2004 Mitsubishi L200 Reviews from UK and Ireland

2004 Mitsubishi L200 Warrior

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Faults:

The only problems I have had with my 54 plate Warrior, were 1 sticky brake caliper and broken leaf springs. Upgraded the springs, and all is good.

Turbo was on the way out when I bought it, but it's still going strong. Noisy, but good boost sometimes. I've had it for 3 years, and drive it like I stole it. And every single time I drive it, it always wants more.

If you can get a good one, then you can kick the crap out of it all the time, and that's what 4x4's are all about.

General Comments:

If you get a good one, it's one of the sturdiest motors out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th January, 2013

2004 Mitsubishi L200 2.5 turbo diesel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.5 / 10
Distance when acquired130 miles
Most recent distance140 miles
Previous carMitsubishi L200

Summary:

A money pit that will not work

Faults:

Second engine blew 137 miles.

Leaf springs changed 135k miles.

Exhaust changed 140k miles.

General Comments:

Not fit for purpose.

Drinks fuel excessively.

But it looks good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd December, 2012

2004 Mitsubishi L200 Warrior 2.5 turbo diesel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Stay clear, this car is criminal!

Faults:

6 engine replacements to date.

Head gasket replaced.

Balancing shaft snapped around 60K miles.

Persistent overheating faults.

Cylinder head replaced at 64K miles.

Latest engine replaced at 60K miles.

Leaf springs replaced at 65k miles.

Now another probable engine fault and turbo fault at 65K miles.

All repairs and services carried out by the main dealer.

General Comments:

The car is very good in snow. I have never towed anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th April, 2012

2004 Mitsubishi L200 Warrior 2.5 litre turbo diesel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 litre turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

Good vehicle apart from the poorly designed engine

Faults:

Engine threw a con rod and No.4 piston is wrecked at not quite 72,000, despite regular servicing and recent MOT. This appears to be a common problem in 1999-2006 L200 engines that have done between 65,000 and 90,000 miles. If you have one, sell now or take out an extended warranty.

General Comments:

Car was fine for what I wanted as I live in a rural area, have two kids, a dog, and occasionally tow a horse box and go off road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2009

28th Jun 2010, 14:57

I have an 04 Warrior. Have done 75000 miles now with no problems whatsoever. As mentioned, I too change my oil and filters regularly.

I would like to fit a Rover V8 in if my engine goes!! But so far so good! Does anyone know if a Rover V8 could be easily mated up to the L200 gearbox?? Hmm.

Cheers, Andy.

5th Jan 2013, 18:55

Very sorry to hear about your vehicle. My dad got his L200 in 1990 and drives it to this day. He did have doubts about the 4D56 in turbo format, so he bought the naturally aspirated version. The power is non existent, but ultra reliable. Hasn't had many issues apart from oil and coolant leaks, alternator failures at 200,000 km, and exhaust cracks.

For the L200, I think the biggest downsides are the terrible suspension and exhaust system.

13th Jun 2014, 19:28

Mine was 98k when no. 4 rod went thru the block LOL. Nearly 3 grand to replace it...

2004 Mitsubishi L200 Warrior turbo diesel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Freelander

Summary:

Bad Manufacturer, Bad Dealership, Bad After-sales Service

Faults:

Required new cylinder head gasket at 30,000 miles.

Required new rear leaf spring at 40,000 miles.

Required new engine at 45,000 miles.

Required new clutch at 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car was bought new from the main dealer and serviced at the same dealers throughout.

My head gasket blew at just over 30,000 miles. The car was still under warranty so Mitsubishi paid for the repairs, although they would not pay for the courtesy car they loaned me from Hertz. I was left with a £350 bill that they refused to pay because the dealer should have repaired the vehicle quicker.

I noticed the car started to over heat again at 45,000 miles, two weeks before the warranty expired, it was diagnosed as requiring a new engine, this was done under warranty.

They extended the manufacturers warranty for an extra year due to the problems I had experienced, however during this time it required a complete new clutch and they would not cover this work, so I had to pay almost £1000.

The warranty expired in March 08, but I did not extend due to the clutch issue and guess what... it is overheating again and looking like the cylinder head has gone again.

The car has not yet done 60,000 miles. Keep away from these cars, I will never buy another Mitsubishi ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd September, 2008

2nd Jun 2009, 14:09

I have done 92,000 miles in my L200 4life in 7 years. Since the warranty has ran out, I have had it serviced once a year and had nothing go wrong with it at all.

2004 Mitsubishi L200 Warrior 2.5

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi L200

Summary:

Stay clear unless you have endless money

Faults:

This car looks OK.

I had number 4 big end break up; trashed the crank, smashed the head, to say I was in tears was not far wrong. What do you do a 2004 L200, with a knackered engine, not worth rebuilding yourself, costs too much.

I bit the bullet and forked out two grand for a reconditioned engine; runs OK, but the oil light comes on when ticking over. I've changed the switch and oil twice.

The next stage is the engine builders. I wish I had never set eyes on this car. This car had a oil change every 4k miles.

General Comments:

Big end problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2008

2004 Mitsubishi L200 for life 2.5

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen EuroVan

Summary:

OK

Faults:

Wheels corroded after 20000 had them changed under warranty. now cylinder head cracked 3.4 months from new and only 55000 miles.

General Comments:

This vehicle has done no work. not towed or carried any real weight. I am absolutely gutted by the attitude of Mitsubihi coly that they won't admit liability. serviced as per book. never buy one again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th December, 2007

Average review marks: 2.7 / 10, based on 7 reviews