1989 Peugeot 505 Reviews from UK and Ireland

1989 Peugeot 505 GTDT Auto 2.5

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance327000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

A true car, built like a true car should be

Faults:

Starter motor, head gasket + radiator, and that was over 10 years ago. I do not drive as fast as before, so hopefully the engine will not have to be opened again.

General Comments:

This car is the best I have ever had, and it has no end of pulling power. It will really accelerate away with the best of modern diesels today, and the beauty of it is there is no complex ECU, or any other gimmicky, problematic, unnecessary add ons to this. It is getting very rare now, especially the saloon model, and if I need parts, they are getting harder to come by as time goes by.

Also the 390 TRX tires are expensive, and I dread when I have to replace them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th March, 2011

1989 Peugeot 505 GR Family Estate 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Montego

Summary:

A laugh for the hole family

Faults:

Endless brake fluid leaks, which I suppose is dangerous, and I'm still trying to fix at this present time.

There's a hole forming on the under side of the rear wing, and the rust is even eating away the lower half of the driver's door.

And had to replace the alternator. (Which was a pain to find).

General Comments:

A superb family vehicle to own. One day you can cart the kids down to school. And the next minute you can fold down the seats, to create a completely flat loading area to carry a couple of fridge/freezers to the city dump, of course. Then in the evening, if your feeling adventurous you can race though the typically wet English bends. Which is serious fun in a rear-wheel-drive car.

However it does eat though a lot of tires.

Oh yea. Parts are next to impossible to come across.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2004

16th Mar 2004, 06:54

"...the hole family"?

Is that the hole you will all be in after you wreck the car while racing through the wet bends?

Fix the brakes.

27th Nov 2005, 04:39

I love to share the thrill Motor Trend magazine had when they discovered the beauty of a 505 Turbo Inj.Wagon;Imagine the surprise a BMW driver gets at the sight of a Peugeot wagon disappearing into the sunset on local mountain roads. This car is more fun than digging fence post holes...

1989 Peugeot 505 GRD Family Estate 2.5/2.3 diesel

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5/2.3 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carNissan Cherry

Summary:

Excellent big family workhorse

Faults:

Reverse gear failed necessitating a replacement box.

Vacuum pump for brake servo failed.

Heater matrix valve failed.

Clutch pedal push-rod failed.

Engine seized after consuming oil.

General Comments:

The car is excellent for a large family for which it was designed. I can take our 4 kids out with the wife, plus luggage and 2 of their friends can come too!

It looks and drives like a bus, but is big and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

1989 Peugeot 505 GTi 2.2 flat four

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 flat four Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carMorgan 4/4

Summary:

This car is a brilliant multi purpose tool and bargain!

Faults:

During the warranty period, nothing failed on the vehicle (3 years).

Injection problems were encountered first of all. A Peugeot specialist dealer diagnosed the fault to be the automatic choke, and charged us £1500; this did not rectify the problem (sudden loss of power). They then stated that it was the fuel tank; this was not the case, and a much smaller garage diagnosed the fault to be the injection sender unit (next to the ignition coil), and replaced it at a cost of £150; considerably cheaper than the dealer, and it works too!

Electric aerial always plays up!

The rod from the clutch pedal to the clutch master cylinder wore through at approximately 50000 miles, with the clutch slave cylinder failing shortly after.

Alternator failed at 55000 miles (not unusual).

Starter motor failed at 60000 miles (not unusual).

Speedometer cable failed at 63000, and was not repaired for 18 months, so my mileage is a little inaccurate.

Front shock absorber failed at approximately 55000 miles.

Brake lines, brake pads, brake drums (rear) and brake discs were all replaced at 63000 for peace of mind!

Central locking required attention at 75000 miles.

The front wheel bearings were replaced due to noise from the hubs at approximately 50 miles per hour at 80000 miles.

General Comments:

My father acquired the vehicle new, and as it turned out, it was one of the last imported to Britain.

The car has never ceased to amaze us, doing whatever we asked of it, whether it be carrying a ton of bricks, or happily traveling at 110 miles per hour.

We have even towed a 3.5 tonne truck for 200 miles without a problem!

Handling is very good for an estate, although now at 13 years old it is not as fast from the traffic lights as it was.

Although I have listed a lot of faults, considering we have owned the car from new, it has been wonderful.

We will keep the car until it is no longer possible to maintain it (hopefully a long time).

Since we bought the car, our friends have purchased second hand 505's, and they swear by them!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2002

27th Nov 2005, 04:49

Good on you folks, keep these legends alive. Saloon or wagon they handle like a glove, seats are more comfy than we deserve!!

11th Nov 2006, 05:08

Magnificent machines, mines an SRDt series 1,its done 355000km, original turbo, gearbox, engine, steering! just replaced diff, as the star gear shaft broke-not bad at this mileage. drives like new, handles like a gem.. the loveliest seats I ever sat in. They have a cult following here in Australia. Viva la France!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 9 reviews