Triumph Acclaim Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 3 of 3

1982 Triumph Acclaim HLS 1.3 petrol

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

Well engineered saloon, very good car

Faults:

The piston rings wore out eventually, but that's down to high mileage, and/or careless owners.

General Comments:

For it's engine size it's a very quick car. My mates cars come nowhere near (Nova 1.3 SR's, Escort Mk3 1.6).

They are very quiet, comfortable, and have good equipment. They drive much like modern cars.

They have a nasty tendency to torque-steer if you try to accelerate too fast, but the road holding is otherwise superb.

The styling is a bit dated now, but they are incredible cars and I would certainly have another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2001

1983 Triumph Acclaim HLS 1.3

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles

Summary:

Pocket money motoring!

Faults:

So far, nothing.

General Comments:

A car for £100 complete with half a tank of petrol, 6 months commuting, just had a new MOT with no repairs required.

45mpg!

Novelty value will wear off in the end, but for the time being a very cheap way of getting to work. Stick to A and B roads, not really at home on the motorways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th December, 2000

9th Aug 2001, 18:43

I own a low mileage model which I enjoy driving. Areas of concern are rusting of the chassis and around the wheel arches. It appears I have to deal with these on an annual basis. The car is metallic red in colour.

31st Oct 2002, 04:29

I have had a 1983 Triumph Acclaim for some time and my only complaints are, not much space for rear seat passengers, difficult aquiring parts, otherwise an absolute gem.

Chris.

3rd Nov 2002, 06:40

Fair comment, it can be a little cramped when full of passengers, but the sheer reliability and superb engineering outweigh it's faults many times over. Utterly brilliant car - woefully underrated.

6th Jan 2004, 09:35

I currently own an X-Reg Triumph Acclaim CD. I bought it three years ago and am only the second owner from new. It had been marvelously maintained and I have covered just over 15,000 miles for the cost of a replacement windscreen wiper! In the last few weeks the clutch has begun slipping so I have some serious decisions to make - do I have it repaired or move on to a different car?

This has been my second Acclaim; the first one I bought at only six months old and kept that for fifteen years also. Very economical motoring!

1983 Triumph Acclaim HL 1.3

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

A magnificent vehicle!!!!

Faults:

A very small amount of rust on the wheel arches and sills, but not very much at all.

The only thing I ever added is an exhaust and a new air filter after 17 years running!

General Comments:

A fine car, quite nippy and it looks the business. Can easily pass my friend's Nova. It also took his Citroen AX and his Renault 5, until he crashed them trying not to be left too far behind by me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

14th Dec 2000, 17:30

My first car was a Triumph Acclaim, I loved it to bits for all of the same reasons.

Also - who cares if devout Triumph owners club fanatics claim it is not a 'Real' Triumph, after all, it's their loss!

Respect.

14th Jan 2001, 18:57

Very underrated car, and perfect for us skinflints! I had a water pump go, but I'd gladly swap my Renault 21 for another clean example.

1984 Triumph Acclaim HL 1.3 petrol

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

Still a fine, capable runabout if you can find a good one!

Faults:

Required a reconditioned gearbox when first bought and also a replacement radiator. After that it drove 10,000 totally fault-free miles.

General Comments:

It was my first car and it was great. Surprisingly fast around the country lanes and not bad on the motorway either - pretty impressive for a 1.3 litre vehicle.

Under the skin it is of course a Honda and I certainly enjoyed that renowned Japanese reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2000

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews