1996 Citroen XM Reviews from UK and Ireland

1996 Citroen XM vsx estate 2.5 t/d

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 t/d Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

A superb under rated car, but buy the best you can afford

Faults:

The fuel heater was faulty causing air to get into the fuel lines and difficult starting. This was not a big problem as it is a fault that I have had in the past and I knew what to do to fix it. In the wrong garage hands this could be a different story!

All spheres have been changed and there are 9 of them, but not expensive at an indepenant specialist.

General Comments:

Viewed by many people as an "odd ball" it is actually very hard to find anything that will equal it as a mile eating economical load swallowing cruiser. It is not a car to expect that after one hour you will be at one with, yes it is too different to be like any other, make a snap judgment and you will miss the point. The 2.5 T/D is quick enough, but if you try driving to the redline in each gear you will have missed out on the superb torque delivered so strongly in the higher gears. In fact on hilly A roads it will leave so-called higher performance large cars behind as the handling and power delivery really come into their own (as you will drive permanently in fith gear).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2006

3rd Jan 2013, 06:31

I am having the same problem with difficult starting due to air in the fuel lines. How did you manage to fix the fuel heater?

1996 Citroen XM VSX Estate 2.1 TD

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.1 TD Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired244000 miles
Most recent distance280000 miles
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

Cheap and economical luxury

Faults:

Other than normal wear and tear only the crankshaft pulley which disintegrated at about 260,000 miles.

General Comments:

I have previously owned 2 of the earlier Mk1 versions of this car, both of which proved unreliable and were only tolerated because of their superb ride comfort and general refinement.

It is a pity that the earlier model gained such a bad reputation because the Mk2 version is a whole new ball game as far as reliability is concerned, but very few were sold because of the Mk1's bad press.

For a combination of space, comfort, ride, fuel economy and general refinement, there is no other used car in it's class for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2003

7th Feb 2005, 10:15

I entirely agree with the comments made above about the quality of these motors. My current everyday car is a '95 model 2.1 TD Estate with Auto 'box. My previous '95 model SX saloon was the same, but with less toys!

The quality of the Series 1 ('89-'93) models was ropey for about a year, but my first XM, a '92 SD-Turbo was a fantastic vehicle - quirky interior and larger turbo are sadly missed in the Series 2 cars.

1996 Citroen XM VSX Turbo 2.0 8v

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 8v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

Superb and shamefully ignored

Faults:

Small metal cable for the passenger window snapped. Pence to replace.

General Comments:

This is my fourth XM. Why? Primarily, as I happen to think they are the most avante garde, beautifully designed, unusual, fast and smooth second hand executive car available to sensible people who don't like seeing many thousands of pounds disappearing in depreciation after three years. And I DO mean BMWs and Mercedes. (Come on, who are they kidding? I used to wish for an early 1990s 750s: a few hundred quid now; that's no more than a V^ XM from the same period!)

An excellent car. Please don't buy one; there's more for us, then.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2003

19th Feb 2009, 13:32

Lots of negatives from people on the XM. They are quirky, but I'm on my second one, and once you get to know the quirks, you won't find a better car!

1996 Citroen XM vsx 2.1td

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.1td Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

A spectacular bargain, but hard to find

Faults:

External temp gauge doesn't work - they never do!

A.B.S. warning light comes on - bleeding system & cleaning all electrical connectors cures this.

Alarm sounds for no reason - caused by worn out batteries in alarm unit.

Sunroof won't open - lubricate drive belt with wd40 (through open roof, undo cover)

General Comments:

For a diesel car of this size it performs and handles to beat any other.

The fuel economy is unbeatable at 40 m.p.g. plus.

There is more room & comfort inside than any other car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th April, 2002

23rd Dec 2004, 11:38

What type of batteries are in your alarm key fob? The alarm in my newly purchased XM has a perimeter alarm that is not working correctly. The siren has been muted, but the lights still flash for 30 seconds when you open the doors, replacing the key fob batteries with type 3025 batteries as stated in the handbook doesn't work, the previous batteries were a different type, but also didn't work.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 4 reviews