2012 Ford Focus Titanium 1.6 TI-VCT 125

Summary:

Ford - Found On Rubbish Dump, says it all

Faults:

Engine faults - various.

Poor trim quality.

Radio skips channels.

General Comments:

The car looks great and is comfortable.

Fuel consumption should be up to 53 MPG; the best I have had is 35 extended on road journeys, resetting while moving. Round town it's more like 22-25.

Engine fails to start in cold conditions. When running it loses power when it feels like it. Been for multiple repairs; lambda sensors, MAF sensors, EGR etc. 6 repairs later and several weeks of time, and the car was no better.

Radio tunes to whatever it feels like, whenever it feels like.

Dealerships are poor. Ford Customer Resolution Services are hopeless and seem to think they can operate outside their own policy and the law.

Best thing I did was sell the car on 2 months ago, luckily before the snow! Feel sorry for the next owner though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th February, 2013

11th Feb 2013, 14:10

I wrote the review on the Zetec 125. I'm glad I'm not the only one who found this engine horrific. They also do it in 105 and 85 PS; imagine how bad they are. Apparently the 1.0 turbo 125 is a great drive, but I'm kind of put off Fords at the moment.

2012 Ford Focus Zetec 125PS 1.6 petrol

Summary:

Nice car, but avoid the N/A 1.6 petrol

Faults:

Nothing, though can be hesitant when cold.

General Comments:

The new Ford Focus is great, however this engine is shocking; it's one of the slowest cars I've ever owned, which is probably why it's been replaced by the new 1 litre turbo unit.

The car is a very nice drive, and would be great with a turbo petrol or diesel lump in it. The 1.6 in my car is so flat, it feels as though there is a potato rammed up the exhaust; even the slightest incline will have me changing down 1 if not 2 gears. It reminds me of the 1987 1.1 Fiesta I had when I passed my test.

The fuel economy is terrible; 28 round town, and you can just creep it up to 40 on a steady run. I've just done 200 miles on the motorway and 100 round town, which has resulted in 36 MPG. The car is supposed to do 48 combined. The only way to do that is to drive at 50 mph on a flat road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st May, 2012

7th Jun 2012, 03:10

Give the engine a chance to run in; you will see it improve.

10th Jun 2012, 12:51

The car is exactly the same now as it was at 10 miles; can't see things getting much better now.

3rd Jul 2012, 09:02

That's because modern cars are so heavy.

You wouldn't have bought a Ford Granada with a 1.6 engine under the bonnet, but a Focus weighs just as much as one of those did. Small, naturally aspirated petrol engines just can't cope with modern kerbweights.

8th Feb 2013, 05:46

I have the same 1.6 125 engine in my Titanium Focus. It's shocking... in fact it's worse than that!

Any incline and you end up having to change down; feels like someone has attached the wrong gearbox to the engine, and the car simply doesn't pull.

Have done around 16000 and fuel consumption is awful, probably as a result of having to drive the knackers off it to get it to move.

The computer is hilarious, telling me to change into 5th when the car can't even maintain speed in 4th!

7th Nov 2013, 12:43

Oh great - my employer is moving to these as company cars - currently have a C-Max (see my review on that lump) and that's not a happy union, but all this is making me dread a Focus 1600 as a replacement. Seems odd that Ford have won universal praise for their car's handling, but can't produce decent engines? I have issues with fuel pumps and dash board electronics on my C-Max - what are Ford up to?