2003 Acura MDX Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2003 Acura MDX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Montero

Summary:

Good

Faults:

The transmission after only 27,000 miles makes a terrible groaning noise when up shifting.

General Comments:

Generally nice to drive except for transmission problem. Comfortable and good power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th July, 2006

2003 Acura MDX Touring 3.4L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Smart Choice

Faults:

The driver's side seat adjustment plastic part on the bottom of the seat side broke off.

General Comments:

Car is excellent. Have had no engine problems at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2006

13th Dec 2009, 23:46

Engine light on mine came on within a month after purchasing the car (new). No one could get it to go off, even after throwing 10k at it in repairs. Worst car I've ever even sat in.

P.S. Those freaking cracks between the center piece and the seats made me want to start the thing on fire!

2003 Acura MDX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Need to redesign the transmission flaw

Faults:

Car will roll backwards on a hill switching from brake to gas...it's an automatic!!!

General Comments:

Excellent vehicle, but be very careful of the transmission weakness. There is a time lag going from drive to reverse and back again. The dealer says it is part of the compromise for better mileage. It can really be dangerous. Otherwise the car is near perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th August, 2005

2003 Acura MDX Base from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3800 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Wish I would have researched this rig instead of trusting the MFG name

Faults:

Brake clunk / thud noise. MFG says this is a "feature".

Gas tank slosh noise. Loudest I've heard in a vehicle in probably 20 years.

Wiper motor whine.

General Comments:

Research this vehicle before you buy. For the money this vehicle will make you feel like you got ripped off every time you experience and oddity or a "feature" as MFG calls them. The brake noise they claim cannot be fixed and is part of the design (space in between the pads and caliper to account for expansion due to heat). I know of no other car that clunks at every stop. You will not notice this "feature" until you've gone at least 1000 miles. Research it first before spending all the money for this rig.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th October, 2003

18th Mar 2004, 00:29

I agree. I would not have bought the MDX if I had known the brakes would make such an annoying "clunk". When you go to sell the MDX, try explaining the "clunk" to the prospective buyer.

4th Sep 2004, 22:13

I am seriously considering buying a used MDX 2002 Touring car. It has 77,000 miles, but the body is in beautiful condition. The prices is 21,998. Is it worth it? Will come with a limited warranty and had one previous owner.

2003 Acura MDX 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carHonda Honda Pilot

Summary:

Give me a better handling Pilot with voice navigation and ten grand in my pocket!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Previously owned an 2003 Honda Pilot. Loved that suv but the suspension was a bit mushy. Since I am a private investigator and must pursue subjects...thought a stiffer sprung and better handling unit would be preferable. So far so good...the MDX handles very well, the newly revised suspension (traction control)provides a good combination of ride and handling. The vehicle handles like a good sedan with slightly more lean.

Fit and finish are exceptional. Some reviews rate Toyota and BWM a bit higher in material quality but I don't see it. Accelertion and torque are acceptable although a 3.8 V6 with 300 horsies would be better. Perhaps in the next makeover...2005 or 2006.

Interior comfort is very good but would like a bit more leg room in front. I like the storage space (nooks and bins) in the Pilot better. MDX steals much of the console storage space by placing the shifter on the floor instead of the steering stalk. I suppose the notched floor shifter is a 'luxury thing'.

Is it worth the extra 10 grand over a fully equipped Honda Pilot? Well, only if you value (like I do) the upgraded voice navigation system, sun roof, and superior handling. However, if you are not in need of those attributes, stick with a loaded Honda Pilot. Like my dad used to say, a little bit better usually costs a whole lot more. That was his rationalization for buying a Caddy over a Buick! Of course, that was back when Caddys were $7,500 and Buicks were $6,000. Hmmmm....$10,000 more for the MDX?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

10th Apr 2005, 13:47

The Pilot I find looked a whole lot cheaper on the inside then say the mdx... And if you want to save 10000 dollars BUY A USED ONE!!!

10th Aug 2005, 09:43

I was looking for a new Pilot with Leather. My budjet was around $30K. Then I started looking for a good used MDX in that price range. Guess what... I got one (2003 MDX Touring) for $31K. This was a 2 years leased vehicle so I got a good deal. Because on leased vehicle you can always negotiate. Surprisingly my MDX has more than what I wanted (Navigation with voice, DVD, Bose audio, Memory seat and the Towing package). I am very happy about my decision of bying used MDX compared to a new Pilot. So my advice is to look for a 2 years leased MDX instead of new Pilot.

28th Mar 2006, 07:44

I just purchased a two year lease return "base model" MDX, although it had the upgraded stereo and luggage rack added aftermarket, I too was trying to decide between a honda pilot and an mdx, the price difference between the 2003 was $2500. Honda advised me it would cost an additional $1000 to add an aftermarket sun roof to the pilot, so it ended up only costing and additional 1500 for the MDX, what a deal! It is a gorgeous car and far more prestigious than the pilot. I love it.

5th Apr 2006, 10:07

In SUV level comparison, I agree that having MDX is prestigious than a Pilot. Buying two years leased luxury vehicle is always a smart buy. I bought my 2003 MDX same way, as two years leased and I got it for $31,000 (Touring / Nav / Ent / Towing package). It was used by a company MD and it was hardly used fully. I still get the fresh smell inside my MDX. I love the Black Interior, Bose Audio, Wood trim center console, Wood trim shift knob (sporty) and the memory seat as my Wife and I move the seat back and forth all the time. No wonder Acura was able to stay with the same design for 6 years in a row without losing the market competition.

YES, MDX stands out prestigious compared to Pilot, no doubt about it.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews