2000 Citroen Synergie SX 2.0 HDi

Summary:

Some niggles, but so far so good

Faults:

Drivers door electric winder mechanism had to be replaced.

Sliding door windows did not always open or locks release easy repair tightened door adjuster.

General Comments:

Family love it, sliding doors great, climate control bit fiddly in winter conditions OK when warm,35+ mpg, no cup holders in the front!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2005

1998 Citroen Synergie SX 1.9 turbo diesel

Summary:

A bit of a dog

Faults:

Central locking faulty.

Digital instrument panel works occasionally.

Seat belts not retracting correctly.

Interior light switch not working.

Retractable mirrors not working.

General Comments:

As comfortable a car as this is, I believe I could have got a lot better with the money spent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th March, 2004

1999 Citroen Synergie SX 1.9 td

Summary:

Terrific

Faults:

Diagnostic lamp kept coming on at 90000 miles - reset - all OK.

General Comments:

This car is by far the most reliable I have owned. I believe the car has now covered close to 160,000 miles without a single problem apart from where the diagnostic lamp kept illuminating.

Fantastically reliable and comfortable family car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2003

1998 Citroen Synergie SX 1.9 turbo diesel

Summary:

A good MPV when bought 2nd hand

Faults:

Remote locking failed

Faulty water temp warning light - cured when I had a tow bar fitted! Pass on the explanation of that one.

Air con digital readout fails temporarily - the jolt when reversing cures it.

Outside temperature digital readout fails - quick flick of the dial sets it going.

General Comments:

A very comfortable practical car, but not the quickest thing on wheels.

Economical especially when buying diesel in France - we have had 3 ski trips with it so far without a hitch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2002

1998 Citroen Synergie SX 1.9 turbo diesel

Summary:

A superb family holdall

Faults:

Locking on rear door stopped working - traced to a dirty contact on the door itself.

General Comments:

A superb car - comfortable, reliable - okay it drives a bit like a van - but the average driver isn't going to care about that!!

Performance is impressive for a Diesel -the new HDi is even better.

It only does 32ish to the gallon - I hate to think what the petrol version does.

Sliding rear doors are a huge benefit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

3rd Mar 2005, 06:20

The petrol version averages 30 mpg.I'm surprised your diesel only does 32 mpg!

1st Jul 2005, 05:26

My diesel consumption drops to 32mpg town driving in winter, but rises to 36 in the summer when traffic is less congested.

Driving in France I achieved 45 mpg with 5 people on board and all our holiday luggage.

My main outstanding problems is with the electronic closing of big sun roof. It needs the assistance of a strong tall man to encourage it to close properly.

24th Aug 2005, 12:11

With a sibling 806 HDI I return 39 mpg (6 l/100km) or 36 mpg on motorway, with a light foot.

23rd Sep 2005, 09:37

My 2ltr HDi averages around 40mpg bit more on a run if I stay below 75mph.Can't cure sliding door that will not unlock.

1st Oct 2007, 16:05

Regarding the sticking sliding door - I have the same problem in the winter. Turns out it is the rubber seal around the door becomes solid in the cold and sticks to the metal on the door. Solution - WD40 around the rubber seals every now and again. Works every time.

Very happy with this car - been very reliable - have the 2.0 HDi. Achieve nearly 40mpg with mixed driving (town / motorway). Love the versatility - use as car / minibus (7 seats) / van for carrying large loads. Only gripe - poor driving position. Have had to buy a BackFriend to boost me up in the seat to get the correct driving position.

1996 Citroen Synergie LX 1.9 turbo diesel

Summary:

Most practical MPV on the market

Faults:

Crack in the tailgate appeared within the first year, very common problem.

No problems with engine at all until 90,000, clutch cable snapped, but the clutch never felt right, from new it used to snatch in traffic, very embarrassing! Replacement cable is fine.

At 110,000 the throttle cable snapped.

At 120,000 the cylinder head cracked, this

I have on good authority is a design fault & is a common problem!

General Comments:

The 'Cindy' has now covered 168,000 miles, heavily loaded & has just retired as my company has just supplied me with a Picasso. So I've purchased the Cindy for the family car! It's not a pretty MPV, there are far more attractive ones on the road, but if you are looking for a practical robust family all purpose vehicle look no further. I would hasten to add that the company I work for have some 60 'Cindy's' at present. During the trial period before purchasing various MPV were tested from differing manufacturers & the 'Cindy' was found as being the most practical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2001

14th Aug 2003, 02:06

Nice review well written - thanks.

The Synergie has the same engine as many PSA and other vehicles. I have two Xantias (I'm going to buy a Synergie) which have covered nearly 350k miles between them.

The problem with cylinder head cracks isn't one I've heard of before - you can get oil leaks due to head gasket problems, easy to fix.

We stripped the head at 150k and found no wear whatsoever anywhere in the engine (including crank bearings). That car is approaching 200k, does 55 mpg and pulls like a train.

Seems a shame to chop it in, but I need a van for work - hence the switch to Synergie. Nice to hear they too are happy to go for 200k miles!

Dealers being what they are I expect I'll get offered nothing for my car in exchange - maybe I should break it and store the bits (all the electrics & suspension work A1).

1999 Citroen Synergie SX 2.0i 16v

Summary:

This is a good all round value for money MPV

Faults:

No major faults, just general wear and tear, brakes etc.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable and the SX version has all the equipment you require. Compared to the Peugeot version the Citroen is much better value for money with lots more extras.

The pulling power of the 2.0i is more than adequate, although not as quick as I would have preferred, but the comfort more than makes up for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2001

1996 Citroen Synergie LX 2.2 turbo diesel

Summary:

A big disappointment

Faults:

Anything that could have gone wrong, mostly engine trouble.

General Comments:

Most comfortable car we ever had, but as for performance and reliability I certainly could not recommend the Citroen Synergie.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th February, 2001

14th Dec 2002, 17:46

A 2.2 TD? Surely the only TD options available from Citroen at that time were the 1.9 and 2.1 (the 2.1 was never used in the PSA MPV range)

1999 Citroen Synergie Sax 2.0 injection

Faults:

None

General Comments:

This is a well equipped people carrier. Ideal for carrying both families and large loads. It is comfortable to drive and provides good allround visibility when parking etc. It does have a lot of electrics which is quite worrying, but fingers crossed..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th February, 2000

14th May 2003, 07:27

I have owned a Synergie for a couple of years and agree that it is a nice vehicle.

It is however a bit plasticy which means things break fairly easily (such as the immobiliser pad)

It also has a blind spot for the unwary... they have a wide front support strut which can obstruct your view to the side angle.

Spares are not cheap...