2003 Fiat Stilo Multiwagon 1.9 JTD turbo diesel

Summary:

Decent car at a good price

Faults:

Broken front suspension springs after 100,000 miles.

Air conditioning and heating system after 120,000 miles.

Loose/rattling roll bar joint after 90,000 miles.

Intermittent dashboard electrics failure after 120,000 miles.

Fault with engine management computer (don't know exact name of component), leading to loss of power after 110,000 miles - cheap to fix.

General Comments:

I have had this car from new, initially on lease. It has been pretty reliable. Things have gone wrong on it, but you have to expect that over 134,000 miles.

It runs very well, has never failed to start, and generally has been very good for the money it cost.

The worst problems have been electrical, some of which are prohibitively expensive to fix. For example, the heating/air conditioning system no longer works, and would cost around £1500 to replace. I'm not particularly bothered, and certainly don't want to spend that much money; just wear a hat when it gets cold!

Inside is very comfortable, with lots of (adjustable) room in front and back.

This car does eat tires though - I've found that putting cheap tyres on is a false economy. Invest at least in the mid-range priced ones, they'll last a lot longer.

I'm sure there are more reliable, better built cars in this class, but you'll have to pay a lot more for them. This one has done really well, over 134,000 miles so far, and I'm hoping it'll carry on for a while yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2012

2003 Fiat Stilo Dynamic 1.6 16v

Summary:

An underestimated gem of a car!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car since I bought it 2nd hand almost 10 months ago. Not a thing. Nada. Zip. Nil.

General Comments:

It's been a dream to own and drive - reliable, good looking, very responsive, smooth ride, comfortable to be in after a long drive, and economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2008

2003 Fiat Stilo Dynamic Multiwagon 1.9 JTD turbo diesel

Summary:

I am a bit neutral on Fiats; don't know if I would buy another one

Faults:

I first bought this car in March 2003, and literally 2 days later the piece of plastic on the front of the passenger side roof rail broke off. The clip on the car had broken, requiring a whole new rail, which was luckily done under the warranty.

The tyre's wore excessively; a new front set every 10-15000 miles, which being 16 inch aren't cheap.

In the three years we had it, the turbo on car went twice, and we also had about 4 clutches put in, and about 2 gearboxes; one went on a dual carriage way with no drive. We also had to have a flywheel put in for some reason, and I think we had to have a cam belt put in.

The radio wasn't very good quality, and when we first got it the LCD display on the climate control system bled quite often. The car would stall, and on the computer it would say alternator fail.

General Comments:

The fuel was pretty good at 45-50 miles per gallon, and the car pulled quite well. Also the car accelerated quite well, and the engine is now being used by Vauxhall; this means it's good reliable engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2007

18th Dec 2007, 13:30

Sounds like your car was rubbish mate!

6th Oct 2011, 04:08

You were lucky. I had a nasty plastic clip on the roof lining of my 500 break, (probably due to the very jiggly ride), and Fiat refused to honour their warranty.

Be very of buying a Fiat, their customer service is rubbish.

2003 Fiat Stilo 3 door Active 1.2 16v

Summary:

A very nice car which I would recommend

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I like the design of the car. Nice lines and rear light cluster.

Really nice interior. Feels quite luxurious. On board computer supplies a host of information a lot of which, if I'm honest, I would seldom use. Loads of storage spaces and rear interior roof light.

1.2 engine is a little underpowered in acceleration, but will still easily top 100 mph - apparently!

No problems so far with reliability. Only had the car a short time so fingers cross.

Economical and cheap on insurance and tax (due to low emissions etc).

Good driving position. Can move steering wheel either towards or away from you as well as up or down.

Visibility not so good when reversing. Rear side panels seem to block out quite a bit.

Great sound system. Fiat really do seem to have mastered this feature.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2007