2000 Opel Astra Reviews from UK and Ireland

2000 Opel Astra 1.4

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Well worth the money

General Comments:

Good reliable car. Left sitting for 3 weeks in the snow, started first time. Great engine. Slightly dodgy finishing - rattles, etc but a great all round car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2010

2000 Opel Astra Club 1.4 -16v

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 -16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Good handling, comfortable, quiet and economical

Faults:

Hazard warning lights won't work.

Intermittent fault with odometer/trip- keeps disappearing?

Power steering very heavy sometimes just after start up.

Reverse gear sometimes very difficult to select when engine is cold.

General Comments:

Generally, this car seems reliable and fairly economical, to run.

I note other reviewers comments on windows fogging up, and being difficult to keep clear. I have this problem too, but I am reliably informed that changing the pollen filter will definitely alleviate this problem, (supposed to be changed annually, but never are!)

Engine seems powerful enough, and quiet too, but I was staggered to find out the cost of a timing belt kit..€200, plus another €65 (€265 = £190 approx.) to have it fitted... so if you're buying second hand, I suggest you get it checked and build it in as part of your budget!.

I will reserve judgment on the electrics, but at this stage the look as though they could be a little troublesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2005

12th Jul 2007, 23:54

Hi, I have the same problem with my Opel Astra Caravan 2000. The reverse gear seems to get stuck whenever it feels like it. The steering got suddenly heavy while driving and it turns out that the motor for the electrical power steering is broken and will cost me 4.100 $ to get a new one. That's almost what I paid for the car (bought last january for 5.800 $) I am not sure if it will be worth it to buy a new motor so I seem to have lost quite a sum of money on this deal.

Martha Iceland.

2000 Opel Astra Coupe 2.0 litre turbo

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Fast nice car, but not too reliable

Faults:

Front bumper was loose, and was missing fixing bolts since it came off the production line.

Went for service, and the dealer said it had a blown head gasket only after 19,500 miles, and since it was out of warranty.. tough. They paid in the end due to the service history and it being practically new. Still don't know if it is fixed properly, as it's still loosing coolant, but cannot see where (no leaks on ground).

General Comments:

Nice car, fast, but thirsty. Dealer service ain't good, and they are putting me off Opel/Vauxhall due to this, preferred at times my GTI-6.

Interior could be different to the swamper Opel models for the money involved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2002

2000 Opel Astra Elegance 1.4 petrol

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Fast, sporty, roomy, well built, but disappointing suspension

Faults:

Intermittent fault in the panel lights. Fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

This is my tenth Opel and probably my last for two reasons: the suspension has been made more rigid to the point where the car is uncomfortable on all but the best roads. This is not a fault with this particular car.

Secondly, there are only two horn buttons which are hard to hit in an emergency particularly on a bend, and I have nearly had an accident on this account on more than one occasion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th June, 2001

6th Sep 2001, 12:48

I own an Astra Comfort D, and I think that the suspension works quite well, yes it's little rigid, but it handles very good.

Regarding the two buttons to activate the horn, I agrre with you, sometimes in case of an emergency they're "out of place". But you get used to it.

2nd Oct 2001, 05:11

With my old car, I would hit the horn while turning. In my new Opel Astra Sportive I no longer have that problem.

Yes, it requires some adaptation, but you'll get used to this.

Scorpio D.

7th Jan 2002, 18:52

The Rigid Suspension (tuned by Lotus) is a trade off for brilliant handling. Personally I'd rather be flying around a bend at ridiculous speeds knowing that my car isn't going to turn into an understeering/oversteering mess for no apparent reason.

On the horn issue. I agree it could be better, but it's not a big deal. I got used to it very quickly.

The TS Astra sure is a car that the Mark 1 Golf GTi (One of the first true "pocket rockets") would truly be proud of.

Viva TS Astra.

23rd Oct 2010, 11:55

Not a bad car, though, when do you do this belt?

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 4 reviews