1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 2 of 3

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 190E 2.0 2.0

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Unbelievably good

Faults:

Rear electric window motor.

Nothing else.

Multi-link suspension a bit tired when I parted with it.

General Comments:

Bullet proof.

Did 40mpg at constant 60mph! in 5th.

Written off when hit by artic on motorway. We walked away from it uninjured. A very strong car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 190E 2.6l 2.6L, straight six

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.6L, straight six Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

See one! Go and buy it!

Faults:

The only thing is the distributor arm that cracked, after being replaced the problem was sorted.

General Comments:

I previously owned another 190E 2.0l. So when I went out to buy a new car I knew what to look for: another 190, but this time a 2.6l.

It has the best ride handling quality that a sedan can give you, and you will not believe that is a sedan once you start driving it.

The petrol consumption on the 2.6l is the same as a Vauxhall Corsa 1.2l.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2005

10th Jun 2005, 09:21

I think it looks hot, esp. with the large spoiler.

2nd Mar 2006, 06:57

I own a 2.6 and the mpg is not the same as a nova.

31st Jan 2007, 06:27

2.6 has the same fuel consumption as a 1.2?! I wish! Beautiful car, but over here in the UK petrol is $2/litre, which makes noticing the difference between a 1.2 & 2.6 a little easier!

.j.

23rd Oct 2008, 03:28

My 190E 2.6 auto does 27mpg around town and 30 mpg on a long (500klm) trip @ around 110kph - a bit different from my 6.9 which did 14mpg around town and 17mpg on a trip. Son's 420SEL does 22mpg gently around town but 17 mpg if not. E280 24v does 25mpg city and 32 mpg country. Imperial gallon (4.55 litres) not usa.

4th Nov 2009, 06:20

I am being given a Mercedes 190e 2.6 automatic 1991 with 95k miles for NOTHING when my brother gets a new company car. Yeeehoo, can't wait, I've driven it a few times it's stunning. Everything works perfectly, I hope he doesn't trash it LOL.

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 190D 2.0 diesel

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance193000 miles
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

Strong reliable class machine

Faults:

A belt tensioner damper failed due to age so it was replaced, easy.

Other things where replaced on service times due to high mileage were.

They where roll bar rubbers, vacuum pump, Ball joints, Alternator overhaul (failed bearings), new injectors, ect.

All due too bad maintenance of the previous owners.

General Comments:

The car was lovely to look at and I loved it. It was poorly maintained and I was entertained fixing the running gear.

It was a great chassis which cornered very well for a larger car.

The build is strong, and cabin is very comfortable for age. You can see how it must have been new.

I will always drive Mercedes Benz now as this 190D sold me on the engineering and the class I felt as I cruised around my home town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 190E Cosworth 2.5-16v

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5-16v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Class engineering

Faults:

Radiator leaked.

General Comments:

The 190E 2.5-16v has a great feel-good factor.

It performs really well when you stamp on the pedal to the metal.

When I bought the car, I was stunned by its corning ability. The guy selling the car threw it round a corner in the wet, and it didn't even lose its back end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2003

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 Cosworth 2.5-16

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5-16 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance149000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Shogun

Summary:

What a weapon!!!

Faults:

Rev counter has stopped working (any ideas anyone??)

General Comments:

Always use a specialist for tuning & servicing... Mercedes dealers don't have a clue how to "deal" with a Cossy!!!

The specialist I use says that this switchable auto model is quicker than any of the manual models he works on.

Fit 17" wheels with 40 profile tyres to really sharpen up the handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

26th Aug 2005, 07:13

Re. rev counter not working.

I had the same problem, after wasting hours trying to fix it by dismantling the clocks, it turned out to be a fractured fuse!

Good luck

Dave.

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 Cosworth 2.5

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carGolf GTi

Summary:

An M3 equal

Faults:

Air conditioning keeps loosing its gas.

Doesn't like ticking over in the cold.

Does need regular changes of spark plugs & must be twin headers to make it perform.

Other than that, trouble free!

General Comments:

This car although old is still highly regarded in the trade. It is well built, sought after, & performs well, even by today's standards.

It needs a Cosworth badge on the boot (as I've done) so people appreciate the car in front, plus a nice set of new alloys help its dated looks.

Still an M3 equal, and gradually getting appreciated as such by the younger generation, this is not that fast away from the lights (0-60 in 7 secs) but a real motorway stormer once you wind it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

1st Nov 2001, 11:40

Hello from the other side of the pond. I stumbled on your 16 valve commentaries and as I've been seeking and researching one for a while, I can respond to the Cosworth connection. MB wanted a rally car to replace the SLC and opted for the 201 chassis (190). At the time, 16 valve technology was rather novel, though Cosworth had already perfected it. MB decided that instead of doing their own 16 valve twin cam head, they'd contract Cosworth. Initially MB actually sent the 2.3 blocks over to Cosworth for installation of the head. Later, MB stated making the head in house.

Hey, the headlights you get on the 201 are far superior to the ones we got over here. What would a good set of used headlights cost in the UK? I'd need the whole unit, including the lense?

Cheers from Kurt in TX. 1986 16 valve.

24th Sep 2004, 11:55

Hi to all you 190e Cosworth fans. I purchased my 190e 2.3-16v two years ago and just luv the car. In the two years that I have owned it I've had no problems what so ever with the car except normal wear and tear such as an exhaust, brake pads etc. It's a 1986 model in smoke silver, full leather, 16" AMG alloys. The car has now covered 176,000 miles and is still going strong. Believe it or not, the car is still running on the original clutch. I bought the car from a friend who owned it from new. The car is still immaculate and that's the way I intend to keep it.

Take care Dave/Scotland.

6th Feb 2006, 14:33

I take it you aren't counting the engine then...lol.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 11 reviews