1989 Pontiac Firebird GTA 5.7 350ci


A fast fun car that makes driving exciting


Seats and roof lining are quite common to go around this mileage.

Rubber/foam spoiler paint cracks in hot weather.

Various engine sensors need replacing.

Gearbox mounts replaced.

General Comments:

A very sporty looking car, a true 80's icon.

The car has character, which is lacking in newer cars these days.

The last true real muscle car (as they were meant to be).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2011

2001 Pontiac Firebird Ram Air 5.7 petrol


If you are hankering after one of these, DO IT!


No faults worth mentioning.

General Comments:

I have now owned this car for two years and cannot anticipate ever parting with it.

I live in rural Cornwall and am considered to be something of an eccentric locally. My Firebird is the '02 model in black with ram air, T tops and auto transmission and is my daily driver. I love the car to bits and it was love at first sight. I bought the car privately and have kept in touch with the previous owner who has become a friend. Very reassuring when parting with the cash.

I note from other comments that problems are encountered with water in the lights. Mine has had a minor conversion for the UK SVA and had additional lights fitted. I have had no problems. Since buying mine I have not seen another Ram Air in this year for sale and am so glad I did the deal when I did. These cars are pretty rare here.

I also have a C4 Corvette and a Honda Integra Type R, and whilst the Firebird doesn't handle as well as the others, it is still my favourite. I understand there are some mods I could have carried out to stiffen the sub frames? I may look into that and any comments gratefully received.

Puts a smile on my face every day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2009

1981 Pontiac Firebird Transam Turbo 4.9 petrol turbo


If you can afford the gas, go for it!


Bonnet release catch broke.

Some t**d smashed the t top.

General Comments:

Did about 20mpg on a run. 6mpg when thrashed.

Great fun & comfy to drive.

Unbeatable pose on a sunny day with the roof off & side pipes rumbling nicely.

Only sold it as it didn't get used much & local chavs started taking an interest.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th February, 2007

2002 Pontiac Firebird WS6 CONVERTIBLE 5.7 LS1





General Comments:

WELL, What can I say about a living legend.

The last of these were 2002 and they are the BEST.

Seriously good looking, and seriously fast.

You can have any lane you want at the traffic lights, because you know, you will be across the intersection before the others have move a foot or so.

If you can save the bucks or the pounds, then get the newest one you can afford.

I always wanted the convertible, and it just had to be the "daddy"

I have just come back from France, Switzerland, Italy, Monty Carlo, and Spain.

WHAT a trip,

30 miles to the gallon with the roof down, and 65 mph on cruise control.

Now what else could you ever want in a car. If the roads are permitting, or you are on a private road "cough cough" then this bird will still be accelerating past 165 mph. Stock standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2005

1997 Pontiac Firebird Base Convertible 3.8




Nothing since I have had it.

General Comments:

The best looking Firebird in my opinion.

Very economical on fuel and packed with luxury features compared to my 93 Audi Cabriolet. I adore this car and would only change for another Firebird Convertible or a C5 Corvette.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2004

28th Dec 2010, 06:02

Yes, I agree with you, these Firebirds are great. I have a 1997 Trans Am in black; it is awesome.

1984 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am HO 5.0


Fantastic. Fast, reliable, and fun. Everybody should have one


Although this is a low-mileage pampered car, the drivers seat is badly worn, which is not uncommon in Third Gen Firebirds.

Heater blower motor expired at 54000 miles. Cheap and inexpensive to fix, I just haven't got around to it yet :)

Pinion bearing had collapsed just before I bought the car. It was a days work to repair, but one full set of new bearings later and its perfect. Cheap parts too... even here in the UK.

General Comments:

Not a common car in the UK, and it turns heads wherever it goes. I get stopped and asked questions about it all the time.

It will beat just about anything the UK 'performance' market can throw at it...period.

Handling is remarkably good, for a 20 year old car. Lethal in the wet though!

Driving position is comfortable, and all controls are in easy reach. Optional electric seat helps in this matter though. The previous 84 I had didn't have this option, and it wasn't quite so comfortable.

You can insure one of these in the UK for well under £200. Try doing that with a 'hot hatch'!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2004

13th Jan 2014, 19:12

Hehe, it's the exact opposite here in the States. A Firebird will cost an arm and a leg to insure here, but a hatchback would be dirt cheap (most are econoboxes here). Even something "hot" like a VW GTI would cost many times less than a Firebird.

1993 Pontiac Firebird Transam 5.7


Excellent, enough said!!


ABS in-op light came on, faulty connector in dash.

Immobiliser fault, new module fitted.

General Comments:

Seriously quick car ("no substitute for cubic inches") and it handles as well as any other Grand Tourer, despite what people may say.

Nicely laid out dash, comfortable cruiser (with space for luggage) but a bit bumpy over old back roads.

The sound of the engine cannot be beaten.

Simple to maintain and work on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2002

1970 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 400ci V8


Lock up your daughters


Was subject to a ground-up, body-off resto 1996 and nothing has fallen off since then.

General Comments:

What can I say? It goes like a rocket, it won't really go round corners but conversely it can be quite hard to keep in a straight line.

Tyres are expensive and in the age of the £4 gallon it doesn't come out much, but it's the meanest thing on four wheels and EVERYTHING gets out of its way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th November, 2000