Citroen Dyane Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 2 of 2

1979 Citroen Dyane 6 602cc

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 602cc Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

Dyane's for ever!

Faults:

The car was very reliable for the period I had it on the road (1989 - 1996) I had to change the clutch once (undo 8 bolts and 2 people pull the engine out - no other lifting gear needed).

Since 1996 it has been in a garage, as I had bought another car (Currently a Citroen Xara) for a big commute that I do each day. I am currently working to get it back on the road again. It has some holes ion the body work, but the chasse is in fine form. The engine runs, but there is a nasty noise from the drive shaft that will require attention.

General Comments:

Have I really had this car 15 years? good grief! It was my first car, bought before I learnt to drive, and I won't be parted from it! Fortunately my wife fell in love with it as well as me.

My 2.0 HDi diesel Xara has 3 times the power of the Dyane, but not 3 times the fun or satisfaction! I must get on with the battle against tin worm and get it back on the road soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2004

28th Jun 2005, 12:51

I couldn`t agree more with you (Dyane forever). My father has owned several Dyanes` for the past 25 years, and in my opinion Dyane is one of the best cars ever made. So simple, yet so special.

15th Jun 2006, 15:05

My mom owns a 1980 Portuguese made Dyane 6. In it I learnt to drive, did my first driving vacations at the age of 18, drove it to University during my studies, at 24 I drove it from Portugal to Poland and back, crossing Spain, France, Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Czech Republic, at 25 I drove it to work, gave it a nice break at 26 and at 30 again I drove it to work in Algarve, 700 kms from my home. It just goes and goes. It's comfortable, reliable, economic, and FUN!!!

1982 Citroen Dyane 6 Cote d'Azur 602cc petrol

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 602cc petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired18635 miles
Most recent distance132435 miles
Previous carCitroen Dyane

Summary:

Part of my life for a third of a century

Faults:

Apart from normal service items such as oil filters, plugs, points, wiper blades, tyres and the like, the following ar the major items needed:

The car has needed two new roofs in the time I have owned it.

A second-hand engine was fitted in 1994 after I "cooked" the original by driving on a motorway with the grille muff on. (Not the car's fault!)

A second-hand speedometer was fitted in 1997.

In 1998 a new alternator was fitted, also a refurbished tailgate.

In 1999 a new galvanised chassis was fitted.

In 2000 a second hand gearbox replaced the original and the clutch was replaced at the same time. A new ignition switch unit was also needed in this year.

Finally, in 2001 a replacement wiper motor was needed - second hand of course. Also a new accelerator cable.

General Comments:

I have owned Dyanes continuously since 1969 as my everyday car. This is one of the last sold in the UK. It is still as much fun to drive as the first was over 30 years ago.

The cars (four in all, all bought new except the current one) have been extraordinarily reliable and have taken me and some very heavy loads all over Europe and the UK.

Dyanes were very rare in 1969 - now they are very rare again! I wonder how long it is possible to go on using it as an everyday car - not for lack or performance or inability to cope with modern traffic, but in doing battle with the ever-present tinworm.

Cheap motoring? This car has cost under 17p per mile to run over ten years, and that is including ALL fuel, servicing, repairs, maintenance, insurance etc. It will still do 80mph with the wind behind it and stiil returns over 40mpg, driven hard.

Yes, I am an enthusiast!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2002

28th Sep 2006, 17:22

Hello previous comment writer,

I found your comment while searching the internet for information on the car I have recently bought. I would like to hear from you, if there is any chance you of you picking up this reply so much time after having written. I am curious to know why you were interested in the model of Dyane you mentioned. If you or anyone else is able to provide any information on the Cote d'Azur model of Citroen Dyane, I would be very grateful if you could add it here.

This is my first Dyane, and needs some work, but I look forward to getting her back into fully functioning and good-looking condition. To enjoy!

12th Jul 2009, 07:21

Hello to all you citron enthusiasts. I have recently acquired an Orange 1980 Citron Dyane. It has been well looked after by its previous owner. its in running order even after been in a lock up for 11 years. I would like for it to go to a good loving home as I do not have the time or space to keep it. If you are interested please contact me nanornanor@gmail.com

Both the car and I are in Dublin and the car is complete with the original owners manual. I look forward to hearing from you.

3rd Sep 2010, 04:38

Hello 'Dyane' owners, I have just bought a 1980 (30 years old, two days ago), and I need to get the door locks for the front doors with the keys... Anybody out there who can help me??

Much appreciated. Anne.

3rd Sep 2010, 06:30

Join 2CVGB for £25 and post on there, or go to a local meeting. If desperate to fit the locks ASAP, try ebay.

Ace club, worth making the effort to go to a club meeting - or even the French National Meeting at Sagres in 2011...!

Enjoy!

1979 Citroen Dyane 0.6

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles

Summary:

Bags of character, but a rare sight nowadays

Faults:

Mechanically nothing major - just the usual bits like battery and new king pins when I bought the car.

Not too slow, but the rust makes the car that little bit quicker.

Latest problem - skidding on snow straight into a tree during the winter. Hefty damage to chassis, but nothing that can't be fixed with a credit card and a hammer.

General Comments:

Fantastic car, looks better than your common as muck 2CV!

Good fuel economy too with 50mpg being a realistic average if you are careful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2001

1982 Citroen Dyane Weekend 0.6

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 0.6 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carCitroen 2CV

Summary:

The most fun for the least money!!

Faults:

Nothing really until the rust fairy won a long battle. The original engine was changed (120,000 miles) as oil was leaking out from everywhere. That engine still pulled me and my mates to Blackpool and back in one night from Birmingham!

General Comments:

I did 12,000 miles on an already well-used car with absolutely no problems. Not bad for £365! These little Citroens are fantastic! I now own a van which I intend to restore and am a member of the 2CV club of Great Britain, working to preserve the cars that are left.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2000

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews