1998 Tata Gurkha td 2.0

Summary:

A reliable spacious plodder

Faults:

Needed new key switch as I broke it in the lock.

New clutch 50k.

Tyres.

Tail pipe of exhaust 65k.

New battery about 60 to 70k.

General Comments:

Very roomy and good visibility.

All electrics and tinted windows.

Fairly slow, but sure.

Very reliable, started after being left outside for over 6 weeks. (You must wait for the ignition light to go out first, as with all diesels)

I was told that it was reasonably constructed an solid, therefore safe.

Would be a good work van owing to the enormous capacity when the back seats are down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th November, 2006

1999 Tata Gurkha TDI 4x4 2.0 turbo diesel

Summary:

This has got to be the best value 4x4 on the market

Faults:

None. The only fault with the car is that the passenger seat has a small split in it.

General Comments:

If you want a basic 4x4, this has to be the best value 4x4 on the market. They are very cheap to run, and if you are a keen do it yourself person as I am, you have the best of both worlds, because they are as good as owning a van. You can carry wood, doors, almost anything with them. They are not the fastest of cars or the most stylish. They are big, and they look the part.

I would definitely buy another one. I would recommend these cars to anybody.

As I said before, in my opinion, the cheapest and best value 4x4 on the market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2005

1999 Tata Gurkha 4x4 2.0 TDI

Summary:

Definite contender for worst car ever built

Faults:

Clutch replaced.

Turbo pipe split and leaking oil.

Locks faulty.

Power steering faulty.

Electric windows faulty.

Temperature guage faulty.

Bumpers falling off.

Gearbox linkage snapped.

4x4 low ratio not working.

Most interior fittings broken.

General Comments:

Smokey, slow, unreliable, smelly, uncomfortable, build quality worse than I've ever seen before. This car is truly terrible. Don't be tempted that you can get even a low mileage example for next to nothing, they're not worth it because they are rubbish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th August, 2005

1998 Tata Gurkha TDI

Summary:

Good performer

Faults:

Replacement gearbox at 46,000, but the dealer made the fatal mistake of putting the final drive shaft back to front.

Watch out for the inlet pipe, which leads to the air filter. If you can't get the part, you can use the mesh out of a metal sieve to cover the inlet pipe of the opening directly connected to the air filter housing, and using the 2 metal clips, which were attached to the housing.

Steering end bearing replaced at 65,950. Cost £30.00 for new bolt, welding.

General Comments:

Although it has had quite a few parts replaced, I still enjoy the Gurkha. It starts every time, and I used to drive it daily from Hereford to Newport, a round trip approx 110 miles.

It's good value for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2003

1997 Tata Gurkha Nepal 2.0 diesel

Summary:

Cheap Jeep alternative

Faults:

Rear exhaust box replaced under warranty July 2000.

Failed 1st MOT with rear half shaft seal perished.

Seats upholstery starting to crack.

General Comments:

Stable towing car.

Definitely not quick (top speed 80mph ish) and a 0-60 of about 30secs!- turbo diesel is a lot better.

Economy is about 37mpg regardless of how you drive.

Excellent driving position.

Dealer network is very poor although dealings with Tata HQ in Yorkshire very satisfactory.

Because this car is RWD only (4x4 are available), it can be a little tail happy if pushed too hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2001

1st Sep 2002, 12:49

Updated news on car - just taken for 42000 mile service and had the following report: Suspension bush missing, needs 2 front shockers, 2 tyres, front wishbone, has a slipping clutch, and the exhaust has gone again. Garage verdict-car is very dangerous! Would I buy another? - NO!! My advice is avoid Gurkhas unless you are willing to spend huge amounts to repair them.

18th Aug 2005, 16:14

My tata Ghurka is a V registered and its very good value for money. it cost me 1K and with no rust, good economy its excellent value compared with Land Rover etc. prices.

It's a great rugged strong vehicle with excellent towing capability. Anyone considering buying one should be prepared to accept slower speeds, but they will be rewarded with its strengh. If your capable of doing basic maintenance and are not a boy racer then seriously consider the tata. The basic feel of its construction is similar to an old BL vehicle. Finaly, buy a good one and haggle the price, common sense tells you that any vehicle that's clapped out when you buy it will not serve you well.