1998 Acura CL Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1998 Acura CL Premium 2.3 CL from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 CL Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carAcura CL

Summary:

Good investment. Can count on it to get you around in style

Faults:

Not much beyond regular items.

Changed tires @ 87000.

Front brakes needed to be changed at 90000. Back brakes were still good.

Could use a little more power.

General Comments:

Feel and look is superb.

I always opt for manual cars and the shift on this car is amazingly smooth.

The seats are leather and you just cannot tell the age from looking at it.

Averaging about 29 miles / gallon.

AC / Heater is super.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2006

1998 Acura CL 3.0 Premium 3.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Fantastic car minus the sad transmission

Faults:

Transmission is slipping. Started at 75k miles and refused to accelerate past 62 mph while I was passing someone. Does this periodically and it's a little unnerving. Shifting is getting bad between 1st and 2nd. Appears 2nd gear is the problem.

Took the vehicle to Acura months ago and went on a test drive with a mechanic. Of course, the car drove perfect. So I'm waiting for the tranny to really act up before taking it in.

General Comments:

The CL is very well made (minus the transmission issue). Exterior build quality is top notch (paint, body panel alignment, etc.)

Interior is very nice and everything is standard (moon roof, auto temp control, radio controls on steering wheel, etc.) The leather seats are mostly vinyl though, only the middle section is actually leather. It's held up well considering the car is 7 years old.

Seats are very supportive. Very easy to adjust as it's power.

I saw a white CL years ago and really liked the style back then. I purchased a white one (maybe the same?) and really like the looks of it. Plus I might only see 1 a day unlike accords.

One reason I bought it at a local Acura dealer was that they changed all fluids, redid the brakes, etc. My mechanic said it was in perfect mechanical condition. Plus I had all maintenance records from the previous owners as both of them had it serviced at the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2005

23rd Jul 2011, 19:53

Updating - now at 128,000 miles.

Transmission has behaved now with no problems. Has a slight oil leak, but other than that, no mechanical issues in over 4 years. Last thing done was alternator/battery replaced.

Paint still looks great, with zero oxidizing. No rattles, leaks, or anything strange. Inside is still good except the driver's leather seat has cracks due to age, but it's still acceptable.

The engine is still strong, great pull and passing ability. Overall, zero complaints.

Best car I've ever owned.

1998 Acura CL 3.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Excellent car

Faults:

I have had no problems with this car as of now.

General Comments:

Very nice car. Has great handling and excellent acceleration. Although the transmission is an automatic I would choose this car over most others in its class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2005

1998 Acura CL 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great investment

Faults:

My biggest problem with this car have been coins getting stuck in the passenger seating track. It happened to me three times, and it is a pain in the butt! Not only does the seat slide back when you hit the brakes, the dam thing threw people forward as well! I guess it only happened to the passenger side because the drive seat was power. $80.00 at Acura every time it happened, not a huge problem, but a pain to pay 80 to get a nickel out of the tracking.

General Comments:

This car has great handling, but not a lot of room in the back. Other than that it's a sharp looking car with its brother "honda" engine!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

24th Jan 2007, 10:50

I bought a 1998 2.3 CL 3 years ago and the only problem I have with it is the poor stlying. Other than that the car is great. I would recommend this car to anyone!

21st Mar 2010, 10:17

I bought mine three years ago, and unfortunately, I bought it as a rebuilt wreck. The biggest problem I've had with it is keeping brakes and tires on it, which is probably due to it having been wrecked before. Other than than, the engine and tranny is great, and it's the most powerful 4 cylinder I've ever owned. It has plenty of get up and go when you want it, and it's the best handling car I've ever owned. I also love the sleek body style. I would definitely own another Acura, I love this car.

1998 Acura CL 3.0 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38500 miles
Most recent distance79870 miles
Previous carAcura BMW 323

Summary:

Excellent Vehicle

Faults:

Only had to replace brakes, tires, rims and battery. Keep oil changed regularly.

General Comments:

Good car! Has all the options and has power. I only had to add fogs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews