1986 Acura Legend Reviews

1986 Acura Legend 2.5 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance300600 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Would buy again, great car

Faults:

Basic tune ups, distributor cap, rotor, replaced every 40,000 miles; if not, you could be stranded & it won't start.

Alternator, starter, & A/C compressor lasted 200,000 miles. Buy these parts from Acura as they are better quality. 100,000 miles on all of them & still going strong.

Converted A/C Freon to new Freon 5 years ago, but cools a little less.

Almost all of the work is done by a mechanic I know, & I keep car out of Acura service. I change trans fluid, radiator coolant every 20,000 miles, & use Honda coolant & trans fluid only. Use only Amsoil 10w 40 oil.

Just had car repainted in Mexico for $600, plus had an oil seal between the trans & engine replaced for $125.

Drive the car down to Mexico every winter from Wisconsin 2200 miles (900 miles south of Texas).

Has been great car, but just bought a 1999 Lexus SC mint with 48000 miles. Will continue to drive the Acura down to Mex; if the trans or engine blows, it will be in a Mex junkyard.

General Comments:

I used ceramic brake pads that last 100,000 miles.

Get 26 mpg running around 30 on the highway. If I go 60, I get 30 mpg, 75mph I still get 30mpg.

The engine still runs as smooth as new, but gets lifter noise in winter until the engine is warmed up.

They say buy a Japanese car the first year it comes out, they're better built. 1986 Acura was the first year. Great car, you just have to keep up the maintenance or it will fall apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th May, 2011

1986 Acura Legend 2.5L V6 PGM-FI from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 PGM-FI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired182000 miles
Most recent distance212000 miles
Previous carDodge Pickup

Summary:

This car is just what it's name says, Legendary

Faults:

Radiator clogged at 183000 miles.

Rear brakes worn out at 182000 miles.

Left rear brake caliper began to leak at 212000 miles.

General Comments:

This car handles very well and is very fun to drive!

Interior comfort is very comfortable and roomy.

The engine has plenty of power and the 5-speed manual transmission is awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2007

1986 Acura Legend 2.5L 6 cylinder. from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L 6 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Good car except for engine longevity

Faults:

Body started to rust after 3 years in Boston. Stopped rusting after moving to California.

Interior perfect.

Paint shiny to the end.

Brakes, front & rear, replaced many times.

Hard on tires.

Replaced front speakers at year 8.

Alternator replaced at 110,000 miles.

Leaked power steering fluid, 2 expensive repairs, problem never solved. Kept adding fluid.

Clock stuck in time-change mode, had to disconnect.

Water pump replaced twice, needed another when engine died.

One cylinder lost pressure, had to junk car at 126,000 miles.

This car was babied and driven gently. We are disappointed that the engine went at relatively low mileage.

Repair labor costs high because of crowded engine compartment.

General Comments:

This is a comfortable car, it was the first Japanese "luxury car" brand in the U.S. Handling, ride, amenities are excellent. AC blew cold for the whole 17 years.

Car was reliable, but hungry for tires and brakes.

We are severely disappointed that the engine died at 126K miles. The rest of the car could have kept going for many more years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2005

19th Nov 2006, 13:14

My '86 Legend is around 127000 miles and still running pretty good. Quite a car!

11th Apr 2007, 22:47

I'm sorry you felt this way about the Legend. These cars are in my opinion just as their name says - legendary. I got mine with 182,000 miles under her belt and she now has 212,000 on the clock. Best car I've ever owned, bar none!

1986 Acura Legend 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

A car of dreams

Faults:

The heater hose tore. I had to replace it, so I did out of my pocket.

The heater hose tore because the temperature gasket was stuck and wouldn't open, this cause the engine to overheat.

Replaced the engine with a 2.5 from a 1987 Legend.

Then the radiator started having problems, I flushed it twice and had it sealed.

This problem with the radiator continued, when I was about to change it my cousin wrecked it.

General Comments:

Well as we all know 1986 was the first year of production, so I have to say this car made it a long way up until 2002.

I love this car even though it's wrecked outside my house right now, but it's going to get fixed.

I even bought another Legend (88) when I was having problems with the engine on my this one.

I have to say that as soon as I get a chance I am going to buy another Legend hopefully a (93-95) sedan, with all the power options.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2002

27th Feb 2006, 21:13

I love my Legend. It's an 86 and still running rather well.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 4 reviews