2014 Hyundai i20 Active Blue Drive 1.4 CRDi diesel

Summary:

A value for money car with a good warranty

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I owned this car for 15 months and clocked up just over 18,000 miles. Primarily used to commute to and from work over a return distance of 75 miles; the car regularly returned 55mpg at 70 mph.

The Active Blue Drive trim includes Hyundai's Intelligent Stop and Go system which took me nearly eight months to activate. Many forums discuss whether the system works and I found mine would work at any time as long as the fan blower was off. It works based on a combination of factors including outside temperature, electrical load, and battery charge state.

The vehicle never failed to start, never let me down, and I was sorry to see it go - but I traded it for a new shape i20 which has proved even better.

The price paid for the vehicle was low as it was an ex driving school car and at a year old had done nearly 37,000 miles. Despite all the hard driving it had endured previously, it was faultless.

If you're not a badge snob and want a car with a good warranty then I would recommend it. It's not the fastest of vehicles and doesn't have handling as good as class leaders, but it has plenty of safety kit and dealer prices for serviceable parts are fair. I had tyres replaced by the dealership that were less than online tyre companies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2017

25th Apr 2017, 21:41

Good review. Hyundai (and Kia) have really stepped up their game in the last 5 years or so. I think long term reliability, comparable to other cars, remains to be seen though - will these cars still be going after more than 10 years and 150,000 miles? By that I mean there should be no serious engine or transmission issues if looked after, and no rust.

And how reliable are features (on most modern cars) like keyless entry/hill start assist/stop start technology, etc., over long term? As you said, they definitely work, but I bet they would be expensive to fix if they went wrong, but maybe you could just ignore it and drive the car normally without such features when they get older...

2011 Hyundai i20 Style CDRI 1.4 turbo diesel

Summary:

Disastrous purchase!

Faults:

I purchased this new Hyundai car (i20 Style diesel) and received it from a Hyundai dealership on 29th July 2011. It never worked properly from day one, with the brakes sticking on journeys over 10 miles or so. I returned it twice, and it has now as of 18th August 2011 been in the Hyundai dealers since 9th August, 2011. They now inform me that it will not be repaired until early September, waiting on a part (brake caliper) from Korea!.

It looks like it will be a minimum of three weeks off the road waiting for a part, and I have only driven it haltingly for a few days!

Have other Hyundai owners in UK experienced this or similar? I would be pleased to hear how Hyundai have dealt with it.

Both Hyundai and the dealer have refused so far to replace the vehicle or provide a refund.

General Comments:

The after sales service and communication from the dealer have been terrible.

I have not been able to assess the true performance of the car, but the fuel consumption has been high low 40's mpg (versus 60+ mpg in brochure), but this may be because the brakes were periodically sticking while it was on the road.

David, Lincoln UK

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2011

28th Jun 2012, 15:54

Hi - I've just found out the same problem - took my car in for an MoT - it failed on the brakes. The test station told me that as it's 3 years old, I should not have this problem! I took it to Hyundai - 3 days later, I'm still waiting to find out if they will be charging the cost amount as a warranty issue or not. If not, it's £760. No courtesy car has been issued, and I've yet to mention the mouldy roof liner I have. How did you get on?

2009 Hyundai i20 1.2

Summary:

Bone shaking juice guzzler!

Faults:

See general comments:-

General Comments:

Very poor fuel economy (43mpg mixed), over a 3000 mile period. Even though I'm a slow driver. No where near the 54mpg stated. Very disappointing!

Very hard suspension, little bumps, feel very big. Difficult ride on country roads (bone shaker).

Low front bumper clearance for UK roads. Caught underneath of bumper 4 times in 3 months. Never had this problem before on previous none Hyundai vehicles.

Constant dash rattles (as from new).

Aircon comes on automatically, when turning the heaters on, pain! Waste of fuel.

Wheel trims, not easy to clean.

Front windscreen (inside), always misting/freezing up. not easy to clean, especially inside the vehicle.

Very expensive main dealer servicing on a budget vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2010

5th May 2010, 03:24

As owner of the previous model (Getz), all I can say reading your review is that Hyundai did not improve the drivetrain on the successor to the Getz. Mine is exactly as yours is.

As for misting of the windshield, the same happened to me in the first 6 months. You just have to turn on the air-con and solve the problem. Later on it will not be necessary to do so.

As for fuel consumption, the same can be said for Getz also. Some models of the same car can be extremely sippy on fuel, but some are real fuel savers, you never know which one you will get.

10th Mar 2011, 10:02

Although I find the i20 to be a very good car to drive, I do find the noise from the very plastic dashboard to be unacceptable, particularly over bumpy roads.

I would not purchase another Hyundai... The build quality is poor. But at the end of the day you get what you pay for!