1999 Acura TL 3.2 liter V6 from North America


Great, great, great!


Tended to overheat in summer when the AC was on. Otherwise perfect. Solved overheating problem - bad radiator cap!

General Comments:

This is one of the best cars ever. Ran perfectly from day 1 and never left me stranded.

The front tires tend to wear out fast if you drive a little too passionately.

The transmission shifted flawlessly.

The interior held up pretty well.

I traded in this car for a 2001 Acura CL non Type S and I still miss the TL.

Never changed the timing belt and I believe these belts can go for 200,000 miles. I changed the belt in my 2001 CL at 150,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2006

1999 Acura TL 3.2 from North America




My exterior black window trim had to be replaced twice due to wrinkling material.

My drivers seat had to be replaced due to a tear in the leather.

My transmission has to be replaced for a third time, which I have to pay for.

My battery cables had to be replaced twice.

General Comments:

I think this is one of the nicer cars on the road.

We enjoy the navi for road trips, etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2006

16th Jul 2009, 11:19

Your transmission had to be replaced thrice and the last time at your expense and you seem OK with that!

1999 Acura TL 3.2 from North America


Exceptional Value


When putting the car in reverse it felt as though the brakes were dragging. I took it to the dealer who called me to say Acura would replace the transmission even though I have 83K miles on the vehicle. And I could keep the loaner (new TL) for two weeks. I was pleased with this service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2006

1999 Acura TL 3.2 3.2 Liter 225HP V6 from North America


Steer Clear of Acura's made after 1998. Untrustworthy, Get something European or a Toyota Product


1st - 5 Transmission Fallouts. And yes, I do know why. When Honda/Acura decided to copy Chryslers "Autostick" transmission, they got it all wrong. "Autostick" is a feature which allows you to upshift or downshift the transmission manually, invented in 1995 by Chrysler then was later adopted by VW/Audi in 1998 and so on, now crappy Hyundai's have them. Not to get off topic, The more you use this feature, the more you cut short the transmission's life. All Acura says is "we'll replace it" but no explanation. We had someone investigate it ourselves.

2nd - The seats are only partially leather, id rather pay up for full leather. The Vinyl used is very cheap and is ripping.

3rd - Horrible suspension, unacceptable ride, can't have a drink without it spilling all the time. The car rolls side to side on the highway and on ramps. I can feel EVERY SINGLE bump on the road. (Honda/Acura are known to have bad quality rides and suspensions, no wonder Toyota/Lexus is more sucessfull).

4th - Bad Stereo system. Decent sound quality, Makes you wonder if it is really a Bose Audio system... if you make/burn your own CDs, don't count on it working. takes ATLEAST 10 Minutes for a copied CD to work. Also the cassette player refuses to allow a Cassette/CD/ Minidisc Adapted to the stereo. Which really sucks. Get this car, sell your CD Burner, and go to the old days where you have to pay $20 a CD. Get an Minidisc or MP3 player, don't count on using the Cassette adapter.

5th - The Airconditioning makes strange noises at times. (Another think Honda is known for, Bad A/C units). Sometimes it smells like a refridgerator in the car cause of how bad the A/C unit is.

6th - Braking is A lot weaker than the competition. I suggest getting after market cross-drilled brake discs and Z-Rated Tires.

General Comments:

The reason why we purchased this vehicle is because in 1998 it was $31,000 and fully loaded. I mean Leather, Sunroof, Bose Sound system, Navigation system (which went dead for 4 Months and Acura refused to fix it then offered to fix it for $4000, luckily it decided to work, and is VERY slow). It sounded like a great deal... year later, I regret it, shouldve gone with the BMW 328i.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2003

22nd Dec 2003, 14:20

Crappy Hyundai? Have you ever driven one?

You sound to hard to please.

29th Mar 2004, 23:27

I agree with the comment above.

If you wanted a luxury or sporty car you should have gone with a Lexus GS 400 not a near-luxury Acura TL.

Toyota makes better quality cars.

27th Aug 2005, 11:59

I have a 99 TL with 97000 miles have had very few things go wrong. LOVE my TL will buy a 2006 this year. GREAT solid car!

1999 Acura TL 3/1 from North America


This is the best car I have owned in every way


Nothing has gone wrong with this car!

General Comments:

Every time I drive another car, I come back to my Acura TL appreciating it's performance more. Other cars in this price range do not handle like it does. No doubt, my next car will be an Acura.

The service center for my dealership is incredible. When it is in for routine maintenance (oil change) they make me feel welcome, i.e. a nice waiting room with coffee, soft drinks and snacks for free. If the maintenance takes more than an hour or so, they offer me a loaner to drive. I couldn't ask for more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2003