2002 Subaru Impreza Reviews from UK and Ireland

2002 Subaru Impreza WRX 2.0 turbo

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Corrado

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Awesome performance with 0-60 in 4.8s and great handling. Uprated coilover suspension and stiffer (adjustable) anti-roll bars and chassis bracing made it unbelievable through the bends, and on Bridgestone RE070 tyres in dry weather, it was never less than amazing. On road and track, this car was thrilling, and never let me down once in almost 3 full years and 40k miles. Sure, it drank fuel, but my God it was worth every drop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2011

2002 Subaru Impreza Sport 2.0

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Very reliable car, refuses to die!

Faults:

Drivers door window motor and dashboard clock; both replaced under warranty at 60K miles.

General Comments:

After 170k miles I now have to replace a rear shock.

Considering this car has carried all my work gear around rural roads, farm lanes and across fields for the last 6 years, this is not bad!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2008

2002 Subaru Impreza WRX Wagon 2.0 turbo

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carBMW M3

Summary:

Looks like a fridge, goes like stink!

Faults:

Had to change the clutch to a sports clutch, as the car is running bigger power, and the original clutch started slipping.

Apart from that, it's been fine for the six months that I've owned it.

General Comments:

The performance on this car is blistering, even if it is a wagon!

The car is very rare for the UK, as it's a white Newage wagon, and according to Subaru UK there isn't another one over here.

Brakes are pretty rubbish and fade very quickly.

The interior is a bit bland, but nothing a few quid can't sort out, gear knob, gauges etc.

The car is a 2002 JDM WRX and has had a fair few modification to the engine, VF34 Turbo, uprated fuel pump, ECUTEK 3 Remap, K+N induction kit, straight through exhaust (no cats), Exedy organic clutch, and it's running 312.9hp and 300lb/ft, and can be a bit of a handful in the wet!

It is by far the most fun I've ever had in a car, it gets all the looks, ridiculously fast and extremely reliable... why buy anything else!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2007

2002 Subaru Impreza WRX 2.0 turbo

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Puts a smile on anybody's face!

Faults:

Nothing so far, after 5 months of driving, but when purchased, the back of the front seats was starting to fray slightly, & boot lining was not fitted properly.

Fuel consumption - HA!

Subaru quote a combined figure of 30.7mpg, but I'd say it's closer to 25mpg! You could possibly get 30mpg out of it... if you didn't touch the loud pedal at all?!

General Comments:

An excellent drivers car, with great performance... when in the turbo range!

Under 3000rpm it's a dog. I'd like to get a PPP fitted which supposedly improves this?

Over steer city if pushed hard, but this is also due to worse tyres on the back (previous owner didn't keep them all the same)! Will be changing to Pirelli P-Zero Nero's all round when they wear out a bit!

I'd heard that the Subaru dealers were supposed to be great, & I tend to agree. A few niggles with them, but generally the best dealers I've dealt with!

Servicing costs slightly high, but you get that all-important Subaru stamp!

Had to pay slightly more for the WR Blue, but it's definitely the best colour & worth the extra cost!

Generally, an excellent car & thoroughly recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2004

5th Jan 2008, 16:42

I am looking to change cars within the next few weeks. The Subaru Impreza WRX looks like a great car.

What sort of long range ability does this car have? My job requires me to occasionally drive long distances.

2002 Subaru Impreza wrx 2.0 turbo

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20410 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

A casino without a bar

Faults:

Many rubber fixings are showing signs of wear.

Shoe well carpets again show heavy signs of wear.

Pressure push extending cup holder has broken and can no longer be used.

General Comments:

I haven't smiled so much driving to work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2004

2002 Subaru Impreza Turbo 2.0 flat-4 turbo petrol

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 flat-4 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Like most hyped cars, it's not all you might expect

Faults:

Reliable as a swiss watch.

General Comments:

Viewed logically, this is a belting car. It's fast, has probably the best sounding four cylinder engine ever designed, looks good, grips well and is as reliable as every motoring survey suggests.

But like most things which have been hyped to ridiculous levels, the overall package somehow fell short of my expectations, particularly once you become accustomed to its truly spectacular performance. This is probably the fault of the hype, and many of my other criticisms the fault of British society, but there you go. As ownership experiences, they count. And besides, since when were performance cars about logic? They're about passion.

After a year and 14,000 miles of ownership, I concluded that the Impreza Turbo is actually a very average car fitted with a storming engine. The interior is the definition of naff, and the 4wd gives great grip, but actually very little adjustability to the handling. The steering is probably the worst thing about it, being like virtually every other Japanese car - light and easy to use, but without much in the way of feel.

I actually thought my old 306 Rallye was more engaging and entertaining in the twisties, if nowhere near as quick.

The important thing to consider before buying an Impreza, paying through the nose for insurance, and putting up with every scrote in a 20 mile radius trying to rip it off at every opportunity (and they will - even if you garage it!) is to take a drive in one, and ask yourself the following question.

"If this car didn't do 0-60 in 5.something seconds, what else would make it in any way interesting?". Then ask "are these things worth the insurance costs equal to the GDP of a small country, and the sub-20 mpg fuel returns?"

I decided they weren't and chopped it in for another Rallye (insurance dropped by 65%, fuel bills by a third) and nobody has tried to stove my garage door in to remove it without asking me). I'm also reminded what decent steering and throttle adjustability feel like. Haven't looked back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th December, 2003

7th May 2004, 08:38

I know where you are coming from.

Got rid of mine in the end for most of the reasons you listed.

Still, was a great car and I will miss it.

20th May 2004, 06:34

I am thinking of trading my 306 S16 in for a new wrx. Now listing to other pug owners, what do I do?

10th Jun 2004, 16:56

I traded in my 306 Rallye for the 2002 WRX.

1st off: 306 Rallye = LEGEND. The car is amazing, excellent all rounder. Best hatch back ever made. The gear ratios are spot on and the engine is just canned BEEF! However, I had to send it to a new home because of (minor yet annoying) reliability issues.

Which brings us to the WRX. I'm so used to the rattles and clanks of a French car, every time my shades rattle in the glove box of my Impreza I think 'What now!'. It's definitely one for the status, performance and reliability, but not a great one for the wallet and negative attention it draws.

If I won the lottery I'd have both parked tight next to the 360 Spider!

6th Nov 2005, 00:19

This is a great car. I see this car all over the place, but I think the evos are much better of a car. they're both about the same of a car, but I have heard mitsubishi's are much better cost wise.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 7 reviews