Daewoo Tacuma Reviews from UK and Ireland

2001 Daewoo Tacuma SX 1.6

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Good MPV body, engine performance not great

Faults:

Cam sensor intermittent fault had to be replaced.

Cam roller found to be split during routine belt replacement (earlier than recommended) This could have turned into a serious fault, £800 plus, if not discovered according to a mechanic.

R/OS electric window not working when purchased from used car dealer.

Worn bush on the front suspension, causing a clunk.

General Comments:

Space and extras (heated mirrors, multi-speed intermittent wipers, F/R fogs) etc.

Seat height and visibility good.

Looks good (IMHO)

Engine is a Vauxhall derivative and does not perform, very sluggish from junctions lights etc. maybe 1.6 too small for this weight.

Tax is high, but insurance is reasonable.

Fuel consumption neither good or excessive. I tend to make lots of short journeys.

At idle the engine is very quiet, but at speed it gets noisy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2009

2004 Daewoo Tacuma CDX 2.0 petrol

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29500 miles
Previous carDaewoo Tacuma

Summary:

Good value, cheap, reliable family motor

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong since I've had it, although the previous owner had a new ECU fitted under warranty.

Door plastics scuff and mark easily.

General Comments:

Good visibility. seats nice and high up. Loads of flexibility in seating arrangements.

Good acceleration for a MPV, but it's a load lugger not a sports car, so handles as such.

Catastrophic early depreciation make it a good used buy.

Fuel emissions way too high. The car tax band will rocket in 2010. Daewoo / Chevrolet need to get the emissions down. No point in making value for money cars if they're too expensive to run every day.

I estimate it will cost me over £400 for a year. Will get rid of it before that happens. These cars will plummet in value after this.

Fuel economy not good. Not getting 30mpg even driving steady on a run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2008

2000 Daewoo Tacuma CDX 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30500 miles
Previous carFiat Brava

Summary:

Comfortable cheap motoring for 3 years

Faults:

The Electronic Control Unit and other electrics failed at 22,000 miles and replacements had to be shipped from Korea. I was without the car for 3 months.

General Comments:

This car is probably the most useful and comfortable car I have owned. It is not built for speed, but it is practical and comfortable and I have been unable to find anything in the same price bracket to match it. Even after suffering major faults, which were all repaired free, I shall probably buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2004

2001 Daewoo Tacuma CDX 2.0

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance9825 miles
Previous carDaewoo Nexia

Summary:

Excellent all round vehicle, and we would buy another one

Faults:

Soon after the car was delivered, we noticed that on first use on a cold morning, the indicators would not work. If the hazard lights were operated this corrected the fault. The cause was traced to a faulty relay which was supplied with the factory fitted tow bar. Having been changed, no further problems.

At approx 6000 miles a slight steering wheel wobble on braking, appears some Tacumas suffered this problem caused by a faulty batch of brake discs. Local dealer changed the front discs and pads immediately, and we have had had no further problems.

General Comments:

By far, this is the best vehicle we have owned and ideally suited to family use. Impressed with the comfort and all round vision.

Design of storage drawers and under floor compartments is very good and makes good use of the space.

Rear electrical jack plug and additional mobile phone sockets are useful.

Being able turn the front passenger seat around and the sliding centre seat doubling as a table is a bonus.

Looking forward to a diesel version.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

31st Jul 2004, 13:52

I would like to say that I have just bought a Tacuma today, and when I took it for a test drive I found it to be one of the best cars that I had ever driven. And the reason for me looking on this web sit is not only to hear other peoples views, but to find out other information.

So I would like to thank every one for their contribution and say well done to all.

2001 Daewoo Tacuma CDX 2.0 16v

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance7850 miles
Previous carDaewoo Lanos

Summary:

A well packaged family car (well done Daewoo!!)

Faults:

Dashboard has had rattle on and off for 6000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the company's best effort to date. The car is well designed, screwed together well and very reliable. The car handles very well and the 2.0 engine does a decent job of pushing it along.

The gear-change is light and easy to use, although the suspension is a little on the hard side, it helps keep any body roll in check.

The only major complaint I have is the quality of the interior plastics!!

And the problem with my dashboard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

26th Apr 2004, 10:20

I am facing the same problem. My Dash board got fully damage.

21st May 2005, 17:59

I also have a rattle in Dash and it has cracked replaced once in 2003 now cracked again.

10th Feb 2007, 19:45

I have a 2001 Tacuma and I also have many cracks starting in my dash, but I was not sure where to get replacement part. After reading other comments I might not bother. A dash mat might be a cheaper option..

13th Aug 2007, 00:04

I've just bought a 2000 model Tacuma 4th hand and while it appears in really good condition I was shocked to find a big crack in the dash! By the sounds of it it's typical of the Tacuma which is almost a relief because I was starting to worry that it'd been in some kind of accident.

Thanks.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews