2002 Fiat Stilo Reviews from UK and Ireland

2002 Fiat Stilo Active 1.2 petrol

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles

Summary:

Give me another

Faults:

Car is serviced as per manufacturer schedule and not always by the dealer, and apart from usual consumables, not a lot has gone wrong with the car. I would definitely have another, but I would be reluctant to let go off this car, it just goes and goes.

The only niggle is the airbag failure light comes on now and again, and it is a fault on the sensor and nothing to do with a failure of the airbag system itself.

General Comments:

With the car being only 1242cc, it is not blistering, but is quite adequate for what I use it for. Work and back, doing the shopping, carrying the family, and it is large enough for the drum kit, which is a six piece with all the hardware, and is still able enough to carry four people, or even five at a push.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2009

2002 Fiat Stilo Dynamic 1.6 16v

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carFiat Seicento

Summary:

Don't knock it, it's a much better car than it is made out to be!

Faults:

Slight leaking from the gearbox.

General Comments:

I bought this car for my girlfriend, and it is extremely comfortable and performs really well.

It has been nothing but reliable, none of the usual problems that are reported regarding airbags, warning lights, battery, coil pack or ECU.

It is well equipped and sensibly laid out inside; everything from the handy driver's arm rest to the roof mounted interior light controls, the buttons for which are even lit up when the lights are on. The last time I saw this was on my Audi A8. Lexus don't even do this!

The materials used for the dash, seats and door panels are wearing very well, and still look like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2009

2002 Fiat Stilo Dynamic 1.8 petrol

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

I love it... I hate it

Faults:

ASR and ESP failure comes up when I brake.

Faulty fog light bulb connector.

Airbag warning, which has gone!

Air-con has not worked since I got it.

General Comments:

I want to like this car, but it's getting difficult.

I have the 5 door, it's so big inside, and compared with my Fiesta is extremely comfortable.

I have the 1.8 litre petrol; it's nicely quick, and economical, I managed to get 495 miles from one tank!

It has so much equipment, its great parking sensors, on board computer, air conditioned glove box. The music system is excellent.

I am happy I did not buy a Focus/Astra, as my Stilo offers so much more. It's just a shame it's not reliable.

And my dealer is appalling.

Although it has faults, I would buy another Fiat! Maybe the new Bravo!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2008

14th Aug 2008, 12:00

You have hit the nail on the head. I have had a few Fiats-they have a lot of positives, but you need to get them cheap to reflect the numerous problems you will encounter.

2002 Fiat Stilo Abarth 2.4

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles

Faults:

The oil light comes on all the time. The engine oil has been grained by the garage, and the problem is still there?

Been to the garage 3 times; still not fixed, and the garage have charged me every time..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2008

2nd Jun 2008, 09:01

Change the oil pressure switch.

2002 Fiat Stilo

Year of manufacture2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Not bad

Faults:

Coils had to be replaced.

Front suspenison had to be modified.

Warning lights for the air bags had to be reset.

Since the suspension has been modified, the springs have snapped. Has anyone else had this problem?

General Comments:

The car has had a few faults, but is a good car in general

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th June, 2007

2002 Fiat Stilo JTD 1.9 turbo diesel

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

A great value and underrated car

General Comments:

A great car all round really.

3 door model a good looking car especially in dark metallic colours.

1.9 JTD 115bhp engine very responsive & economical.

Useful levels of equipment & comfort. Air conditioned glove box especially useful on journeys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2006

2002 Fiat Stilo Dynamic 1.8

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles

Summary:

Swift, Comfortable and very affordable!

Faults:

'Airbag failure - switch off engine' - but soon rectified by sticking my hand under the seat and playing with the wires - let's see how long it lasts especially with college mates in and out of the rear seats!

General Comments:

I own a blue Stilo 3dr Dynamic and I think it looks fantastic!

Performance is swift, not excitingly fast, but quick enough for a 17-year old I suppose!

Ride comfort is excellent at any speed.

Road noise is reasonably well suppressed although noise from the wide tires are noticeable on some road surfaces.

Seats are very supportive and pretty comfortable - got a bit of back ache on a 90 minute trip, but realised I wasn't sat square into the seat.

Fuel consumption is excellent - costs less than £15 a week for the daily 20 mile round trip to college and various other errands - which includes a brief 60+ MPH country road blast.

Cabin quality is fine - the main dashboard material is particulary nice, but the radio and door control plastics are a bit second rate. The rear light and passenger air bag switch have unclipped themselves and have no willingness to go back in!

The boot is plenty big enough for what I need it for and includes a ski hatch in the rear seats which will certainly be ideal when the winter season begins! :D.

The standard radio/CD system is fantastic - sounds twice as good when the engine isn't on for some reason.

Overall I'm very very pleased with the Stilo - I bought it for a pretty good price and for the money it's far superior inside and out to the Focus and Astra!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th March, 2006

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 21 reviews