1999 Peugeot 106 Reviews from UK and Ireland

1999 Peugeot 106 Zest 1.1

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Fantastic! A very good car!

Faults:

A knocking noise started coming from the front of the car, and it required a bottom suspension arm, due to excessive play in the ball joint. While I had the car jacked up, I just replaced both lower arms at the same time.

Also, sometimes when it's at idle, the revs vary between 1000 and 3000rpm. Apparently this is a common problem with Saxos and 106s with the single point injection engine. This began to happen around the 110000 mileage mark.

General Comments:

The car is very quick, and the engine responds well from a hard drive, and is not the slowest 1.1 engine ever made.

Engine seems to be bullet proof, as mine is through the 200000 mile mark, and so far no problems with the gearbox etc.

Everything I have replaced on the car has been wear and tear, such as brake pads, discs, rear brake shoes etc.

Interior has worn well, considering the car has not had an easy life. The seats are very comfy, although there seems to be a problem with the rails, because now and again, they seem to slide back while driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2010

1999 Peugeot 106 Quiksilver 1.4

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

When it's going, it is great

Faults:

I have bought my Quiksilver off my sister who owned it from new, she never had problems. I bought it and have spent £800 on it, and it's still not fixed. (someone help) None of my mechanics know.

When I start it, I hear the fuel pump making a noise, and if the noise stops dead, it starts, but most times it whimpers out, and starts and dies out straight away. Also. when I'm driving it stops (it's not the fuel pump, I just replaced that). It idles badly, the rev drops away, but it recovers and rises. Please help.

General Comments:

Very fast, and I'm 19 and I have it insured for £1000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2007

7th Aug 2007, 13:55

Might not be a fuel pump problem at all. Could be the idle control valve dying. This is a small valve attached to the throttle body, which controls the idle speed. It could be dead and causing the car to cut out!!

Might not be, but worth a shot.

21st Jul 2009, 14:58

It is idle control valve that makes engine revs unsteady.

1999 Peugeot 106 Zest 3 1.5 diesel

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

An honest little trooper!

Faults:

The car was quite rusty underneath when I purchased it, so I had to replace the whole exhaust at 70,000 miles.

The back brakes leaked and I had to replace them at 75,000 miles.

I had a major problem with the leaky sunroof. I had to re-seal it, but the damage had been done! Seals inside were eroded and screws were rusty. Every now and then I get a leak in the roof which is an ongoing problem until I get it fixed properly.

Drive shafts are on their way out (but I guess that is to be expected due to the age and mileage of car)

General Comments:

Despite this, the car is reliable and handles nicely.

I do a lot of miles in this car and it's a real work horse!

The driving position is a little uncomfortable, but its only a small car anyway.

The car is getting older now so I expect things to go wrong with it.

It is very much - what you see is what you get! But I'm happy with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2005

12th Feb 2007, 03:11

How funny that my car has had all three of those problems. Right now dealing with the sunroof which has created a lovely paddling pool for my passengers!!

1999 Peugeot 106 Zest 2 1.6 diesel

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 diesel Manual
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles

Summary:

A great first car, does everything you need and even has a CD player!

Faults:

Radiator had a small leek due to corrosion and needed replacing.

Needed a new clutch after about 2 months of me owning it.

At the same time the power steering pump broke and needed replacing.

General Comments:

Many people have said that this car is too small for tall people. I'm 6'3" and I have to say it's fine once you get used to it. The pedals are a bit close together, but again, when you are used to it you really don't notice.

This is my first car and despite having to pay a fair bit out to get it fixed, I'm very happy with it. I expected to pay a fair bit for repairs as I got it fairly cheap and it has got a fairly hefty mileage. Since I had all the initial work done on it there have been no real problems.

Good space in the boot with the seats down, you can fit tonnes into the back of it which was important to me as I'm a musician and needed to be able to cart my gear around.

Looks great providing you are not behind it.

Isn't the world's fastest car if you're talking about 0-60 (I can only do it in 14s, but there could be something wrong with my technique!) but it's good at roundabouts.

Great fun to drive on country roads when you are low on fuel as it whizzes round the corners.

The great thing about it being diesel is the mileage. I can go easily over 500 miles on one tank (40 liters I think).

I love my car very much. More modern cars are just a bit too precise to drive, I like the slightly rough feel of it, it makes driving fun!

No plans to change it until it starts being expensive to fix or rusts to death.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2005

12th Mar 2006, 11:41

The 106 zest 2 is a great little learner car I have had no problems at all with mine. very cheap to insure and tax for first time drivers, only the interior looks like a picnic blanket!

5th Apr 2006, 04:56

Heh. A daft little puppy of a car! Gears/clutch can be a bit temperamental, but power steering makes it really easy to handle.

Cheap to run and fun to nip around in.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 25 reviews