1993 Honda Prelude Reviews from UK and Ireland

1993 Honda Prelude 2.2 non-VTEC

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.2 non-VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Probably the most reliable car in the world

Faults:

1. Rubber boot on a CV joint - NCT.

2. Aircon electric clutch.

3. PCB dis solder joint - expansion from sun heat.

4. Front right suspension bush - NCT.

5. Exhaust hole repair - NCT.

General Comments:

Excellent drive.

Hard suspension.

Incredible reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2012

1993 Honda Prelude VTEC 2.2 petrol

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Everyone should drive one at least once in their lives

Faults:

Rear O/S brake caliper from 55000 miles onward always needed cleaning and freeing off at every service.

Apart from this, no other problems at all.

General Comments:

Quick... damn quick!

Cornered like it was on rails.

Very reliable (if serviced when it should be).

Exhaust rear box cost £270 + VAT + fitting from the dealers (only a dealer part then) when it blew in 1999.

Always use decent tyre brands and change them before they get to 2mm. Change ALL 4 at the same time and don't be tempted to skimp by using cheap budget tyres.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2008

1993 Honda Prelude Si 2.2 petrol non vtec (japanese import)

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol non vtec (japanese import) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Absolutely fantastic

Faults:

Only thing so far is CV joints and an electrical fault with the rear lights. Apart from that though, what a superb vehicle.

General Comments:

This car is amazing and so so quick.

Dunno what the 0-60 times are, but I'd say about 7 seconds (don't quote me LOL).

Inside dash is a bit old; I have seen older cars with a better looking dash.

The looks you get just driving through town are phenomenal. I love it; the best car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2007

30th Mar 2009, 12:26

"Inside dash is a bit old; I have seen older cars with a better looking dash."

Wow, I have a 93 lude 2.2 and when people look at my car they are shocked that it is 16 years old, they all say it looks 4-5 years old. With regards to the dash, it has a very modern and amazingly beautiful & revolutionary looking dash. I cannot believe you think it looks old, What an excellent car!

7th Oct 2009, 03:35

Dude.

Best ever car. I have a 2.2 VTEC, with massive exhaust, it is a beauty, a real head turner, awesome VTEC noise, I turn off the stereo just to listen to the seriously 'Addictive' VTEC.

Yabadaba dooo.

1993 Honda Prelude Si 2.2 petrol

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 kilometres
Most recent distance186000 kilometres
Previous carPorsche 928

Summary:

A1+++++

Faults:

Distributer changed 30/03/06.

General Comments:

Great speed and road holding.

Starting problems are caused by the main relay under the steering column, it sticks open so no fuel pressure,take out and clean

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2006

1993 Honda Prelude 2.0i

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Good looking, timeless, reliable, working man's sports car

Faults:

Radiator, but due to it being the original, it ran its time.

General Comments:

Excellent buy if you want a good looking, reliable, original sports coupe.

The car is quick, and it does give you a surprise if you're not careful. It's everything you want in a sports coupe; head turning, good looking, nice reliable speed every time, good on petrol, and will go forever. Those Japanese guys are geniuses!

No matter what people say about the room, I have had everything in the car, from going away on a self catering holiday on the coast, to all the flooring in my house in my car. It's what you make it, and whoever likes to ride in the back, be my guest, I have had countless grown ups in the back who loved the journey!!

She handles like a dream, and rides flat to the road and around corners. She purrs like a cat, and roars like a lion when you open her up above 50mph. Love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2005

22nd Sep 2010, 18:01

I also own a 93 2.0i, I have a private plate and people are shocked when I tell them how old it is.

With a factory body kit from new, she's simply stunning; full grey leathers, no rips, everything works.

I receive 40+mpg easy down the M1/M25, which I never expected from this car, however on supermarket fuel you'll never achieve this, nor on V-Power etc. Total/Shell premium unleaded gets the best mpg for mine.

As for space, I have 3 kids, and the 2 in the back love the fact they get their own space, and claim its very comfortable. I also regularly take 2 other adults in the car (not inc the kids obviously), and there's plenty of space.

As for reliability, the car just amazes me, apart from a blocked fuel filter (well overdue on recommended replacement) and dirty ABS sensors, the car has been faultless. Regular maintenance is key; I use the best rec oil Mobil 1 0w40 every 6k miles, and I feel confident this car will go on for many years to come!

Great looks, good economy, fantastic build quality, and a near future classic, if it isn't already.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 7 reviews