smart roadster Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 3 of 3

2004 smart roadster Brabus Coupe 101 698

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 698 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carAudi A2

Summary:

Awesome fun to drive, a nightmare to own

Faults:

The worst car I have ever owned.

In the garage 7 times in 11 months over 20k miles.

Faults include:

Doors opening randomly,

Engine Management Unit failure (twice),

Rain sensor failed,

Air con failed three times and, worryingly,

A brake fault.

Also the 6k mile service interval is very short by today's standards.

General Comments:

It is quite simply the most fun I have ever had in a car.

It's a roller skate on wheels.

Prepare to laugh out loud every time you find yourself on a B road, to smile when you are on an A road, and to grin and bear it on the motorways.

Comfort:

It's a very comfortable little car. The heated seats are a boon when the roof is down.

The seats are supportive and comfortable over long journeys.

The stereo is rubbish, and even with speaker upgrades still sounds poor with the door panels rattling at the slightest sound of bass.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

2005 smart roadster 698cc turbo

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 698cc turbo Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6700 miles
Previous carMCC Smart Passion

Summary:

Brilliant handling, gorgeous looking sieve!

Faults:

Car suddenly jumped out of gear repeatedly, engine would not rev and you would have to come to a complete stop, switch off engine and take key out and then start over again! Very unfortunate when it happened to me in the middle of the M4!

The roof leaks sporadically, seat-belts are very wet most of the time!

General Comments:

Fabulous handling and fun car, only gripe is that it would be more than perfect with a standard gearbox and not the semi-automatic rubbish that smart insist on!

I have never had so many stares when driving this car! it really stands out in shine yellow!

It's so low than many people have difficulty getting in and out of it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2005

1st Dec 2005, 14:42

UPDATE! 29.11.2005 - After 7 months and 6500 Miles the car has started misfiring and only running on 2 of its 3 Cylinders! Booked into local Smart dealer for repairs and service tomorrow.

8th Mar 2006, 17:01

UPDATE : Engine no longer misfiring, but went in to have all seals replaced early january, the car has started leaking again (08.03.06). Other than that everything is OK so far.

2003 smart roadster 0.8

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 0.8 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Everything a Roadster should be and more

Faults:

I cannot fault the car. Having experienced minor faults on previous cars (leaky roof, wheel bearings etc) inc an Mx5, Crx, and new Celica, this was a welcome relief.

General Comments:

I would recommend a Smart Roadster to anyone. It may have a small engine, but the turbo and handling make up for that. Test drive one. The performance is better than my previous cars listed above and than most of my friends cars which surprised them too.

It’s nice to know that it’s returning 55mpg and scored very highly on recent crash tests.

Being able to operate the roof whilst driving is great too as are the stunning looks. Never knew a car could turn so many heads. (women too!).

My only advice would be to check the spec of what you are buying. There are a number of Roadster lights about now which have been stripped of many features inc the electric roof. Also, watch out for those with smaller engines and and LHD examples.

Check out the colours before buying too. Photos can be deceiving. we wanted Black/silver, but came away with yellow/black as it stood out a mile compared to the rest.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2005

2003 smart roadster 698cc

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 698cc Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 miles
Most recent distance9500 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Great car, poor dealers

Faults:

ECU replaced due to faulty dash warning lights.

Rear window heating failed.

Interior light didn't work.

Door handle cable broke.

Leaks from a door mirror, then leaked from the soft top.

The above were all fixed under the warranty.

LED indicator on the instrumentation gauge intermittant fault - still to be fixed.

General Comments:

Lovely looking car and great car to drive. Handles excellently (especially with the 'sports pack' alloys) and gets stared at by everyone (especially in yellow).

Dealer service is disappointing and expensive. Car quality control is not the best.

I still love car though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2005

22nd May 2005, 14:43

I have a roadster, the size is impractical, but the fun is immense.

23rd May 2005, 12:48

I brought a roadster on 17th April and 5 attempts later to fix the numerous faults I've still not got delivery of it and no eta of when it will be ready. customer service is very poor, but I love the car so much I don't want to give up on it.

Driving a courtesy roadster and believe me I'm getting lots of fun out of it.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 12 reviews