Fiat Ulysse Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 2 of 2

2004 Fiat Ulysse 2.0 JTD turbo diesel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 JTD turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Reliable and under-rated

Faults:

Drivers seat wearing.

General Comments:

Cheaper than a C8 or 807 for the same car.

Under-rated and overall very good, except the fuel economy could be better.

Surprisingly reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2008

2004 Fiat Ulysse Dynamic 2.0JTD

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0JTD Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carFiat Ulysse

Summary:

Average

Faults:

Turbo pipe disconnected at motorway speed.

Noise at slow speed on full lock.

Noise from drive belt/pulleys.

Drivers seat side bolster worn to foam.

General Comments:

Hard ride, central displays not natural to view mpg poor 31 & no way as good as predecessor which I owned for 6 years & 87000 miles.

Just where do you put a cd autochanger 'cos I really really want to know!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2006

5th Jun 2006, 13:02

I've got a 2003 2.2 eleganza, and I agree with almost all of the comments made here. With regard to the auto changer, mine's nailed to the floor between the front seats with a carpeted steel panel over it!

31st Jul 2006, 18:18

I own a 55 plate Prestigo 2.2 JTD. We have done 8500 miles and the only problem we have had is with the locking wheel nuts.

I find the CD changer no problem, and on a recent holiday trip to Holland, we got 750 miles to a full tank of diesel.

My wife uses it for shopping and work, which is 2 miles up the road, and we still get an average of 38/39 to the gallon (but I have had the car chipped upto 165bhp, which makes all the difference, highly recommended for the fuel economy)

24th Oct 2006, 18:20

Agree with the seats and speedo/instruments comments. No problems in 12000 miles. Comfortable and is really a Peugeot/Citroen.

19th Aug 2009, 02:23

The best car of its class, same as the Peugeot and the Citreon at a fraction of the cost, very under rated car.

1998 Fiat Ulysse TD S 1.9 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Good MPV for the family

Faults:

Power steering has suffered major leakage three times, until modified by non-Fiat dealer.

Clutch cable sleeve crushed, resulting in clutch pedal sticking down. I had to wait almost three months for parts, which turned out not to be needed! (Again, fixed by my usual garage).

Tachometer falls to zero when gas pedal released.

General Comments:

The car is a great load carrier, due to the ability to remove different combinations of seats.

Acceleration is not wonderful, but once at speed on a motorway it will cruise effortlessly.

Really good, high driving position, although visibility is sometimes poor behind A pillar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

1997 Fiat Ulysse 1.9 TD

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 TD Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

Easy to buy and great for family

Faults:

Little things- loose fittings.

Exhaust inclined to be smoky on acceleration- still, it passed the test.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car, especially for passengers.

Able to pull our big caravan (although not a patch on the Laguna)

Bench seat in the back is great compared with individual seats. We have the middle seat out in the middle row so you open the sliding doors, step in and have simple access to the back, even with a child in your arms, out of the rain while you belt them in.

The boot is not very spacious, but there is lots of space around the seats in the body of the car.

The positioning of the gear stick on the dash and the handbrake to the right hand side, plus the gap between the two front seats, means that Mum can walk down to the back of the car even if the car is being driven, e.g. if the back child is getting sick.

Plenty of space.

Sliding doors are great in tight car parks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2004

1997 Fiat Ulysse Base 1.9 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

Good idea, economic to buy, great for the kids

Faults:

Little switches acting up, the odd fascia cover.

General Comments:

Good design of car.

Sliding doors are excellent, front doors open wide.

Bench seat in the back is great- our car has two seats in front, two on the outside in the middle and the bench at the back, giving a good center isle with great access to the back. Even Mum can get up while Dad is stuck in traffic and walk down the center of the car, not stepping outside into the rain.

Much cheaper to buy secondhand than Seat or equivalent competition- mad price as new!

€60 of diesel does 600 miles.

Engine size is 1906 cc or so, so it is taxed as a 2.0 litre and has the power of a 1.9- not so clever, Fiat.

Still, it pulls the caravan no problem (although my previous Laguna would do so much more easily) plus all the bodies.

Luggage space? it's in the caravan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th September, 2003

1998 Fiat Ulysse 2.0 EL 2 Ltr petrol

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2 Ltr petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 800

Summary:

The best solution for a family, a bargain secondhand

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong in the last 10000 miles.

General Comments:

Like the ability to change the seating or even remove them.

Sliding doors on both sides are a real boon.

Good road holding and handling, easy to drive though clutch can be heavy.

Ample power though it does come in quickly at about 4000 revs.

Reasonable fuel consumption for size.

I would buy another no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2002

1996 Fiat Ulysse EL 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Reversing light switch on gearbox.

Fluid leak on power steering rack.

Airconditioning switch (internal to airconditioning, not dashboard).

General Comments:

Comfortable, quite fast, quiet, very roomy.

Poor visibility past thick "A" posts.

Suspension a bit hard unless laden.

Engine torque curve all wrong - power comes in at 4000 rpm, ie. about 20mph in 1st gear or 85mph in top. By the time you get a response to the accelerator you're already speeding!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2000

1996 Fiat Ulysse S 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

Immobiliser keypad failed resulting in a need for repairs to the wiring loom - more than £400.

It took the dealers 4 attempts over 2 years to track down reason for intermittent non-functioning of air con - luckily mostly dealt with under guarantee.

General Comments:

Excellent 7 seat MPV, sliding rear doors a real plus point. Experience says DO NOT buy any MPV without air con.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 1999

3rd Mar 2005, 06:34

I have a Peugeot 806,essentially the same as the Ulysse and I specifically bought it without aircon. Why? It's poor for the fuel economy and it costs an arm and a leg when it goes wrong.

And I can't say that it is really necessary either from experience!The car is quite cool even in the hottest weather.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews