2007 Citroen C4 Reviews from UK and Ireland

2007 Citroen C4 SX 1.4 petrol

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Really love it

Faults:

The lever for the height adjustment had fallen off, but was easily put back on.

There was a knocking noise coming from the front passenger side wheel, which was sorted out by the dealer.

There is a whining noise when in high revs in any gear; mostly 2nd.

General Comments:

I really love this car.

The exterior build quality is not great. Interior quality is OK; some cheap plastics used around the radio and heating controls, but doesn't bother me.

Head room in the back isn't good if you're over 6ft, and comfort in the back isn't great either.

The car looks great from every angle.

It's well equipped. It has cruise control, speed limiter, electric sunroof, and A/C.

This is a great car if you want to be different instead of buying a boring Focus :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2012

2007 Citroen C4 SX 1.4 petrol

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 kilometres
Most recent distance48000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

It's great to look at, but sadly owning it is a different story

Faults:

Driver's height lever has fallen off.

Started to make a whining noise from the gearbox.

Build quality is terrible.

Rear suspension making a knocking noise when going over bumps.

General Comments:

Bought this car after I owned a 2001 Opel Astra for 5 years.

Bad points:

The Citroen has the looks, but reliability and build quality is terrible compared with the Astra, which wasn't made out of as much cheap plastic.

The digital display is too big, and takes up the whole dashboard.

Rear head room is very limited.

The gearbox keeps getting stuck when trying to go into 1st gear.

The engine looks like something that you would see in a lawnmower.

Good points:

The car is well equipped, has got a speed limiter, cruise control, electric sunroof, air con, the sound from the radio/CD is very good, and the comfort is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2012

2007 Citroen C4 SX 1.6

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

Have to say, if I could afford to change my car, my next choice wouldn't be a Citroen!

Faults:

I too have been bitten by the "anti pollution fault" problem. Started about 2 years ago - light would come on, car would judder, I'd pull over and turn the car off and the light would go out, sometimes for months.

Came on yesterday and the car completely lost power. Made it home in "limp" mode. Have rung my local Citroen dealer who I bought the car from, and it's booked to go in for diagnostic testing tomorrow, but worried now having read all the negative comments and experiences of other owners.

It's just one of numerous niggles I've had since owning the car - the most frustrating is the constant blowing of bulbs!! Replace one and another goes somewhere else!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th August, 2011

2007 Citroen C4 VTR+ Coupe 1.6 (110BHP)

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 (110BHP) Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16500 miles
Most recent distance16800 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Nothing yet. I will update as I have only had the car one week.

General Comments:

Alive with technology. The car is very comfortable. 250 miles covered over the weekend with an average mpg of 45.5 excellent for a 1.6 petrol.

I have owned in excess of 14 cars, and this ranks amongst the best. It reminds me of my 1995 Mazda 323F.

If the car proves to be reliable (big ask of a french car), it will be my number 1, knocking my 323F into second place.

It's not the fastest of 1.6L cars, but it's so comfortable, it makes you slow down so you can spend more time in it.

A car full of toys at a great secondhand price. I will update this post, as I intend to keep the car a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2011

26th Mar 2013, 12:38

2 years on, this car is still going strong. Now at almost 30,000 miles. Only problem has been with a sticky door handle.

2007 Citroen C4 VTS 2.0 HDi

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carCitroen C2

Summary:

Quiet, efficient, comfortable, yet sporty car

Faults:

Soon after I acquired the car, it randomly started whilst slowing for junctions. Quickly fixed through a software update. No further problems.

General Comments:

After my C2 VTS I wanted something that was roomier, had better mpg, lower emissions and better spec. I also wanted it to look nice, but still be fun to drive. Having looked at many other medium sized cars, my choice was between either an Astra 1.9CDTi Sports Hatch and the C4 VTS HDi. I chose the C4 as it was slightly cheaper, better equipped, as well built, but crucially for me had a smoother and quieter diesel. To be fair to the Astra though, the C4 did feel a fair bit slower.

The first 3000 miles of owning the C4 has seen an average mpg of 40 around town, and 60 mpg can be reached at 70 mph whilst in 6th gear. It's worth noting at this point that at 70 mph the C2 VTS was pulling 4000 revs whilst the C4 VTS is just under 2000 - it's much quieter!!!

The C4 is good to drive with light steering, good handling, although I have driven a petrol version and can confirm the diesel understeers a little more, presumably due to the heavier engine.

Performance is good; initial acceleration is what you'd except of a diesel, but above 30 mph the engine can stretch its legs better and shows excellent responsiveness as well as acceleration - it has LOTS of torque! I'm a bit of a petrol head, but even I had to admit the engine even sounds good when you put your foot down; very deep, and when warmed up, it's even pretty quiet at idle.

Inside the car is very comfortable with leather/alcantara seats, dual zone air con, 7 disc CD player, laminated side glass etc i.e. all the goodies. The driving position is excellent and can be altered to suite all comers. Visibility is good at the front, but the coupe shape limits rear visibility - I am glad parking sensors are fitted. Talking of visibility, the mirrors might look aesthetically pleasing, but are fitted too far back on the doors to be 100% useful.

The only extra my C4 has is the Citroen sport spoiler as fitted to all petrol VTS's - curiously the diesel does not get this, but in my opinion it makes all the difference.

To sum up, I am very happy with my C4. I'll be the first to admit that if fuel costs and emissions were not a concern, I'd go for the 180 bhp petrol engine. In the diesel's defence, it's only £500 more, has 138bhp and substantially more torque, and sounds much better than the older generation of engines fitted until recently. If the fuel economy of the petrol VTS is what my dealer tells me (about 25 mpg around town), then the diesel easily beats it whilst being only 1.5 seconds to 60 slower, and I'd bet above this it's quicker. Furthermore, the road tax is only £115 a year and the insurance 6 groups lower. Bit of a bargain eh!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2007

2nd Jan 2008, 08:18

Hi, original reviewer here. I have realised I missed describing properly the fault I initially experienced with the car.

Prior to the software update, the car cut out as I slowed for roundabouts and junctions. The alarming thing was that there was no warning prior to it happening, nor did any warning lights come on. The car always restarted immediately, but am glad the software update worked.

2007 Citroen C4 Sébastien Loeb HDi 110 1.6 HDi

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 HDi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Performance, economy and comfort in one!

Faults:

Slight rattle from the seat belt fixture on the drivers side.

Slight rattle from centre of the steering wheel.

General Comments:

Excellent engine, masses of torque available in all gears. Turbo is particularly powerful and can really throw you against your seat!

Have just completed a round trip from Midlands to Southern France / Spain in it. Comfort is not matched in any car I have ever driven. Nearest was a Jag X Type 2.2D, but was still nowhere near as comfortable. The Loeb model comes with leather and suede sports seats and interior - a pleasure to drive.

Interestingly, on the same trip we managed 970 miles from one tank of diesel (40 euro!!).

Equipment is vast as you may well imagine in a Citroen, exemplified by the fact that there are virtually no options to purchase! The handy speed limiter is excellent for those of us who happen to creep faster and faster on the motorway. I have mine set at 80mph at all times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2007

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 6 reviews