2002 Fiat Multipla Reviews from UK and Ireland

2002 Fiat Multipla JTD 1.9 turbo diesel

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Faults:

The engine management light peeped on, but we drove to our destination carefully with just a small loss of power. The garage I have always used has changed the air flow thingy, and although the light has gone off, it comes on under heavy acceleration, but with no loss of power. He has spoken to a Fiat main deal as he needs to put it on a machine, which he has not got, and the man has started making noises about "the turbo may be at fault". There are no other turbo failure symptoms such as smoke, total loss of power, don't forget the smoke..

I love this car; it has a few faults, but nothing I can't live with, any suggestions please?

General Comments:

We love this car, even with its little foibles.

It's quick.

It's economical.

The kids love it too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2009

2002 Fiat Multipla JTD ,SX 1.9 TD

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 TD Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance115000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Reliable family car

Faults:

Replaced clutch at 80,000

Various tie-rod and roll cage linkage replaced mostly due to road conditions.

General Comments:

Not the fastest people carrier that you can buy, but that's not really to reason you buy one.

For a car that's designed to carry six people from A to B in reasonable comfort it does its job very well.

Odd styling may put people off, but I would suggest driving one before you dismiss it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2007

2002 Fiat Multipla

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

Ugly, but reliable.

Faults:

The fan was not working when I bought the car resulting in overheating, wishbones at the front needed replacing.

General Comments:

I drove from UK to poland and returned, I was wary about going as I didn't think it would make it. However... With two children, a husband and a shed load of luggage I found the whole trip fantastic, thanks to the comfortable ugly, but faithful multipla.

Plenty of room, comfortable, reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2006

2002 Fiat Multipla ELX 1.9JTD

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9JTD Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30500 miles
Most recent distance31500 miles
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

It's a practical, comfortable to drive, easy to park, fun looking, fairly fuel economical family ca

Faults:

X Reg bought last week in Dec 2002 from PIPERS of MAIDSTONE, delivered 1st week Jan 2003. Was a close call between Multipla and Vauxhall Zafira.

1. Leaking rear sun-roof. (No defect found, possibly not shut properly during pre-delivery checks).

2. Cracked boot sill - replaced.

3. Dented drivers door very small - dealer trying their best to ignore.

4.Passenger front door courtesy light intermittent, when you open door. Still intermittent so difficult to identify fault to dealer.

Faults 2- 4 spotted on fore-court and an extra week given to resolve these issues. Not done by dealer - warranting second trip to dealer.

Two weeks after delivery:

5. Cd changer jammed dealer claims warranty is void because I used a back-up copy CD. Solicitors are being contacted.

6.Engine Management faulty warning light on. Fixed.

7.Throttle cable jammed occasionally. This was apparently related to engine management as well as faulty cable.

8.ABS fault light on. Related to nos 6. Fixed.

9. No escalation procedure in dealership. Management don't want to know when you have a problem.

General Comments:

You would have thought that with all these mishaps, I would be put off. No.

Seating wacky, but practical. Both children can seat in front and mum stretches out along the length of back seat.

Weekly shopping fits comfortably in boot which is deceptive in size.

Took out all seats and able to honor long standing commitment to clear our garage.

Six and a half hour trip to Cornwall was ultimate test. Comfortable - even the children didn't mind. Chaos on M25 when leaving resulting in night driving. It wasn't that bad. I particularly like the high drive height and all round visibility.

When she goes she goes, and took the hills and dips in her stride. Overtaking not as sharp as a petrol engine. Very low ratio in gear one only good for 2 seconds after starting off.

At Today's diesel price of 78p /liter, I seem to spend about £40.00 every 300 miles of local driving - school runs, work local, shopping etc. Work out the math.

BUG BEARS.

1. Remote electric window controls for driver and passenger side windows only. Cannot control rear windows from driver side. How many times do you tell the children to wind up fully?

2. Back seat headrests means poor visibility through rear window.

3. Rear window wiper set to one speed only. Cannot do intermittent wipe like you can with front wipers.

4. Only one cup holder in the front!! It's molded into the dash board so can't take extra large drinks.

5. Front seat belts do not always spring back when you release. You know that horrible feeling when you have jammed the buckle against the frame when shutting / slamming the door.

Some one tell FIAT to bring out a long wheel base model as the boot space could be a bit better, and pls, pls an automatic model or at least fit cruise control. Would I buy a newer model later on?. I don't know, cos I have really been put off by the dealership. From what I have read, it seems to be a common problem with FIAT dealerships.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th March, 2003

17th Sep 2004, 09:43

I have very similar views to the reviewer above. Multipla bought new in July 2002. The first two years had excellent support from my local dealer, although they had trouble narrowing down and fixing some of the electrical faults in the engine management system and ABS braking system. No cure for water in diesel filter on startup. I worked this out myself. If you jump in and start up immediately without letting it go through its pre-checks, it displays the error, even though there is no problem with the diesel fuel filter. Software glitch?

Problems with dealer now! The third year of warranty is dealer supported not FIAT. A leaking sun-roof is not covered by warranty! Surprise, surprise, I am out of the 2 year FIAT warranty period. Looks like glass is not bedding down on sealing rubbers properly. This gives us buckets of water out of the rear inspection cover for the sun-roof motor. Kids love avoiding the waterfall when we drive off! Any adjustment available I wonder?

Broken plastic seat trim where the seat belt has not retracted and my son has made sure the door was closed properly!

Excellent run-about as well as long distance cruiser. I enjoy driving it, my wife loves it and the kids are ecstatic about it. An excellent design that is let down by a mediocre car company. Buy another one? Yes, even though everything about FIAT and its build and customer service says do not!!!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews