They handle a lot better than a Matiz

2 - Better designed inside and out

3 - Cheaper and more robust than a Matiz

I was really glad when my Skoda returned home.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd March, 2008

17th Aug 2013, 07:27

Always baffled why people who have only test driven a car, or had it forced upon them for a week's hire due to circumstances, feel that they are subsequently qualified to slag a car off!!?? Surely their judgement is clouded, and experience of the vehicle too short to make a truly valid judgement?

I value the reviews posted by people who have had a car for a sufficient length of time or driven sufficient miles in a car to sum up objectively the merits of both the vehicle and dealer back up - those are the ones which assist me in making informed buying choices.

18th Aug 2013, 07:04

To be fair, you can make your mind up about a car in a short space of time. I had the misfortune of driving a Matiz once for about an hour, and I concluded it was a poorly built, poor handling, slow piece of rubbish!

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 6 reviews