1999 Rover - Austin 75 Reviews from UK and Ireland

1999 Rover - Austin 75 Club SE 1.8 petrol

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Freelander

Summary:

A reliable car that has stood the test of time well

Faults:

Head gasket blew when car had only 20,000 miles on the clock.

General Comments:

This was my father's car; he purchased it from my great uncle, who had had it from almost new.

The car was regularly serviced and maintained.

The head gasket blew at 20,000 miles when my great uncle owned the car.

However this was correctly repaired and the car is still going strong with no head gasket problems.

Other than that, the car was and is A1 with no rust.

It is painted in a green colour, which suits this car and makes it classy and elegant.

Not a car for performance lovers, but for a family car with more class than a Mondeo or a Vectra, it is perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd August, 2013

1999 Rover - Austin 75 Club SE 2.0 litre V6

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Brilliant!

Faults:

The car suffered from occasional starting problems. Eventually it got to the stage where it would start from cold, but not from hot. A replacement cam sensor seems to have cured the fault for a very reasonable price compared to the cost of parts for some other makes.

The 6-disc CD multi-changer jammed. Luckily it was easy to repair.

Other than that it has just been a question of regular routine maintenance.

General Comments:

The 2.0 litre V6 petrol engine is exceptionally smooth and refined, and is generally very quiet except when worked hard when it produces a very satisfying roar!

The car is not exactly sluggish, but the best acceleration comes at anything over 4000rpm - you can really feel the nose lift as the car takes off!

The car is very solid, well built and heavy to drive even with power steering. However I have to say it does make you feel that you are having to really drive the vehicle - something you don't get in many modern cars.

The interior is one of the best designs I know. The sepia-tinted oval dials and burr walnut effect trim give an air of real British class. As for the exterior, the smooth flowing lines and chrome trim really do look good. Even young people appreciate the classy elegance of this car.

Fuel consumption is not the best particularly with regard to town driving, but I suppose this is only to be expected from a V6 engine in a heavy car.

The back seats could do with more legroom, and the person in the middle back seat has to be very short otherwise their head gets pushed into the roof! However those travelling in the front enjoy unrivaled comfort.

The best car I have owned since getting rid of my first one - a 1986 Renault 18 GTS Deauville.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2005

19th Jun 2006, 23:18

Hi could you advise what you done to fix the 6-disc CD multi-changer jamming. I also have this problem.

Thanks John, love the car, had a Mercedes E200 before, would not go back.

1999 Rover - Austin 75 Club SE 2.0 V6

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

One of Britain's fine cars!

Faults:

Front passenger door lock seized in freezing weather due to lack of grease.

General Comments:

I have always bought Rover cars primarily because they are British, and promised myself that one day I would own the ultimate Rover, the 75!

The car is absolutely wonderful, the interior is very well built and wouldn't look out of place in a Bentley costing 10 times as much as the Rover.

The exterior is also a delight and in my opinion the classiest looking car on the road.

I have driven the BMW 3 Series, Audi A4, Mercedes C Class and Jaguar X Type and I can honestly say that the Rover eclipses them all in terms of comfort and refinement... plus it's British!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2004

1999 Rover - Austin 75 Connoisseur SE 2.5 V6 petrol

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9-5

Summary:

Wonderful machine - more than a car!

Faults:

Virtually nothing. There was a slight vibration from the rear of the car when driving over poor road surfaces. This turned out to be a loose exhaust.

Windscreen wipers occasionally judder.

General Comments:

I adore this car. Previously driven Saabs, BMWs, Volvos and Rover 600's and prefer it to all of them.

Extremely comfortable, fast, quiet and smooth. Ideal for my high annual mileage.

I have never driven a car which attracts so much attention driving down the high street. On a recent trip to France, we had to practically fight people off when it was parked up!

Handling could be a bit sharper - it's a bit looser than the BMW, but the 75 is much more comfortable.

As a long distance cruiser it's unbeatable. Can't wait for the hot MG versions to arrive.

Avoid the 1.8 petrol though - it's underpowered for the size of car.

V6 engines are beautifully smooth and powerful.

Interior a work of art, wonderful seats.

Can be thirsty if driven hard and Rover service is not the cheapest.

Lightyears ahead of previous Rovers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

17th Mar 2003, 10:28

How does the 75 compare with the 620? Both my dad and I have Rover 620's, and he is thinking of a 75 when he changes his car. Should he get a 75?

27th Mar 2003, 07:38

Yes! If you like the 600 you will love the 75. Very smooth and quiet, I always found the 600 slightly choppy on rough roads. The 75 has a fantastic ride.

It's a more common sight on the roads now, but still attracts some attention when we go abroad in it.

26th Nov 2004, 02:20

I bought my Rover 75 2 1/2 years ago and it is indeed a beautiful car and great to drive. It will spoil you for driving anything else. If I was writing this review a month ago I would have said how wonderful etc. But...

There is a known problem with the coolant system and for some reason the head gasket blowing is a common problem. As there are 2 head gaskets, this will work out expensive. My T reg 1999 just collapsed at a busy roundabout with this very problem. Apparently there is a problem with the air con pump as well which I am told is connected. Total cost of repair - 2700. The car will only retail at 5,500 so what can I say. Gutted is one word. So beware, this is a known problem, but I didn't know anything about this or how to avoid the problem, indeed if it is possible. Make sure the coolant is topped up for one thing, but I don't know if this stops it happening. The parts for this job come to 1000 and labour 1500 to 1700. Given that I paid 11,000 2 1/2 years ago and I have had hefty bills for exhaust, tyres and brakes in between, you could say I have been unlucky. But I am trying to be philosophical.

You have been warned!

11th Apr 2005, 06:06

All Rover 75's come with the K series engine except the diesel, which is a BMW unit.

13th Feb 2006, 13:34

The 1.8 is the only K series in the line up. The 2.0 and 2.5 V6 are KV6 engines and are very different from the 4 cylinder engines. KV6 had issues in the 800 as they were practically hand built however head gasket failure is very unlikely in the 75.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 4 reviews