2001 Renault Megane Classic 1.6 16v


You get a lot for what you pay for


Airbag calculator (replaced under warranty)

Electrical problem due to damaged wire insulation that caused the engine to run rough and stop (dealer believed it was a faulty vacuum sensor and replaced it, the problem persisted and then I found the fault and fixed it myself)

General Comments:

The car handling is excellent, safe in wet pavement.

Braking is very good, specially the automatic emergency braking system that boosts the braking power if the brake pedal is depressed quickly, making braking distance shorter in emergency situations.

The engine power is enough, but it could use 20 more horses.

The equipment is very generous: airbags, ABS, excellent stereo, electric mirrors, power windows, power steering, air conditioning, there is nothing more I could ask for.

The interior was designed with excellent taste.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

2001 Renault Megane RXE 1.6 16v


Better than I thought


A fog light that fogs internally.

Dead battery at 8 months. Replaced under warranty.

Dead remote control battery a few days ago, cheap to replace.

General Comments:

It's an excellent car, even at 150+ kph it handles right, it likes driving in wet weather.

A/C works perfectly, heater heats very fast.

Engine could have 10 or 20 more horsepower but its still above average.

Transmission works smoothly and precise.

Can't complaint about the service, a bit slow but is a high quality costumer service.

This is my first Renault ever and I can't complain, my last Fiat Marea got totalled in a small crash against a lamp post at 20 kph, engine mounts moved badly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2002

11th Jan 2002, 06:53

I have to add that my model equals to the Privilege model with double optic headlamps (work excellent!) and all windows are electric operated, trip computer, spoiler, 15 inch wheels and leather all around.

1st Mar 2002, 22:26

I have the same 16 valve 1.6 litre produced in Colombia. Excellent ABS, have fully tested it on the road. No spoiler still, but I'm looking forward to getting one.

2000 Renault Megane Classic RXE 1.6 16v


Understated mid sedan, buy it!


Nothing, just a burnt main headlight bulb. Repaired for free.

General Comments:

Excellent car to drive and maintain.

It lacks a little low end power, but nothing drastic, you get a lot of power from this great 1.6 engine, better than average.

Fuel consumption is brilliant.

Paint quality is superb.

Lots of techies for low money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

8th Jul 2001, 18:20

Hi, I have a Renault Megane Coupe 1996 model. I came accidentally across this page as I am looking for a diesel engine to fit in my Megane. In my opinion my model of the megane is beautiful, but it uses too much fuel. And the problem is that it is not so powerful. Had it been powerful, the excessive consumption would have been justified.

Apart from the high fuel consumption, I can only say words of praise with regards to the Megane. First of all it has a very beautiful shape and it is has a good drive.

I would like to ask anybody out there whether they know anyone who changed the Megane's engine to a diesel engine? Do you think think that I can fix the 19 dTi of the Megane Classic without having any problems? Please if anyone can help me solve this problem, please do so. My e-mail address is grechstr@mail.global.net.mt

16th Sep 2001, 10:56

There's a big difference in the engines of the 1996 and 2000 up models: 16 valves instead of 8, 110 HP on the 1600cc model as compared with 90, better fuel economy.

As for diesels, they're very popular with fleet cars where I live.

2000 Renault Megane RXE 1.6


Brilliant choice!


Loose alternator belt, the car ran fine but in cold mornings it emmited a loud noise. Dealer replaced a new belt at 18500 kms and everything is OK.

General Comments:

Brilliant car, it behaves great on all kind of roads, brilliant engine, very smooth and silent. You can drive in a uphill with the air conditioning running on a hot day and the temp needle never goes above half, a problem in my old car!

The same car, but with a 2.0 from a Laguna would fly!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2001

1999 Renault Megane RXE 1.6 16v


A great 4 door cruiser


Absolutely nothing.

I put a 7 in dealer service because they keep the car one whole day and sometimes two days to do an oil change and brake inspection.

Oil changes every 5000 kms in the dealer to keep the warranty.

General Comments:

The car is perfect, everything is like new, I was afraid of buying a Renault but now I can see that they have worked hard on reliability items.

The engine is great, uses no oil, fuel consumption according to the dash screen is 9.4 lts/100 kms.

The A/C and heating works well even on really sunny days.

I've got the top of the line (RXE) with all electrics and I put a sunroof and a spoiler, it looks great.

The trunk is big, even bigger than my last Cavalier (which was a piece of crap).

The sound system is average.

It's the most silent car I've ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2001