2011 Hyundai i20 Style CDRI 1.4 turbo diesel

Summary:

Disastrous purchase!

Faults:

I purchased this new Hyundai car (i20 Style diesel) and received it from a Hyundai dealership on 29th July 2011. It never worked properly from day one, with the brakes sticking on journeys over 10 miles or so. I returned it twice, and it has now as of 18th August 2011 been in the Hyundai dealers since 9th August, 2011. They now inform me that it will not be repaired until early September, waiting on a part (brake caliper) from Korea!.

It looks like it will be a minimum of three weeks off the road waiting for a part, and I have only driven it haltingly for a few days!

Have other Hyundai owners in UK experienced this or similar? I would be pleased to hear how Hyundai have dealt with it.

Both Hyundai and the dealer have refused so far to replace the vehicle or provide a refund.

General Comments:

The after sales service and communication from the dealer have been terrible.

I have not been able to assess the true performance of the car, but the fuel consumption has been high low 40's mpg (versus 60+ mpg in brochure), but this may be because the brakes were periodically sticking while it was on the road.

David, Lincoln UK

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2011

28th Jun 2012, 15:54

Hi - I've just found out the same problem - took my car in for an MoT - it failed on the brakes. The test station told me that as it's 3 years old, I should not have this problem! I took it to Hyundai - 3 days later, I'm still waiting to find out if they will be charging the cost amount as a warranty issue or not. If not, it's £760. No courtesy car has been issued, and I've yet to mention the mouldy roof liner I have. How did you get on?

2009 Hyundai i20 1.2

Summary:

Bone shaking juice guzzler!

Faults:

See general comments:-

General Comments:

Very poor fuel economy (43mpg mixed), over a 3000 mile period. Even though I'm a slow driver. No where near the 54mpg stated. Very disappointing!

Very hard suspension, little bumps, feel very big. Difficult ride on country roads (bone shaker).

Low front bumper clearance for UK roads. Caught underneath of bumper 4 times in 3 months. Never had this problem before on previous none Hyundai vehicles.

Constant dash rattles (as from new).

Aircon comes on automatically, when turning the heaters on, pain! Waste of fuel.

Wheel trims, not easy to clean.

Front windscreen (inside), always misting/freezing up. not easy to clean, especially inside the vehicle.

Very expensive main dealer servicing on a budget vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2010

5th May 2010, 03:24

As owner of the previous model (Getz), all I can say reading your review is that Hyundai did not improve the drivetrain on the successor to the Getz. Mine is exactly as yours is.

As for misting of the windshield, the same happened to me in the first 6 months. You just have to turn on the air-con and solve the problem. Later on it will not be necessary to do so.

As for fuel consumption, the same can be said for Getz also. Some models of the same car can be extremely sippy on fuel, but some are real fuel savers, you never know which one you will get.

10th Mar 2011, 10:02

Although I find the i20 to be a very good car to drive, I do find the noise from the very plastic dashboard to be unacceptable, particularly over bumpy roads.

I would not purchase another Hyundai... The build quality is poor. But at the end of the day you get what you pay for!