Subaru Vivio Reviews from UK and Ireland

1998 Subaru Vivio GLI 660cc petrol

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 660cc petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance68478 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

A waste of money

Faults:

My rear seats have begun to wear. Resulting in the passenger's back leaning against the frame.

CV joint did go, and was nearly impossible to replace, and was expensive when I did.

General Comments:

The car is fairly unresponsive in 1st and 2nd gear, but goes like stink in 3rd and 4th.

It is really economical. I am averaging 55-57mpg.

However, getting parts for the car is quite a challenge, but this is because the little thing is constantly falling victim to the terrible Irish roads.

The car is so simple to park in town.

I find you need to develop a 'knack' when you take off in 1st gear. This is unusual. Or is it just mine?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2009

8th Nov 2013, 15:38

I have a customer with this vehicle looking for the CV JOINTS... Can you direct me to a place to purchase the CV joints? Appreciate it.

1998 Subaru Vivio 660cc petrol

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 660cc petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A little bimmer!

Faults:

Rattle from parcel shelf! Full stop.

General Comments:

Nutty little thing, roadholding is superb, quality of the build is excellent.

I can't believe the power of this tiny engine, it's 660cc and it pulls so well. Doesn't like first or second gear, get it into fifth and it flies.

I have always had bigger cars, but I fell in love with this from the first drive. A little bimmer! What does it run on, cos the fuel gauge seems to never move.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2008

1997 Subaru Vivio LE 658 cc

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 658 cc Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Alto

Summary:

A good find

Faults:

Just a side light not working.

A chugging while driving along, as though it had dirt in the carburettor.

Radio not working.

General Comments:

A really reliable little marvel, I have fallen in love with it, and would be prepared to go any distance to get the parts for it.

It is loud as others have said, but as for the suspension, it is as smooth as velvet in comparison with the previous car.

The chugging in the motor apparently could be something to do with an electric sensor on the fuel air mix, (according to mechanic), and the part new costs 75, but I am hoping to get it from a dismantlers.

Since buying it, I have seen 5 of them in the last month, which is quite a lot considering none of them are younger than 97.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2008

9th Apr 2009, 09:34

I would just like to say that although the Subaru Vivio is an economical, easy to park Japanese hatchback, I would not buy a Subaru again. That person who had a Suzuki Alto has not moved up in the world by purchasing a Vivio. If anything they have moved down. The Vivio's parts a damn near impossible to find, and when you do find them, they are ridiculously overpriced. I am also experiencing the rattling bookshelf, and dodgy radio. Those issues are odd ones.

2nd May 2009, 17:48

The chugging engine is strange, but myself and a mechanic came to the conclusion that the car is simply sensitive when it comes to the petrol in the tank. I have owned it for 10 years and wonder where all the others are, I have only seen about 8 in that time, most of them 1992.

18th May 2009, 13:42

There are few on the road now because Subaru sold tiny quantities of them in the UK, they were hardly even advertised. Most people who wanted a small 4x4 went for the larger, faster Justy, the Vivio being designed as a "kei" car for Japanese roads. (tiny dimensions with an engine under 660cc for cheap tax) I'd like one, what sort of MPG do they get? how fast?

1994 Subaru Vivio GI 658CC

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 658CC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance28500 miles
Previous carSubaru Vivio

Summary:

A excellent comfy round about

Faults:

Not had any problems.

General Comments:

The car is a very comfortable drive, it is a reliable little run around, it was my 1st car after passing my driving test and it is a excellent car, a pleasure to drive.

I would highly recommend the Vivo to any one wanting a small reliable comfy car to drive, it is nippy to on the roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2006

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews