Proton Persona Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 2 of 3

1995 Proton Persona SEi 1.6

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A lot of car for little money

Faults:

Speedo not accurate, but I use GPS when near gatsos.

Hot air blowers work great, all except for the windscreen demist. Hopefully its just a pipe come adrift.

General Comments:

The car is much faster than I imagined, especially with its age. Pick up from 15 to 45 is very good.

Have had two instances of front end skips, which were alarming. Not a car I would push too far on a bend.

Interior is functional, but a bit boring, but all the toys are there - power steering, electric windows all round, powered wing mirrors - not bad for 750.

I brought the car as a daily drive, and to tow my little caravan. I chose it mainly as it was the only one in the dealers with a twin electric tow bar fitted, which saved me 150 quid, but now I would buy another.

My real love is my 73 VW Campe. This car was just meant to be a workhorse, but it has now become a friend.

Also all the gadgets are welcome change from my 16 valve camper (8 are in the radio).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2006

1999 Proton Persona Meridian 1.5

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance470000 miles
Previous carFiat Tipo

Summary:

Sorry Proton, definite No No

Faults:

Incredibly noisy on the motorway! Wind noise from driver door was very loud, but couldn't see what was causing it. Front window sills didn't meet windows so rain poured into the door wells, which caused some rust. Condensation in cold weather and long journeys is terrible, possibly helped by all the rain in the door wells, which you can hear swishing around occasionally. Radio/cassette never worked properly since purchase (second hand). Front passenger window motor failed, but scrap dealer provided one for £15 (fiddly to fit though).

General Comments:

I actually quite liked this car, despite the problems above. It started every morning with no problems. Took 1 adult and 2 kids and all our camping gear because of the hatchback and at least it wasn't a Ford escort (although it looks like it wants to be). Overall, as a bog standard driver who's just looking for a reliable family runner I'd say steer clear, because it's just not up to scratch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

1995 Proton Persona Sei 1.6 petrol

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

May have a nice budget car 10 years ago

Faults:

Alternator bracket snapped.

Various trim screws, both interior and exterior, just seem to loosen themselves and fall out.

General Comments:

Interior is dated, and build quality is the worst I have ever had in a car.

Switchgear very plastic and cheap.

Seats are uncomfortable and material is very poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

2000 Proton Persona Coupe 1.8

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carProton Persona

Summary:

Let down by zero quality control

Faults:

Rusted in places not covered by warranty, for example round windscreen.

Drivers seatbelt anchorage disintegrated.

Top of rear seats became bleached by the sun (in england!) & rotted away.

Drivers electric window frequently stuck.

Sound system stopped working intermittently - a wire had become detached from behind the unit.

General Comments:

Made from poor quality soft metal, dented very easily.

One of the tappets would sometimes make a loud tapping! noise, hot or cold.

On the plus side, it handled very well & was fun to drive, but the rubbish quality spoiled it for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th October, 2004

1999 Proton Persona lotus proton (v rare) 1.5 12v

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 12v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Great car all round!!!

Faults:

Injections blew apart from that nothing at all!!!

Parts pricey, but you pay for a good car!!!

General Comments:

Mine is not the gti, but has the lotus handling its great the performance is good with a bit of tuning!!!

And the car looks great with the rare lotus proton bodykit and the nice yellow paint work!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2004

9th Apr 2004, 14:03

Sounds awful are you driving it for a bet or something???

9th Nov 2004, 16:24

Rare for good reason YUCK!!!

16th Jan 2006, 19:32

A good and a very reliable car. Rain, shine or snow it will always be easy to start.

1999 Proton Persona GLSi 1.5 petrol 12v

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol 12v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carProton Mpi

Summary:

Cheap car, reliable and nippy!

Faults:

Front electric windows are useless, the drivers side has basically stopped moving up and down and the passengers side is heading the same way! I went to the dealer with this problem and they claimed there was nothing they could do!

A metal bracket which holds two pipes in place under the bonnet broke not too long ago, but this was fixed with a new one from the scrap yard!

A very small amount of water leakage into the boot and driver foot well, but nothing major!

General Comments:

The car is a 1.5 litre petrol 12 valve, now if you know anything about cars think about it for a minute!

Anyway the car is 89-90bhp and it is surprisingly quick! I have beat many a beater car in races e.g. Nissan Primera GT, Peugeot 306 TD and VW Passat TDi!

Top end the car will do about 105mph, but with no driver aids apart from PAS it feels like you are doing 100mph in a go kart!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2004

25th Apr 2004, 14:11

That 306 TD couldn't have been trying very hard.

23rd Mar 2005, 09:20

None of them could have, especially the Primera GT as one of these would easily beat a Proton of all things!

15th May 2006, 11:57

Why couldn't the window be fixed. Surely, all things repairable. I am actually looking at purchasing a Proton with a broken driver window so naturally this comment worries me somewhat.

2nd Jan 2007, 09:21

What worries me somewhat is that you are considering buying such an evil piece of junk!! :-)

22nd Feb 2007, 07:51

The Persona/Wira is actually the old Mitsu Evo II. It is actually a good car. Cheers.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 11 reviews