2001 Toyota Avensis Reviews from UK and Ireland

2001 Toyota Avensis VVTi 1.6

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A really cheap to run, reliable car

Faults:

Alternator.

Battery.

Water leak in boot.

General Comments:

As a car enthusiast / petrol head - I wish this car would break so I could replace it with something more fun as a daily runabout to work. However, as a practical car - it has been nothing short of excellent. It has handled all the abuse I have thrown at it extremely well, and is used as a cheap daily commuter around town that I don't need to worry about getting a few dents in.

The only thing that has gone wrong with it in 3 years of ownership has been the alternator. The battery was on its last legs (original battery, which was 9 years old at the time) and I think the alternator packing in sent the battery packing as well.

There was a slight water leak in the boot on the left hand side, which I understand is a common fault on them. They tend to go at the seal used between the panels. A quick bit of rubber sealant and the leak was gone.

All the maintenance is done by myself, and the car has required nothing more than oil / air filter and plug changes.

The only wear and tear parts that have been replaced are the two front tyres.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2012

2001 Toyota Avensis Aura 1.6

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carToyota Avensis

Summary:

Would not drive one if I got it for nothing

Faults:

Short block had to be replaced, as it was burning oil and the gear box packed in after 95000 miles. Very sluggish when taking off.

My brother had to get block done on his 2004 model, and my sister the same on her 2002 model. We all taxi these and will never buy Toyota again...

General Comments:

I know many taxi drivers who would not buy Toyota as they have lost confidence in the car...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2008

2001 Toyota Avensis GS 1.8 VVTi

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 VVTi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carFiat Marea

Summary:

Top notch, unbeatable reliability

Faults:

Nothing major, fuse blew knocking out remote locking and alarm, but easily fixed with a new fuse.

General Comments:

This is possibly the best car I've ever had. It is comfortable, spacious and ultra reliable. Some people complain about the performance, but honestly, where in the UK can you use high performance vehicles without it being illegal? The performance on the Avensis is perfect for everyday driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2008

2001 Toyota Avensis GS 2.0D-4D

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0D-4D Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Excellent all round car

Faults:

Had no problems with the car at all.

General Comments:

I have owned this car four years so I decided to submit a review.

Very reliable, other than the odd bulb burning out its been a joy to own.

Previously owned a 110bhp Passat Tdi, and the Toyota engine is much better. It feels quicker, the engine is quieter and the torque is spread over a wider rev band, in the Passat the power arrives in one short lump and tails off, the D-4d is much more flexible and revvable.

Handling wise its very good, sharp steering and balanced handling, can feel quite sporty if you are in the mood, again it knocks spots off the Passat which was just a blancmange in the corners.

Inside everything is there, all the electric stuff you would expect, its all screwed together solidly, everything works, just functional and efficient.

Outside the build is good and of course the paint suffers stonechips like any other car which is basically unavoidable, I like the shape, it doesn't shout 'LOOK AT ME' but that's fine as far as I'm concerned.

I average 48-60 mpg mixed driving which is very good I think.

To sum up I don't think you can go wrong with this car, of course no car is perfect, but this car does everything well and most likely will never let you down so I'll give it a big thumbs up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2005

13th Feb 2006, 08:34

How much are Toyota paying you to come out with all this bull.

18th Feb 2006, 10:12

That's a very constructive comment, very intellectual, you must have taken a great deal of thought with that paragraph. Well done. A VW owner I presume.

7th Mar 2006, 11:22

Just bought 2001 Avensis 2ltr GS private and after 1 week the amber engine light illuminated. I took the car in for what I thought was a service light and had a 10,000 mile service done. The garage techician told the service staff that he had turned the light out and if it came back on I would need a new catalytic converter at £788 fitted. Has anyone had this problem before? I have not heard of them going faulty before, car has 113000 on the clock. Could it be the oxygen sensor that is faulty? Any comments please.

2001 Toyota Avensis Vermont 1.6 petrol

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carSeat Cordoba

Summary:

Unexciting, but does the job very well

Faults:

The seatbelts can be rather stiff.

General Comments:

The Avensis has been a very reliable car in the 3 years I have owned it.

The 1.6 litre engine can top 120mph, but it feels a lot slower than my previous car, a Seat Cordoba 1.6, that could do just 105mph.

The seatbelts are sometimes very stiff.

The cabin is rather gloomy and unimaginative, but feels solidly built.

The Avensis isn't particularly exciting to look at or to drive, but it's well built, reliable and comfortable.

The dealership has been a total wash out.

The car itself has given excellent service so far, but I can't say the same about the dealership.

However, it wasn't worth the money I paid for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 5 reviews